Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The DoubleTree in Chilworth is the M3 driver's stop with a printed long-stay rate. Hilton lists "28 per day if leaving car & not residing in Hotel", self-parking at £8.50 a day, and a Family Experience for under-12s.
That 28 has no currency symbol and is for non-residents. We score it as an offer to ask about, not a price.
Our routing puts Ocean about 4.7 road miles away and Mayflower 5.1. There's no airport shuttle, and Southampton Airport's list credits it with a pool that Hilton's page doesn't mention.
Ask what a guest pays to leave the car, and whether that 28 is in pounds.
Book it if
- Drivers coming down the M3
- Dog owners
- Families with under-12s
Look elsewhere if
- You want to walk to the ship.
- You need a pool.
- You want an airport shuttle.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what DoubleTree Chilworth publishes.
Cask & Solent for dinner and drinks, and a fitness centre. Southampton Airport's hotel list credits it with a pool, but Hilton doesn't, so we don't count one.
Hilton lists no shuttle to the ship or the airport.
Hilton's page doesn't say breakfast is included.
Hilton says it's "just 4 miles from Southampton city center, close to Southampton Cruise Terminal", without a terminal figure. By our routing it's about 5.1 road miles to Mayflower and 4.7 to Ocean. Our no-traffic figures from DoubleTree Chilworth: 14 minutes to Ocean, 16 to Mayflower. Your check-in slot decides when you leave, not the hotel.
Self-parking is £8.50 a day. Hilton's page also lists "28 per day if leaving car & not residing in Hotel" — no currency symbol, and it's for non-residents, so ask what a guest pays to leave the car for the cruise.
Night-Before Score: 42 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes — see how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
DoubleTree Chilworth sits about 3.4 road miles from Southampton Airport and 60.7 from Heathrow, by our routing, not the hotel’s. Ocean is 4.7 miles on, Mayflower 5.1 — question marks are rides you arrange, not the hotel.
Hilton lists an airport shuttle as "Not available".
Hilton lists no shuttle to the ship or the airport.
Hilton says it's "just 4 miles from Southampton city center, close to Southampton Cruise Terminal", without a terminal figure. By our routing it's about 5.1 road miles to Mayflower and 4.7 to Ocean.
From LHR without a hotel shuttle
By our routing, Heathrow to DoubleTree Chilworth is about 60.7 road miles — roughly 73 minutes with no traffic. National Express 032 runs to Southampton Coach Station from £17.40 (about US$25), a taxi ride from DoubleTree Chilworth. More: the airport page.
Hilton lists an airport shuttle as "Not available".
Hilton lists no shuttle to the ship or the airport.
Hilton says it's "just 4 miles from Southampton city center, close to Southampton Cruise Terminal", without a terminal figure. By our routing it's about 5.1 road miles to Mayflower and 4.7 to Ocean.
From LGW without a hotel shuttle
Gatwick is the longer run to DoubleTree Chilworth: a coach to Southampton Coach Station, arriving from about 10:40am, or a car; a train to DoubleTree Chilworth means a change on the way.
Hilton lists an airport shuttle as "Not available".
Hilton lists no shuttle to the ship or the airport.
Hilton says it's "just 4 miles from Southampton city center, close to Southampton Cruise Terminal", without a terminal figure. By our routing it's about 5.1 road miles to Mayflower and 4.7 to Ocean.
From SOU without a hotel shuttle
Southampton Airport sits about 3.4 road miles from DoubleTree Chilworth, by our routing, with trains to Central in 7 minutes and a taxi desk for the run to DoubleTree Chilworth.
Self-parking is £8.50 a day. Hilton's page also lists "28 per day if leaving car & not residing in Hotel" — no currency symbol, and it's for non-residents, so ask what a guest pays to leave the car for the cruise.
Parking for your stay: £8.50 a day on site; EV chargers, bring your own cable.
Hilton lists no shuttle to the ship or the airport.
Hilton says it's "just 4 miles from Southampton city center, close to Southampton Cruise Terminal", without a terminal figure. By our routing it's about 5.1 road miles to Mayflower and 4.7 to Ocean.
Landing on sail morning instead? Skip DoubleTree Chilworth and go straight to your terminal — the airport page checks your landing time.
Which terminal
Five terminals, two docksBy our routing DoubleTree Chilworth is about 4.7 road miles from Ocean, in the Eastern Docks, and 5.1 from Mayflower, in the Western Docks — your documents say which of the five is yours. See the terminals, explained.
Source: visitsouthampton.co.ukDistance
No mileage statedHilton says it's "just 4 miles from Southampton city center, close to Southampton Cruise Terminal", without a terminal figure. By our routing it's about 5.1 road miles to Mayflower and 4.7 to Ocean.
Source: hilton.comShuttle departures
No shuttleWith no DoubleTree Chilworth shuttle, your check-in slot sets the clock, not a timetable. Our no-traffic routing gives 16 minutes to Mayflower and 14 to Ocean — a floor, not a forecast.
Source: hilton.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking: ask priceSelf-parking is £8.50 a day. Hilton's page also lists "28 per day if leaving car & not residing in Hotel" — no currency symbol, and it's for non-residents, so ask what a guest pays to leave the car for the cruise.
Source: hilton.comThe port and the council
Eastgate Street £9, then £5 a dayDoubleTree Chilworth offers £8.50 a day self-parking. Parking at the port instead of at DoubleTree Chilworth goes by cruise line — ABParking for Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, MSC, Norwegian, Disney and Fred. Olsen, CPS valet for Cunard, P&O and Princess — pre-booked, at a price that depends on your sailing, so get an online quote. For a known price near DoubleTree Chilworth, the council’s Eastgate Street is £9 (about US$12), then £5 (about US$7) a day.
Where the car goes while you sail · Southampton cruise parking, compared.
Source: southampton.gov.ukThe evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on siteCask & Solent for dinner and drinks, and a fitness centre. Southampton Airport's hotel list credits it with a pool, but Hilton doesn't, so we don't count one.
Breakfast
Not statedHilton's page doesn't say breakfast is included.
Address
Bracken Place, ChilworthBracken Place, Chilworth, Southampton, SO16 3RB
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as DoubleTree Chilworth publishes it. We couldn’t confirm what a guest pays to leave the car while sailing and whether breakfast is included, so ask DoubleTree Chilworth when you book.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
£8.50 a day on site; EV chargers, bring your own cable
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
No pool mentioned on the pages we read
Pets
Pets allowed: £50 (about US$65) non-refundable, up to 34 kg.
Food and drink on site
- Cask & SolentLounge, restaurant and bar
Rooms
A Family Experience for under-12s; Hilton doesn’t list room sizes on the page we read.
Accessibility
DoubleTree Chilworth’s pages we read don’t detail accessible rooms, so call before you book one.
On site
- EV chargingYes
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Southampton city centre4 miles
Distances as DoubleTree Chilworth or its brand lists them, on a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- Pets allowed: £50 non-refundable, up to 34 kg
- Southampton Airport’s hotel list credits it with a pool and spa; Hilton’s own page lists only a fitness centre
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 3 PM, check-out noon.
- EV chargers; bring your own cable.
- No airport shuttle.
What we couldn’t confirm
- What a guest pays to leave the car while sailing
- Whether breakfast is included
Every hotel fact here comes from DoubleTree Chilworth’s own pages, read October 3, 2026, unless we name another source — so before you book, confirm what a guest pays to leave the car for the cruise.
Worth a look alongside it
Around DoubleTree Chilworth: the Southampton cruise guide, Southampton cruise parking and the splurge list.
Wake up in Chilworth, off the M3.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check DoubleTree Chilworth for the night before. No payment on the form.
DoubleTree Chilworth FAQ
Can I leave my car at DoubleTree Southampton while I cruise?
Hilton lists "28 per day if leaving car & not residing in Hotel", without a currency symbol. Ask what applies to guests.
How much is parking at DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton?
£8.50 a day on site, with EV chargers — bring your own cable.
Does DoubleTree Southampton have a pool?
Hilton's page lists a fitness centre only. Southampton Airport's hotel list says pool and spa; we go with Hilton.
How far is DoubleTree Chilworth from the cruise port?
Hilton says close to the terminal and 4 miles from the city centre. Our routing gives about 4.7 road miles to Ocean and 5.1 to Mayflower.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton allow pets?
Yes: a £50 non-refundable fee, up to 34 kg.
Dollar figures use the European Central Bank reference rate of Oct 2, 2026 (about $1.32 to the pound); your card’s rate will differ.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
