Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
voco is the hotel to book if your ship leaves from Horizon. IHG puts it "just 0.5 miles from Horizon Cruise Terminal", MSC's terminal, and its Park, Stay and Cruise packages bundle a night, breakfast for two and 8 or 15 nights of parking.
IHG doesn't print the package price. Visit Southampton quotes it from £354 (about US$465) a night with up to 15 days' parking and a one-way taxi, which is the tourist board's line rather than the hotel's, so ask for it by name.
Parking without the package is £20 (about US$25) per 24 hours in an outdoor lot of 180 to 211 spaces, depending on which IHG page you read. There's no pool and no pets, and you need to be 18.
This was the Holiday Inn Southampton until IHG renamed it. Old booking links still use that name — it's the same building on Herbert Walker Avenue, not a second hotel.
Book it if
- MSC passengers — Horizon is 0.5 miles away
- Drivers who want the car on site for the cruise
- Seafood and a cocktail the night before
Look elsewhere if
- You're under 18.
- You want a pool.
- You need a package price in writing before you book.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what voco Southampton publishes.
Atlantic Gate for seafood and cocktails, and a 24-hour fitness centre; there's no pool. Westquay's shops are two minutes' walk, per Visit Southampton.
IHG puts Horizon 0.5 miles away, so for MSC it's a walk. IHG doesn't mention a ride to the ship; Visit Southampton says the package adds a one-way standard taxi, which IHG's own page doesn't repeat.
Breakfast is at Atlantic Gate; IHG prints no price, and it's free only inside the cruise package.
IHG puts the hotel "just 0.5 miles from Horizon Cruise Terminal". On our no-traffic routing, Mayflower is about 1.6 road miles off and Ocean 1.0. Visit Southampton asks you to arrive 15 to 30 minutes before your slot, not earlier.
Parking is £20 per 24 hours on site; IHG's pages give 180 spaces on one and 211 on another. IHG lists Park, Stay and Cruise packages (a night, breakfast for two and 8 or 15 nights of parking) without a price. Visit Southampton quotes the package from £354 a night with up to 15 days' parking and a one-way taxi; that's the tourist board's figure, so confirm it with the hotel.
Night-Before Score: 62 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes — see how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
By our routing, Heathrow to voco Southampton is about 64.7 miles and 84 minutes on empty roads; Southampton Airport is about 5.3. Solid lines are published rides; question marks are yours to book, not voco Southampton’s.
IHG lists an airport shuttle as "not available" for Heathrow, Southampton and Bournemouth.
IHG puts Horizon 0.5 miles away, so for MSC it's a walk. IHG doesn't mention a ride to the ship; Visit Southampton says the package adds a one-way standard taxi, which IHG's own page doesn't repeat.
IHG puts the hotel "just 0.5 miles from Horizon Cruise Terminal". On our no-traffic routing, Mayflower is about 1.6 road miles off and Ocean 1.0.
From LHR without a hotel shuttle
By our routing, Heathrow to voco Southampton is about 64.7 road miles — roughly 84 minutes with no traffic. National Express 032 runs to Southampton Coach Station from £17.40 (about US$25), a taxi ride from voco Southampton. More: the airport page.
No Gatwick ride from voco Southampton — the coach or a booked car covers it.
IHG puts Horizon 0.5 miles away, so for MSC it's a walk. IHG doesn't mention a ride to the ship; Visit Southampton says the package adds a one-way standard taxi, which IHG's own page doesn't repeat.
IHG puts the hotel "just 0.5 miles from Horizon Cruise Terminal". On our no-traffic routing, Mayflower is about 1.6 road miles off and Ocean 1.0.
From LGW without a hotel shuttle
Landing at Gatwick? For voco Southampton, take the National Express coach or book a car — by rail you change in London or at Clapham Junction.
IHG lists an airport shuttle as "not available".
IHG puts Horizon 0.5 miles away, so for MSC it's a walk. IHG doesn't mention a ride to the ship; Visit Southampton says the package adds a one-way standard taxi, which IHG's own page doesn't repeat.
IHG puts the hotel "just 0.5 miles from Horizon Cruise Terminal". On our no-traffic routing, Mayflower is about 1.6 road miles off and Ocean 1.0.
From SOU without a hotel shuttle
For voco Southampton, Southampton Airport is roughly 15 minutes away on empty roads, by our routing — the train to Central or the taxi desk.
Parking is £20 per 24 hours on site; IHG's pages give 180 spaces on one and 211 on another. IHG lists Park, Stay and Cruise packages (a night, breakfast for two and 8 or 15 nights of parking) without a price. Visit Southampton quotes the package from £354 a night with up to 15 days' parking and a one-way taxi; that's the tourist board's figure, so confirm it with the hotel.
Parking for your stay: £20 per 24 hours on site; 180 or 211 spaces, by IHG’s two pages.
IHG puts Horizon 0.5 miles away, so for MSC it's a walk. IHG doesn't mention a ride to the ship; Visit Southampton says the package adds a one-way standard taxi, which IHG's own page doesn't repeat.
IHG puts the hotel "just 0.5 miles from Horizon Cruise Terminal". On our no-traffic routing, Mayflower is about 1.6 road miles off and Ocean 1.0.
Landing on sail morning instead? Skip voco Southampton and go straight to your terminal — the airport page checks your landing time.
Which terminal
Five terminals, two docksFrom voco Southampton the nearer terminal by our routing is Ocean, about 1.0 road miles; the far end of the port is about 1.6 — your boarding pass decides which one you need from voco Southampton. See the terminals, explained.
Source: visitsouthampton.co.ukDistance
0.5 mi to Horizon, per IHGIHG puts the hotel "just 0.5 miles from Horizon Cruise Terminal". On our no-traffic routing, Mayflower is about 1.6 road miles off and Ocean 1.0.
Source: ihg.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking: ask priceParking is £20 per 24 hours on site; IHG's pages give 180 spaces on one and 211 on another. IHG lists Park, Stay and Cruise packages (a night, breakfast for two and 8 or 15 nights of parking) without a price. Visit Southampton quotes the package from £354 a night with up to 15 days' parking and a one-way taxi; that's the tourist board's figure, so confirm it with the hotel.
Source: ihg.comThe port and the council
Eastgate Street £9, then £5 a dayIf £20 per 24 hours on site, or the Park, Stay and Cruise package doesn’t suit, Southampton City Council’s Eastgate Street car park charges £9 (about US$12) for the first 24 hours and £5 (about US$7) a day after — a known price, then a short taxi to the ship.
Where the car goes while you sail · Southampton cruise parking, compared.
Source: southampton.gov.ukThe evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on siteAtlantic Gate for seafood and cocktails, and a 24-hour fitness centre; there's no pool. Westquay's shops are two minutes' walk, per Visit Southampton.
Breakfast
Not statedBreakfast is at Atlantic Gate; IHG prints no price, and it's free only inside the cruise package.
Address
Herbert Walker Avenue, by the Western DocksHerbert Walker Avenue, Southampton, SO15 1AG
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as voco Southampton publishes it. Before you book, ask voco Southampton about the Park, Stay and Cruise price on your dates and whether the package includes the taxi Visit Southampton mentions; its pages don’t say.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
Included, per IHG
Parking for your stay
£20 per 24 hours on site; 180 or 211 spaces, by IHG’s two pages
Breakfast
At Atlantic Gate; price not printed outside the package
Pool
No pool mentioned on the pages we read
Pets
Service dogs only; pets aren't allowed, per IHG.
Food and drink on site
- Atlantic GateSeafood and cocktails; breakfast too
Rooms
133 bedrooms; IHG doesn’t say which sleep a family.
Accessibility
Four accessible rooms and accessible parking; the lifts are listed as accessible.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedNo
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Horizon Cruise Terminal0.5 miles
Distances as voco Southampton or its brand lists them, on a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- Formerly the Holiday Inn Southampton
- Lifts
- 24-hour fitness centre
- Service dogs only; no pets
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 3 PM, check-out 11 AM. Minimum check-in age 18.
- £20 per 24 hours to park on site.
- IHG lists no airport shuttle.
- Formerly the Holiday Inn Southampton.
- Lifts, and four accessible rooms.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The Park, Stay and Cruise price on your dates
- Whether the package includes the taxi Visit Southampton mentions
Every hotel fact here comes from voco Southampton’s own pages, read October 3, 2026, unless we name another source — so before you book, confirm the Park, Stay and Cruise price and whether the taxi is in it.
Worth a look alongside it
Around voco Southampton: the Southampton cruise guide, Southampton cruise parking and the splurge list.
Wake up 0.5 miles from Horizon.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check voco Southampton for the night before. No payment on the form.
voco Southampton FAQ
How far is voco Southampton from Horizon Cruise Terminal?
0.5 miles, by IHG's own count. By our routing Mayflower is about 1.6 road miles away and Ocean 1.0.
Does voco Southampton have a park-and-cruise package?
Yes: Park, Stay and Cruise, with a night, breakfast for two and 8 or 15 nights of parking. IHG prints no price; Visit Southampton quotes from £354 a night, which is worth checking with the hotel.
Was voco Southampton the Holiday Inn?
Yes. IHG says it was "Previously known as Holiday Inn Southampton". It's still on Herbert Walker Avenue.
How much is parking at voco Southampton?
£20 per 24 hours on site, per IHG, in an outdoor lot (IHG gives 180 spaces on its directions page and 211 on its overview). We use IHG's price.
Does voco Southampton have an airport shuttle?
No. IHG lists a shuttle as not available for Heathrow, Southampton and Bournemouth airports.
Dollar figures use the European Central Bank reference rate of Oct 2, 2026 (about $1.32 to the pound); your card’s rate will differ.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
