Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The big one. The JW is AAA Four Diamond and Forbes Recommended, with two rooftop pools, a 27th-floor rooftop bar, a steakhouse and a ten-room spa, on the same block as the EDITION.
If you want a resort night in the middle of the city, this is the volume version.
It costs in fees and rules. A $20 daily destination fee, valet at $55, no pets, and nothing published about the port or the cruise.
A great pool day before the ship. Price the fee and the valet into the rate before you compare it to the EDITION.
Book it if
- Families who want two rooftop pools and a big hotel's options
- Anyone who wants a rooftop bar with a view of the bay
- Marriott Bonvoy members
Look elsewhere if
- You're bringing a pet.
- You'd rather not pay a destination fee on top of valet.
- You want the ride to the ship handled.
What you’re paying for, and what you’re not
A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what JW Marriott Water Street publishes.
Two rooftop pools with cabanas on the sixth floor, Beacon on the 27th for cocktails over the water, SiX by the pool, Driftlight Steakhouse for dinner and Spa by JW with ten treatment rooms. A skybridge connects to the Tampa Marriott Water Street's waterfront pool. 519 rooms, all with floor-to-ceiling windows.
Marriott lists no port shuttle. Book a taxi or rideshare for sail morning.
Not free. JW Market does coffee and cold-pressed juice; Turntable is a grab-and-go window.
Marriott gives no distance to the port. The hotel is on Water Street, a block from the EDITION, which puts the port 0.8 miles away. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Valet only, $55 a day ($35 daytime); the Pam Iorio public garage is half a mile. Marriott doesn't mention cruise parking.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.
No shuttle. Marriott puts TPA about 7 miles away.
Marriott lists no port shuttle. Book a taxi or rideshare for sail morning.
Marriott gives no distance to the port. The hotel is on Water Street, a block from the EDITION, which puts the port 0.8 miles away.
From TPA without a hotel shuttle
The airport says a taxi is a flat $40 to downtown and the cruise terminal on one page and a $35 maximum on another; the port calls it a 15-minute drive. Uber’s own estimate is about $28 for UberX, plus the airport’s $5 rideshare fee. Rideshare picks up at the Red and Blue Express curbsides.
No shuttle. Marriott puts St. Pete-Clearwater 17.5 miles away.
Marriott lists no port shuttle. Book a taxi or rideshare for sail morning.
Marriott gives no distance to the port. The hotel is on Water Street, a block from the EDITION, which puts the port 0.8 miles away.
From PIE without a hotel shuttle
St. Pete-Clearwater is across the bay, about 17 miles from Tampa by Uber’s count. No official source gives a distance to the port. Uber estimated $36 for UberX to Tampa; Tampa Cruise Ship Shuttle charges $85 for the vehicle from St. Pete or Clearwater.
Valet only, $55 a day ($35 daytime); the Pam Iorio public garage is half a mile. Marriott doesn't mention cruise parking.
Parking for your stay: Valet only, $55 a day ($35 daytime); Pam Iorio public garage 0.5 miles.
Marriott lists no port shuttle. Book a taxi or rideshare for sail morning.
Marriott gives no distance to the port. The hotel is on Water Street, a block from the EDITION, which puts the port 0.8 miles away.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Distance
No distance statedMarriott gives no distance to the port. The hotel is on Water Street, a block from the EDITION, which puts the port 0.8 miles away.
Source: marriott.comCruise shuttle
No shuttle statedMarriott lists no port shuttle. Book a taxi or rideshare for sail morning.
Source: marriott.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedValet only, $55 a day ($35 daytime); the Pam Iorio public garage is half a mile. Marriott doesn't mention cruise parking.
Source: marriott.comThe port’s own garage
About $15/dayIf the hotel won’t hold your car, drive to the terminal on sail morning. The port’s garage is at 810 Channelside Drive, across the street from Terminal 3, with overflow lots at 810 Channelside and 1331 McKay when a ship is in. Port Tampa Bay doesn’t print a daily rate on its pages; Royal Caribbean and Celebrity put it at about $15 a day, subject to change, and Norwegian says $14. Pay on entry by cash or card, or pre-pay online with a full refund before your cruise date; valet is a $20 upgrade. There’s no shuttle leg. Compare every parking option.
Source: royalcaribbean.comThe night you’re paying for
The evening
Pool · Food or drinks on siteTwo rooftop pools with cabanas on the sixth floor, Beacon on the 27th for cocktails over the water, SiX by the pool, Driftlight Steakhouse for dinner and Spa by JW with ten treatment rooms. A skybridge connects to the Tampa Marriott Water Street's waterfront pool. 519 rooms, all with floor-to-ceiling windows.
Breakfast
Not freeNot free. JW Market does coffee and cold-pressed juice; Turntable is a grab-and-go window.
Address
Water Street510 Water Street, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel website
Ratings
AAA Four DiamondAAA rates it Four Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide rates it Recommended. Both lists are for 2026.
Source: newsroom.aaa.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as JW Marriott Water Street publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
$20 a day destination fee, before tax
Wi-Fi
Free for Marriott Bonvoy members
Parking for your stay
Valet only, $55 a day ($35 daytime); Pam Iorio public garage 0.5 miles
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Paid; JW Market and Turntable
Pool
Two sixth-floor rooftop pools with cabanas; skybridge to the Tampa Marriott Water Street pool
Pets
Not allowed.
Food and drink on site
- Driftlight SteakhouseAged steaks and local seafood
- Driftlight LoungeLobby bar, small plates
- Beacon Tampa27th-floor rooftop lounge
- SiX TampaRooftop bar by the pool
- TurntableStreet-level grab-and-go window
- JW MarketCafe, coffee and juice
Rooms
519 rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows and water or city views: kings, Chairman rooms, JW Suites and a presidential suite with a 1,000-square-foot balcony.
Accessibility
Roll-in showers, accessible pool entry and hearing-accessible rooms.
On site
- EV chargingYes
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedNo
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Tampa Riverwalk, Sparkman Wharf, the arenalisted, no distances
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- AAA Four Diamond since 2022; Forbes Recommended
- Spa by JW with ten treatment suites; Forbes lists it as soon to be rated
- The $20 destination fee covers a food and drink credit, wellness classes, the water taxi and sports rentals
Before you book
Worth knowing
- A $20 daily destination fee, before tax, covers a food and drink credit, wellness classes, the water taxi and sports rentals.
- Valet is $55 a day.
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM. No pets.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Distance to the port
- Cruise parking
- A ride to the ship
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 25, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
The other splurges near the port
Wake up a short walk from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check JW Marriott Water Street for the night before. No payment on the form.
JW Marriott Water Street FAQ
Is JW Marriott Water Street a luxury hotel?
AAA rates it Four Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide rates it Recommended. It's the biggest of the six, with 519 rooms and two rooftop pools, a block from the EDITION.
Does JW Marriott Water Street have a cruise shuttle?
No. Marriott lists no port shuttle. Book a taxi or rideshare for sail morning.
Does JW Marriott Water Street have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From Tampa International: No shuttle. Marriott puts TPA about 7 miles away. From St. Pete-Clearwater: No shuttle. Marriott puts St. Pete-Clearwater 17.5 miles away.
Can I park at JW Marriott Water Street while I cruise?
It doesn't say. Valet only, $55 a day ($35 daytime); the Pam Iorio public garage is half a mile. Marriott doesn't mention cruise parking.
How far is JW Marriott Water Street from Port Tampa Bay?
Marriott gives no distance to the port. The hotel is on Water Street, a block from the EDITION, which puts the port 0.8 miles away.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
