Hilton Southampton - Utilita Bowl
Park, Stay and Cruise from £165, with up to 21 nights' parking, breakfast and transfers to the terminal listed, at the cricket ground off M27 Junction 7.
Pre-Cruise Hotels · Southampton
We ranked twenty hotels for a Southampton cruise — in the city, by the airport and out along the M27. They’re scored on what gets you to the ship, not on reviews. Pick yours, and let the trip start the night before.
Three taps and we’ll show your best three hotels.
Change any answer and the picks change with it. They’re built from the same published facts as the ranking below. Nobody pays to be here.
Matching weighs your answers against each hotel’s published shuttle, parking, breakfast, pool, beach, kitchen and pet policies.
Five answers, and the page builds the whole thing: the hotel, the ride in, the ride to the ship, what happens to the car, what time to leave, and how you get home. Every figure is one the hotel, the port or the company publishes. Where nobody publishes a number, you’ll see that instead of a guess.
Who’s coming and the mood come from Your Match; the plan uses the same answers.
Partner links (transfers, rental cars) may earn Seabound Journeys a commission at no extra cost to you. They don't change the plan, which is built only from what each company publishes.
None of the twenty runs its own shuttle to the ship. Two put a ride inside a cruise package, and one prints a distance to a terminal short enough to walk. The Hilton at the cricket ground sells parking, breakfast and transfers from £165 (about US$220). voco is 0.5 miles from Horizon, by IHG’s count. The Holiday Inn at Eastleigh adds 15 days’ parking and a taxi to its offer.
Narrow the twenty by what your night needs. Save the ones you like. Tick up to three to compare side by side — the order is ours, the shortlist is yours.
Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
All 20 hotels
Park, Stay and Cruise from £165, with up to 21 nights' parking, breakfast and transfers to the terminal listed, at the cricket ground off M27 Junction 7.
IHG puts Horizon 0.5 miles away, and its Park, Stay and Cruise packages add breakfast and 8 or 15 nights' parking.
A Cruise and Park Offer with 15 days' parking, breakfast and a taxi to the terminal, plus an indoor pool, by M3 Junction 13.
It calls itself Southampton's only five-star: Ocean Village, a rooftop bar, a spa pool and cruise parking at £20 (about US$25) a night.
Breakfast in the rate, Stay & Park packages for cruisers, and taxi times of 5 minutes to Horizon and City by Accor's count.
Twelve rooms in the Old Town walls with a grazing-table breakfast, a cruise page that names two taxi firms, and October rooms from £199 (about US$265).
Studios and family rooms with kitchens, air conditioning and Winnie's café-bar, about 0.6 road miles from Ocean by our routing.
A 15-metre indoor pool, a Marco Pierre White steakhouse, and cruise packages with up to 21 days' parking.
Accor's 4-star by Southampton Central, about a 1 km walk from the terminals, with rooms for four and free breakfast for under-16s.
A bar-first Marriott on Harbour Parade, a "short walk or taxi ride" from the terminal by Marriott's count, with £13.50 (about US$18) parking.
£12 (about US$16) parking on site, a Park & Cruise package to ask about, and harbour-view rooms five minutes' walk from Central.
The old Jurys Inn, with air conditioning, family rooms for four and cruise-and-park packages of up to 21 days.
£8.50 (about US$11) parking, a Family Experience for under-12s and a long-stay figure to ask about, out in Chilworth by the M3.
A country house in 14 acres at Hedge End with a pool, two bars and cruise parking to ask about.
Breakfast included, a 2 PM check-in and family rooms for four, off M27 Junction 7.
£8 (about US$11) on-site parking, a Bar Café and £1 (about US$1) kids' breakfasts in the Old Town, by Eastgate Street's council car park.
Air conditioning in every room, Thyme Bar & Grill and £11 (about US$15) parking at Grosvenor Square, a short walk from Central.
The Social's 2-for-1 cocktails, a £14 (about US$18) guest parking rate and family rooms, at Six Dials on the city's east side.
Air conditioning, Premier Plus rooms and the multi-storey next door at £15 (about US$20), on Harbour Parade by the coach station.
£7 (about US$9) parking on site and family rooms on Lodge Road, 1.8 miles from the terminals by Travelodge's count.
No hotel on the list has all of those. Try dropping one filter.
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Pick how you’re arriving. The board counts what each hotel publishes, the table lights up that column, and the companies below run from the airport to the port.
Most Americans land at Heathrow, about 65 road miles away by our routing. Southampton Airport is about 5, but it has no transatlantic flights. None of the twenty runs an airport shuttle, so it’s the coach, the train, a booked car or a taxi from the Southampton Airport desk.
London Heathrow
National Express runs Heathrow to Southampton Coach Station up to 14 times a day, fastest 1 hr 25 mins from Terminal 5. The £17.40 (about US$25) fare includes a £1.50 (about US$2) booking fee and is for travel 13 July to 9 November 2026, limited availability. The coach station is on Harbour Parade. Visit Southampton puts City and Horizon 10 to 15 minutes' walk away — Ocean and QEII need a taxi.
National Express says Gatwick coaches "arrive at Southampton Coach Station from about 10:40am". The route page shows no journey time or fare, so price it in a live search.
South Western Railway puts Waterloo to Southampton Central at around 1 hour 30 minutes, with advance singles from £10.10 (about US$13). Trains run from 05:30 to 23:35. From Heathrow, the RailAir RA2 coach runs to Woking every 30 minutes for the train south; SWR says allow at least 10 minutes to connect. From Gatwick we don't promise a direct train. The journey planners showed us nothing, and Wikipedia reports Southern dropped its Victoria–Southampton service via Horsham in 2024, keeping one northbound morning train. Southampton Central has no left luggage.
British Airport Transfers publishes £180 (about US$240) for a saloon and £229 (about US$300) for an executive saloon — per vehicle, fixed, with no extra for delays. City Airport Taxis, an online broker, quoted from £121.99 (about US$160) for a sedan on the day we looked. Its prices move with the date. No cruise line publishes a per-person transfer price on a page we could read; Cunard's flight page says "Transfers between London airports are not included."
Southampton Airport Parkway is 99 steps from the terminal. Trains reach the city centre in 7 minutes, up to every 15 minutes, per the airport. There's a taxi desk inside, and the airport recommends pre-booking. The Uni-Link U1 bus stops at Dock Gate 4, where all passengers must get off for QEII and Ocean. Uber operates in Southampton. We couldn't verify the council's taxi tariff: its pages conflict and the fare table wouldn't open.
Driving? The column to watch is “While you sail”. Compare hotel parking with the port’s own garages on Southampton cruise parking, compared, or price it out in the parking math below.
| Hotel | To the ship | While you sail | From Heathrow | From Gatwick | From SOU |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ride with package | Cruise parking priced | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Hilton Utilita Bowl doesn’t mention a ride from Heathrow — about 67.2 road miles away by our routing. Gatwick (LGW)Hilton Utilita Bowl says nothing about Gatwick, which sits further off than Heathrow. Southampton (SOU)The hotel puts Southampton Airport 3.5 miles away and sells a Park, Stay and Fly package we didn't read. To the shipIts Park, Stay and Cruise package lists "Transfers to and from the cruise terminal". The same page also says reception will "aid you in booking taxi transport to the docks" — ask whether your transfer is booked for you or one you arrange. | |||||
| Walk to the ship | Cruise parking: ask price | No shuttlethe hotel says so | Not stated | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Heathrow (LHR)IHG lists an airport shuttle as "not available" for Heathrow, Southampton and Bournemouth. Gatwick (LGW)No Gatwick ride from voco Southampton — the coach or a booked car covers it. Southampton (SOU)IHG lists an airport shuttle as "not available". To the shipIHG puts Horizon 0.5 miles away, so for MSC it's a walk. IHG doesn't mention a ride to the ship; Visit Southampton says the package adds a one-way standard taxi, which IHG's own page doesn't repeat. | |||||
| Ride with package | Cruise parking: ask price | Not stated | Not stated | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Heathrow (LHR)No Heathrow ride is listed by Holiday Inn Eastleigh. By our routing it’s roughly 71 minutes away with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)Gatwick isn’t mentioned on Holiday Inn Eastleigh’s pages. Southampton (SOU)"There is no Local Area Shuttle available at this hotel," per IHG, which puts Southampton Airport about 2.5 miles away. To the shipThe Cruise and Park Offer includes a "hassle-free taxi transfer to the cruise terminal". Outside it, IHG says there's no complimentary local shuttle. | |||||
| Shuttle unconfirmed | Cruise parking priced | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Harbour Hotel doesn’t mention a ride from Heathrow — about 66.0 road miles away by our routing. Gatwick (LGW)Harbour Hotel says nothing about Gatwick, which sits further off than Heathrow. Southampton (SOU)Harbour Hotel lists no ride from Southampton Airport — about 5.1 road miles away by our routing. To the shipHarbour's pages don't mention a ride to the ship, and the package page we read didn't show transfer details. It's a short taxi. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Nothing on ibis budget’s pages about Heathrow; our routing makes it about 64.1 road miles, 82 minutes on empty roads. Gatwick (LGW)No Gatwick ride from ibis budget — the coach or a booked car covers it. Southampton (SOU)Southampton Airport is about 4.7 road miles from ibis budget by our routing; the hotel names no shuttle. To the shipAccor mentions no shuttle; its page gives taxi times instead — 5 minutes to Horizon and City, 8 to Ocean. | |||||
| Ride via partner | No parking while you cruise | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)No Heathrow ride is listed by PIG-in the wall. By our routing it’s roughly 84 minutes away with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)Gatwick isn’t mentioned on PIG-in the wall’s pages. Southampton (SOU)No airport shuttle is mentioned by PIG-in the wall; Southampton Airport is roughly 14 minutes off by our routing. To the shipTHE PIG runs no transfer of its own. Its cruise page names two taxi firms instead, West Quay Cars and Radio Taxis. | |||||
| Walk to the ship | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Second Nature doesn’t mention a ride from Heathrow — about 64.4 road miles away by our routing. Gatwick (LGW)Second Nature says nothing about Gatwick, which sits further off than Heathrow. Southampton (SOU)Second Nature lists no ride from Southampton Airport — about 4.9 road miles away by our routing. To the shipNo shuttle is mentioned. Best Loved, which markets the hotel, says the terminals are a short walk, and Ocean is about 0.6 road miles off by our routing. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Nothing on Leonardo Royal’s pages about Heathrow; our routing makes it about 64.7 road miles, 84 minutes on empty roads. Gatwick (LGW)No Gatwick ride from Leonardo Royal — the coach or a booked car covers it. Southampton (SOU)Southampton Airport is about 5.3 road miles from Leonardo Royal by our routing; the hotel names no shuttle. To the shipLeonardo mentions no shuttle; it's a taxi to the terminal. | |||||
| Walk to the ship | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)No Heathrow ride is listed by Novotel. By our routing it’s roughly 82 minutes away with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)Gatwick isn’t mentioned on Novotel’s pages. Southampton (SOU)No airport shuttle is mentioned by Novotel; Southampton Airport is roughly 13 minutes off by our routing. To the shipAccor gives about a 1 km walk to the terminals, roughly 0.6 miles, and mentions no shuttle. | |||||
| Walk to the ship | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | Not stated | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Heathrow (LHR)No airport shuttle, per Marriott, which puts Heathrow 105 km (about 65 miles) away. Gatwick (LGW)Moxy says nothing about Gatwick, which sits further off than Heathrow. Southampton (SOU)No airport shuttle, per Marriott, which puts Southampton Airport 4.7 km (about 2.9 miles) away. To the shipMarriott calls the cruise terminal a "short walk or taxi ride" and lists no shuttle. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Nothing on ibis Centre’s pages about Heathrow; our routing makes it about 64.1 road miles, 82 minutes on empty roads. Gatwick (LGW)No Gatwick ride from ibis Centre — the coach or a booked car covers it. Southampton (SOU)Accor lists no shuttle; it says Southampton Airport is 7 minutes by train. To the shipAccor mentions no shuttle; it's a taxi to the terminal. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)No Heathrow ride is listed by Leonardo Hotel. By our routing it’s roughly 79 minutes away with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)Gatwick isn’t mentioned on Leonardo Hotel’s pages. Southampton (SOU)No shuttle stated; Leonardo says the hotel is "under four miles from Southampton Airport". To the shipLeonardo mentions no shuttle; it's a taxi. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | No shuttlethe hotel says so | No shuttlethe hotel says so | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Heathrow (LHR)Hilton lists an airport shuttle as "Not available". Gatwick (LGW)Hilton lists an airport shuttle as "Not available". Southampton (SOU)Hilton lists an airport shuttle as "Not available". To the shipHilton lists no shuttle to the ship or the airport. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Nothing on Botleigh Grange’s pages about Heathrow; our routing makes it about 66.9 road miles, 80 minutes on empty roads. Gatwick (LGW)No Gatwick ride from Botleigh Grange — the coach or a booked car covers it. Southampton (SOU)Southampton Airport is about 6.4 road miles from Botleigh Grange by our routing; the hotel names no shuttle. To the shipThe hotel mentions no ride to the ship. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)No Heathrow ride is listed by Holiday Inn Express M27. By our routing it’s roughly 81 minutes away with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)Gatwick isn’t mentioned on Holiday Inn Express M27’s pages. Southampton (SOU)IHG mentions no shuttle; it puts Southampton Airport 3.5 miles and about 5 minutes away. To the shipNo shuttle, per IHG — there's no complimentary local one. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Travelodge Central doesn’t mention a ride from Heathrow — about 64.2 road miles away by our routing. Gatwick (LGW)Travelodge Central says nothing about Gatwick, which sits further off than Heathrow. Southampton (SOU)Travelodge Central lists no ride from Southampton Airport — about 4.7 road miles away by our routing. To the shipTravelodge mentions no shuttle. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Nothing on Premier Inn Cumberland Place’s pages about Heathrow; our routing makes it about 63.4 road miles, 80 minutes on empty roads. Gatwick (LGW)No Gatwick ride from Premier Inn Cumberland Place — the coach or a booked car covers it. Southampton (SOU)Southampton Airport is about 4.0 road miles from Premier Inn Cumberland Place by our routing; the hotel names no shuttle. To the shipNo shuttle at Cumberland Place; it's a short taxi from Watts Park. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)No Heathrow ride is listed by Premier Inn City Centre. By our routing it’s roughly 80 minutes away with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)Gatwick isn’t mentioned on Premier Inn City Centre’s pages. Southampton (SOU)No airport shuttle is mentioned by Premier Inn City Centre; Southampton Airport is roughly 11 minutes off by our routing. To the shipPremier Inn lists no shuttle from Six Dials. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Premier Inn West Quay doesn’t mention a ride from Heathrow — about 64.0 road miles away by our routing. Gatwick (LGW)Premier Inn West Quay says nothing about Gatwick, which sits further off than Heathrow. Southampton (SOU)Premier Inn West Quay lists no ride from Southampton Airport — about 4.7 road miles away by our routing. To the shipNo hotel shuttle from Harbour Parade, the street it shares with the coach station. | |||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Nothing on Travelodge Lodge Road’s pages about Heathrow; our routing makes it about 62.7 road miles, 78 minutes on empty roads. Gatwick (LGW)No Gatwick ride from Travelodge Lodge Road — the coach or a booked car covers it. Southampton (SOU)Southampton Airport is about 3.4 road miles from Travelodge Lodge Road by our routing; the hotel names no shuttle. To the shipTravelodge mentions no shuttle. | |||||
These twenty are ranked for an easy sail morning, not for the room. The splurges are mostly out in the New Forest: Chewton Glen and Lime Wood each hold Two MICHELIN Keys, about 22 and 11 road miles from the terminals by our routing. In town, Harbour calls itself Southampton’s only five-star and still parks the car.
Southampton has two dock estates. So every hotel here is measured twice — to Mayflower in the Western Docks and Ocean in the Eastern. The bands use the nearer of the two — road miles by our routing from each hotel's postcode, not straight lines. City and Horizon sit near Mayflower's end; QEII is past Ocean — about a mile down Test Road from Dock Gate 4.
Fifteen of the twenty are in the city, from Ocean Village to West Quay and up to Lodge Road. One is in Chilworth and four are out by Eastleigh and M27 Junction 7. Three postcodes are shared, so their road figures match: voco and Leonardo Royal, the three Accor hotels on West Quay Road, and Moxy with Premier Inn West Quay.
Numbers are the ranking. Each pin sits where the hotel is — the bands group them by distance, the way we score it.
Five things make a Southampton night before easy or hard — and none of them is the room. We score each one only from what the hotel publishes on its own site or its brand’s.
If a hotel doesn’t say it, it scores zero there — silence isn’t a yes. Tourist-board listings, resellers and review sites don’t count, Visit Southampton included — though we quote them where they help, by name. Second Nature has no site we could find. So we read Best Loved Hotels, the collection that markets it — and say so.
By band, from the nearer terminal: city centre and waterfront 30; Chilworth and the airport edge 25; Eastleigh, Hedge End and the M27 20; Ower and Twyford Road 15; Winchester 10.
Hotel-run shuttle, free or with a published price, 25. A ride only inside a package or offer 20. The hotel’s own ride with no published fare 15. The hotel says you can walk, or puts a terminal half a mile or less away, 15. Taxi firms or a shuttle company the hotel names, 10.
A published rate to leave the car, or a package with a published price, 20. Offered, price unpublished, 14.
A free breakfast for every guest scores 10. Breakfast that comes only inside a cruise package doesn’t — it’s part of the package, not the room.
Pool 3, food or a bar on site 3, a kitchen in the room 3. None of the twenty is on a beach.
Two changes from our US method — both forced by Southampton. Distance is measured to the nearer of two terminals, Mayflower or Ocean, since ships use both dock estates — not to one port pin. And the comparison car park is the council’s, because the port’s own parking, ABParking and CPS valet, publishes no tariff we could read.
Ties are broken in order: the lower published parking rate, any stated way to the ship, free breakfast, parking on site, the closer stated distance, the lower guest parking price, then the alphabet. Novotel and Moxy tie on 48. Both say you can walk, and Accor’s 1 km puts Novotel first. On 47, ibis Centre parks on site and the Leonardo Hotel doesn’t. Five finish on 33. The Holiday Inn Express at M27 Junction 7 has free breakfast, and Travelodge Central parks on site. Then come three Premier Inns, ordered by guest parking: Cumberland Place at £11, City Centre at £14 and West Quay at £15.
Room rates change daily, so they aren’t scored — and neither are review scores, which judge a stay, not a sail morning. Price your own night before you book the winner — the order is ours, the rate is yours.
Two of the twenty print a price for leaving the car. Eight more offer it without one — a call, not a quote. The rest say nothing, so plan on the port or the council.
With a price. The Hilton’s Park, Stay and Cruise is from £165, read October 3, 2026. That buys up to 21 nights’ parking, breakfast and transfers — extra nights are £15. Harbour’s cruise page charges non-residents £20 a car a night and sells a Cruise & Stay with up to 21 nights.
Without one. voco’s Park, Stay and Cruise gives 8 or 15 nights. The Holiday Inn at Eastleigh’s Cruise and Park Offer gives 15 days with a taxi. Leonardo Royal and the Leonardo Hotel sell 4 to 21 days. ibis budget has Stay & Park and ibis Centre Park & Cruise. Botleigh Grange takes enquiries, and the DoubleTree prints a non-resident daily figure without a currency. Ask each one for a price, not only availability.
At the port. In-port parking goes by cruise line, not terminal. ABParking self-park serves Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Fred. Olsen, Norwegian, MSC and Disney; CPS valet serves Cunard, P&O and Princess, per Visit Southampton. Both must be pre-booked — and neither publishes a tariff we could read. The council’s Eastgate Street car park is £9 (about US$12) for the first 24 hours, then £5 (about US$7) a day. You pay on exit — then it’s a taxi to your terminal.
| #4 Harbour Hotel | — |
| Eastgate Street council car park, £9 the first 24 hours then £5 a day | — |
Harbour’s £20 is the rate its cruise page prints for non-residents; guests book Cruise & Stay, priced on request. The Hilton’s Park, Stay and Cruise is a package from £165 with the room, so it isn’t a daily rate to multiply. The council row is our arithmetic: Eastgate Street’s £9 first day, then £5 for each cruise night. Add the taxi to your terminal.
For every option in town, see Southampton cruise parking, compared.
We checked 32 hotels in the city, at Eastleigh, along the M27, out to Ower and in Winchester. These came closest. Each row gives the score and why it fell short. The New Forest and Winchester splurges are on the splurge list — Chewton Glen, Lime Wood, Lainston House and more. Harbour and THE PIG-in the wall are there too.
| Hotel | Score | Why it missed |
|---|---|---|
| Premier Inn Southampton Airport | 28 | Next door to the airport and Parkway station, but it says plainly: "we do not offer Long stay parking or Sleep Park and Fly packages." |
| Premier Inn Southampton North | 23 | Between Nursling and Rownhams, with a £6 (about US$8)-a-night guest parking rate, but no cruise offer and no free breakfast. |
| Premier Inn Southampton (Eastleigh) | 23 | Limited free parking by M3 Junction 13, and a page that suggests starting a cruise there — without a deal to go with it. |
| Travelodge Eastleigh Central | 20 | Opposite Eastleigh station, but with no car park of its own; Travelodge points you to Mitchell Road car park. |
| Premier Inn Southampton West | 15 | Free parking by Paultons Park, about 9 road miles from the terminals by our routing; the pub is next door, not in the hotel. |
| Travelodge Southampton Eastleigh | 15 | Free parking on Twyford Road, but about 9 road miles from Ocean by our routing, and Breakfast to Go at £6.95 (about US$9). |
| Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel | 13 | Next to Winchester Cathedral with a bar and 24-hour room service, but the restaurant was shown as closed, and breakfast is a £15 add-on. |
Not ranked: Highfield House Hotel. Only an undated Visit Southampton listing and a Booking.com search result — we couldn't confirm it's open. The White Star Tavern. Visit Southampton lists it for cruisers, but we found no website of its own to score. Ennio's Boutique Hotel. Ten rooms by Town Quay on Visit Southampton's list; we couldn't find the hotel's own site. Chilworth Manor Hotel. Tourism listings call it Best Western in one place and not in another, and we found no site of its own. The Winchester Royal Hotel. Known to us only from a Visit Hampshire listing. Village Hotel Southampton Eastleigh. Its own page wouldn't render; all we had was Southampton Airport's hotel list. Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. Not open to the public as a hotel; Accor no longer lists it.
None of the twenty runs an airport shuttle — from Heathrow, Gatwick or Southampton Airport. Southampton Airport is the close one, about 5 road miles from the terminals by our routing — but it has no transatlantic flights.
From Heathrow it’s the National Express coach from £17.40, a train via London or Woking, or a booked car. British Airport Transfers publishes £180 a saloon. The Getting There table shows what every hotel says.
Tours, tickets and things to do are on Booking.com. Book the day before, not sail day.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
On our scoring it's the Hilton at the Utilita Bowl, by M27 Junction 7. Its Park, Stay and Cruise package is from £165 — a night, breakfast, up to 21 nights' parking and transfers to the terminal. voco Southampton is second, 0.5 miles from Horizon by IHG's count. The Holiday Inn at Eastleigh is third — 15 days' parking and a taxi in its Cruise and Park Offer.
Your cruise documents say. There are five: QEII and Ocean in the Eastern Docks, City, Horizon and Mayflower in the Western Docks. Cunard uses Mayflower, Ocean or QEII, per its own page; P&O uses Mayflower and Ocean; MSC uses Horizon. A 2024 Royal Caribbean page names City — that's reported, not current official guidance.
To some of them. voco puts Horizon 0.5 miles away, and Novotel, Moxy and Second Nature say the terminals are a walk. ABP's directions put Horizon 12 minutes and City 15 minutes on foot from Southampton Central, but QEII is 2.5 miles. Walking it with cruise bags is a choice, not a plan for everyone.
In the city if you want a short taxi or a walk. Out by the M27 or at Eastleigh if you're driving and want the car parked in a package. Two of our top three are out there. By our routing the M27 and Eastleigh hotels are about 5.4 to 7 road miles from the nearer terminal.
Two of our twenty print a price: the Hilton's Park, Stay and Cruise from £165, and Harbour's £20 a car a night. Eight more offer it without a price on the page. Otherwise the port's own parking goes by cruise line, ABParking or CPS valet, both pre-booked. The council's Eastgate Street car park is £9 for the first 24 hours — then £5 a day.
None of our twenty runs one from Heathrow, Gatwick or Southampton Airport. From Heathrow it's the National Express coach, from £17.40, the train via London or Woking, or a booked car. From Southampton Airport it's 7 minutes by train to Central, or a taxi from the desk in the terminal.
By coach, train or booked car. National Express 032 runs to Southampton Coach Station from £17.40, booking fee included, up to 14 times a day. The train from London Waterloo takes around 1 hour 30 minutes, from £10.10 in advance. British Airport Transfers publishes £180 for a saloon. No cruise line publishes a per-person transfer price on a page we could read.
P&O Cruises, Cunard, Princess, Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, MSC, Norwegian, Disney and Fred. Olsen all list Southampton sailings, among others. See our Southampton cruise guide for the ships and where they go.
Hotel rates move every day and jump on busy sailing days. Any figure we printed would be stale by the time you read it. We rank on what holds still — parking, breakfast and the ride. Your rate belongs to your date.
Dollar figures use the European Central Bank reference rate of Oct 2, 2026 (about $1.32 to the pound); your card’s rate will differ.
Tell us your sail date and we'll match the hotel, the ride and the cruise itself. A real advisor does the legwork. No obligation.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks rates for that night and replies within one business day.
We’ll check rates for your night and reply within one business day.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.