Splurge Hotels · Southampton

The Nicest Night Before the Ship

Southampton’s splurges split in two — town and forest. In town, Harbour calls itself the city’s only five-star and still parks the car; out in the New Forest, Chewton Glen and Lime Wood each hold Two MICHELIN Keys, 10 to 22 road miles from the docks by our routing. Each card says what the hotel adds — and what it leaves you to arrange on sail morning.

2with Two MICHELIN Keys
2AA claims we couldn’t check
2of the eight in our top 20
Pick Yours

What kind of splurge is it?

Eight hotels made this list. Two also make our top 20: Harbour in Ocean Village and THE PIG-in the wall in the Old Town. Five are in or by the New Forest — Lainston House is outside Winchester. Tap the night you have in mind and its hotel comes forward on the list.

The AA’s hotel guide wouldn’t load for us, so any AA rating here is the hotel’s own claim, and we label it that way. MICHELIN’s Keys come from MICHELIN’s pages. Unrated means unchecked, not lesser.

The Eight

Eight splurges, and what each one costs you

Self-described five-starSource: what the hotel says
~0.8 mi to Ocean, our routing

Harbour Hotel & Spa Southampton

Calls itself Southampton's only five-star, on the marina in Ocean Village, with HarSPA and a rooftop bar — and cruise parking it sells non-residents at £20 (about US$25) a night. In our top 20.

You’re paying for

  • The Jetty
  • HarSPA: pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna
  • HarBAR on 6th

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No port shuttle
Two MICHELIN KeysSource: MICHELIN Guide
~10.6 mi to Mayflower, our routing

Lime Wood

The forest spa splurge: Two MICHELIN Keys, Angela Hartnett's Italian restaurant and the Herb House Spa. The closest of the Keys to the ship, about 10.6 road miles by our routing.

You’re paying for

  • Hartnett Holder & Co
  • Herb House Spa
  • Raw & Cured

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AA 3 Rosettes, The AvenueSource: the hotel’s own claim
~17.1 mi to Ocean, our routing

Lainston House, an Exclusive Collection hotel

The dinner splurge: The Avenue holds 3 AA Rosettes by the hotel's count, and direct bookings include a full English. About 17.1 road miles to Ocean, and the closest of our picks to Heathrow.

You’re paying for

  • The Avenue; The Wellhouse
  • Cedar Bar

Watch for

  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AA four Red StarsSource: the hotel’s own claim
~13.8 mi to Mayflower, our routing

Rhinefield House Hotel

The mansion splurge: it calls itself the New Forest's only AA four Red Star hotel, a claim we couldn't check with the AA. A pool, the Armada Restaurant and 40 acres, about 13.8 road miles from Mayflower.

You’re paying for

  • Armada Restaurant
  • Pool and treatment rooms
  • Lounge Bar

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
No rating we could confirmSource: what the hotel says
~15.4 mi to Mayflower, our routing

THE PIG, Brockenhurst

The garden-to-plate splurge: THE PIG's first hotel, a 1602 lodge with a kitchen garden and a menu from within 25 miles. Rooms from £285 (about US$375); about 15.4 road miles from Mayflower.

You’re paying for

  • Conservatory, 25-mile menu
  • Potting Shed treatments
  • Bar

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
On the Map

Where the eight sit

Tap a pin for the hotel’s card, then open the review. The numbers follow the list above.

Southampton Water Eastleigh Port of Southampton4 cruise terminals 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 10 km · 6.2 mi N
Splurge pick, numbered as belowCruise terminalReal geography: NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline, generalised, so docks and quays aren’t drawn. Pins are postcode centroids from postcodes.io (Lime Wood from its own sat-nav coordinates), so a pin can sit a street or two off, and hotels sharing a postcode share a pin.
Side by Side

The eight, side by side

Point at a hotel’s name and its column lights up — green means it’s there, gold that it costs extra or comes with a catch, grey that nobody says or we couldn’t check.

FeatureHarbour HotelPIG-in the wallChewton GlenLime WoodLainston HouseRhinefield HouseTHE PIG BrockenhurstMontagu Arms
AA rating——Not readableNot readable3 Rosettes (The Avenue), its claimFour Red Stars, its claimNot readableNot readable
MICHELIN GuideNot seenListed, no KeyTwo KeysTwo KeysNot seenListed, no KeyNot seenNot seen
RestaurantThe JettyDeli-barThe Dining RoomHartnett Holder & CoThe Avenue; The WellhouseArmada RestaurantConservatory, 25-mile menuThe Terrace Restaurant
Bar or drinksHarBAR on 6thBarThe Kitchen by James MartinRaw & CuredCedar BarLounge BarBarMonty's Inn
SpaHarSPA: pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna—Spa, 17 m indoor poolHerb House Spa—Pool and treatment roomsPotting Shed treatments—
BreakfastNot statedGrazing tableNot statedNot statedIncluded booking directNot statedNot statedContinental, included
Kitchen————————
Resort feeNone statedNone statedNone statedNone statedNone statedNone statedNone statedNone stated
Parking£20 a night cruise rateNone for cruisesNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedFree, six EV chargers
Shuttle to the port—Two taxi firms named——————
Distance to the port~0.8 mi to Ocean, our routing~0.9 mi to Ocean, our routing~22.3 mi to Mayflower, our routing~10.6 mi to Mayflower, our routing~17.1 mi to Ocean, our routing~13.8 mi to Mayflower, our routing~15.4 mi to Mayflower, our routing~13.4 mi to Mayflower, our routing
The Trade

Splurge the night, and plan the morning

None of the eight runs a shuttle to the ship. The distances are ours — road routes with no traffic, not straight lines: Harbour about 0.8 miles to Ocean and THE PIG-in the wall 0.9, then Lime Wood 10.6 to Mayflower, the Montagu Arms 13.4, Rhinefield 13.8, THE PIG at Brockenhurst 15.4, Lainston 17.1 to Ocean and Chewton Glen 22.3.

Two include breakfast in plain words — the Montagu Arms’ continental, and Lainston’s full English when you book direct. THE PIG-in the wall presents its grazing table as part of the stay. The rest don’t say, so ask.

Harbour is the only one that prices parking for a cruise — £20 a car a night, quoted for non-residents. The Montagu Arms parks free while you stay — for the night, not the cruise. Otherwise the port’s parking goes by cruise line, ABParking or CPS valet, pre-booked.

The terminals, the lines and where the ships go are in our Southampton cruise guide — the hotel is the easy part once you know your terminal, not the other way round.

Airport taxis
Need a ride from the airport?

Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.

Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.

Also Considered

Four that didn’t make the eight

HotelWhy it isn’t in the eight
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpaA spa hotel by Brockenhurst station, rooms from £149 (about US$195) and free parking, but no hotel rating we could confirm — its AA mention is a spa award.
Hotel du Vin WinchesterVisit Hampshire lists it as 4 AA Stars, and it charges £15 (about US$20) a night for parking it calls not secure. A good Winchester night, about 13 road miles from Ocean by our routing.
Solent Hotel & Spa, WhiteleyVisit Hampshire lists 4 AA Gold Stars and tags it with parking packages. We didn't read the hotel's own pages, so it isn't reviewed here.
Stanwell House, LymingtonOn MICHELIN's Hampshire list without a Key; we didn't research it further.
Staying in the New Forest? By our routing from Southampton Central, Stonehenge is about 49 minutes and Beaulieu about 27. Ponies roam the forest roads, and you’re legally required to report hitting one. Day trips by car · Southampton rental cars
Names You’ll Hear

Old names, and what they’re called now

No longer trades
Hotel TerraVina
The Caterer reported it relaunched in 2018 as a B&B called Spot in the Woods and was later sold to Hillbrooke Hotels. The old TerraVina site still loads, but it's stale.
Not a public hotel
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Not on Accor's Southampton list in October 2026; Wikipedia reports it stopped taking public guests in 2021, with student-housing plans announced in 2024.
Sources: all.accor.com
Now voco Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
IHG says voco Southampton was "Previously known as Holiday Inn Southampton". It's No. 2 in our top 20.
Sources: ihg.com
Now Leonardo Hotel
Jurys Inn Southampton
Leonardo lists the Charlotte Place hotel as "Formerly: Jurys Inn". It's in our top 20.
Now Second Nature
room2 Southampton
Best Loved Hotels reported in July 2026 that room2 became Second Nature. It's in our top 20.
Sources: bestloved.com
FAQ

Splurge hotels FAQ

What is the nicest hotel near the Southampton cruise terminals?

In the city, Harbour Hotel calls itself Southampton's only five-star. It's in Ocean Village, about 0.8 road miles from Ocean by our routing, and it's No. 4 in our top 20. For a MICHELIN rating you go to the New Forest. Lime Wood at Lyndhurst and Chewton Glen at New Milton each hold Two MICHELIN Keys.

Which hotels near Southampton have MICHELIN Keys?

Of the ones we checked, Chewton Glen and Lime Wood each hold Two MICHELIN Keys. MICHELIN lists Rhinefield House and THE PIG-in the wall without a Key.

Do luxury hotels near Southampton run a cruise shuttle?

None of our eight does. THE PIG-in the wall names two taxi firms, West Quay Cars and Radio Taxis. From the New Forest it's a car you book, about 25 to 40 minutes on empty roads by our routing.

Can I park at a Southampton luxury hotel while I cruise?

Harbour is the one that says so: £20 a car a night for non-residents on its cruise page, or a Cruise & Stay with up to 21 nights. The Montagu Arms parks free while you stay but doesn't mention the cruise week. Otherwise it's the port's parking, which goes by cruise line and must be pre-booked.

Are the AA ratings on these pages confirmed?

No. The AA's hotel guide wouldn't load for us, so every AA rating here is the hotel's own claim: Lainston House's 3 Rosettes for The Avenue and Rhinefield House's four Red Stars. The MICHELIN Keys come from MICHELIN's own pages.

Dollar figures use the European Central Bank reference rate of Oct 2, 2026 (about $1.32 to the pound); your card’s rate will differ.

Want us to book the splurge?

Name the splurge and your sail date. We'll price that night and work out the car to your terminal. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Compare 0 of 3