Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
This is the answer to the question. The Tampa EDITION is the only Forbes Four-Star hotel in the Tampa Bay area, it's AAA Four Diamond, Lilac has a Michelin star, and the hotel puts the port 0.8 miles from the door.
No other Florida cruise port has a hotel like this within a mile of the ship.
It does nothing for the cruise on purpose. No shuttle, no port distance beyond that one line, no cruise parking, and valet at $58.
The house car drops off free within 2 miles, but the page doesn't name the terminals.
Book it for the night, then ask the concierge about the house car and keep a cab in your pocket.
Book it if
- Anyone who wants the best hotel in the city the night before, and a short cab in the morning
- Couples with a dinner reservation at Lilac
- Marriott Bonvoy members who'd rather spend points than cash
Look elsewhere if
- You're sailing before October 3, 2026 and wanted the rooftop pool. It's closed until then.
- You want the car held for the cruise.
- You want breakfast included.
What you’re paying for, and what you’re not
A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what The Tampa EDITION publishes.
Lilac, the Michelin-starred Mediterranean room from chef John Fraser, serves dinner Tuesday to Saturday. Arts Club, Punch Room and the Lobby Bar cover the drinks. The rooftop pool, Pool Bar and Azure are closed until October 3, 2026, and the spa until September 26 — check the dates against yours. Rooms have floor-to-ceiling windows; the Garden Terrace rooms open onto private patios.
No cruise shuttle is published. The hotel's house car makes free drop-offs within a 2-mile radius, and the terminals are inside that by its own 0.8-mile figure, but its page doesn't mention the port. Ask the concierge the night before, and have a cab as the backup.
Not free. Market at EDITION does coffee, pastries and an Italian coastal menu.
The hotel puts Port Tampa Bay 0.8 miles away, the arena 0.1 and Sparkman Wharf 0.2. It's on the same street as Terminals 2 and 3. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Valet only, $58 a night overnight ($40 daytime, $60 on event days), before tax. The hotel doesn't mention cruise parking.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.
No shuttle. The hotel puts TPA 8 miles away.
No cruise shuttle is published. The hotel's house car makes free drop-offs within a 2-mile radius, and the terminals are inside that by its own 0.8-mile figure, but its page doesn't mention the port. Ask the concierge the night before, and have a cab as the backup.
The hotel puts Port Tampa Bay 0.8 miles away, the arena 0.1 and Sparkman Wharf 0.2. It's on the same street as Terminals 2 and 3.
From TPA without a hotel shuttle
The airport says a taxi is a flat $40 to downtown and the cruise terminal on one page and a $35 maximum on another; the port calls it a 15-minute drive. Uber’s own estimate is about $28 for UberX, plus the airport’s $5 rideshare fee. Rideshare picks up at the Red and Blue Express curbsides.
No shuttle. The hotel puts St. Pete-Clearwater 17 miles away.
No cruise shuttle is published. The hotel's house car makes free drop-offs within a 2-mile radius, and the terminals are inside that by its own 0.8-mile figure, but its page doesn't mention the port. Ask the concierge the night before, and have a cab as the backup.
The hotel puts Port Tampa Bay 0.8 miles away, the arena 0.1 and Sparkman Wharf 0.2. It's on the same street as Terminals 2 and 3.
From PIE without a hotel shuttle
St. Pete-Clearwater is across the bay, about 17 miles from Tampa by Uber’s count. No official source gives a distance to the port. Uber estimated $36 for UberX to Tampa; Tampa Cruise Ship Shuttle charges $85 for the vehicle from St. Pete or Clearwater.
Valet only, $58 a night overnight ($40 daytime, $60 on event days), before tax. The hotel doesn't mention cruise parking.
Parking for your stay: Valet only: $58 overnight, $40 daytime, $60 event days, before tax.
No cruise shuttle is published. The hotel's house car makes free drop-offs within a 2-mile radius, and the terminals are inside that by its own 0.8-mile figure, but its page doesn't mention the port. Ask the concierge the night before, and have a cab as the backup.
The hotel puts Port Tampa Bay 0.8 miles away, the arena 0.1 and Sparkman Wharf 0.2. It's on the same street as Terminals 2 and 3.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Distance
0.8 milesThe hotel puts Port Tampa Bay 0.8 miles away, the arena 0.1 and Sparkman Wharf 0.2. It's on the same street as Terminals 2 and 3.
Source: editionhotels.comCruise shuttle
No shuttle statedNo cruise shuttle is published. The hotel's house car makes free drop-offs within a 2-mile radius, and the terminals are inside that by its own 0.8-mile figure, but its page doesn't mention the port. Ask the concierge the night before, and have a cab as the backup.
Source: editionhotels.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedValet only, $58 a night overnight ($40 daytime, $60 on event days), before tax. The hotel doesn't mention cruise parking.
Source: editionhotels.comThe port’s own garage
About $15/dayIf the hotel won’t hold your car, drive to the terminal on sail morning. The port’s garage is at 810 Channelside Drive, across the street from Terminal 3, with overflow lots at 810 Channelside and 1331 McKay when a ship is in. Port Tampa Bay doesn’t print a daily rate on its pages; Royal Caribbean and Celebrity put it at about $15 a day, subject to change, and Norwegian says $14. Pay on entry by cash or card, or pre-pay online with a full refund before your cruise date; valet is a $20 upgrade. There’s no shuttle leg. Compare every parking option.
Source: royalcaribbean.comThe night you’re paying for
The evening
Pool · Food or drinks on siteLilac, the Michelin-starred Mediterranean room from chef John Fraser, serves dinner Tuesday to Saturday. Arts Club, Punch Room and the Lobby Bar cover the drinks. The rooftop pool, Pool Bar and Azure are closed until October 3, 2026, and the spa until September 26 — check the dates against yours. Rooms have floor-to-ceiling windows; the Garden Terrace rooms open onto private patios.
Breakfast
Not freeNot free. Market at EDITION does coffee, pastries and an Italian coastal menu.
Address
Channel District, Water Street500 Channelside Drive, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel website
Ratings
AAA Four DiamondAAA rates it Four Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide rates it Four-Star. Both lists are for 2026.
Source: newsroom.aaa.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as The Tampa EDITION publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
Free throughout the hotel
Parking for your stay
Valet only: $58 overnight, $40 daytime, $60 event days, before tax
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Paid; Market at EDITION for coffee and pastries
Pool
Rooftop pool and terrace; closed through October 3, 2026
Pets
One pet up to 25 lb, $250 per stay.
Food and drink on site
- LilacMichelin-starred Mediterranean, dinner Tuesday to Saturday
- Market at EDITIONItalian coastal, pastas and Neapolitan pizza; coffee bar
- AzureRooftop Greek; closed to Oct 3, 2026
- Arts ClubCocktails, shareable plates and music
- Punch RoomCocktail bar
- Lobby BarBilliards, cocktails, wine and beer
Rooms
172 rooms, 30 suites and a 2,059-square-foot penthouse. Deluxe and Premier kings and queens, Garden Terrace rooms with private patios, and one- and two-bedroom suites, some with a panoramic downtown view.
Accessibility
Mobility-accessible rooms with roll-in showers, grab rails and TTY/TTD.
On site
- EV chargingYes
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Benchmark International Arena0.1 mi
- Sparkman Wharf0.2 mi
- Tampa Riverwalk0.6 mi
- Port Tampa Bay0.8 mi
- Ybor City3.6 mi
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star; Lilac and the spa are Four Star too
- AAA Four Diamond since 2023
- Complimentary house car for drop-offs within a 2-mile radius
- Rooftop pool, Pool Bar and Azure closed June 15 to October 3, 2026; spa unavailable through September 26, 2026
Before you book
Worth knowing
- The rooftop pool, Pool Bar and Azure are closed June 15 to October 3, 2026, and the spa through September 26, per the hotel.
- Valet is $58 overnight, $60 on event days, before tax.
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM. One pet up to 25 lb, $250.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Whether the house car will take you to the terminals
- Cruise parking
- A resort or destination fee — none is stated, which isn't proof there's none
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 25, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
The other splurges near the port
Wake up a short walk from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check The Tampa EDITION for the night before. No payment on the form.
The Tampa EDITION FAQ
Is The Tampa EDITION a luxury hotel?
AAA rates it Four Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide rates it Four-Star. It's the only Forbes Four-Star hotel in the Tampa Bay area, and Lilac holds a Michelin star. No hotel in the area is AAA Five Diamond.
Does The Tampa EDITION have a cruise shuttle?
No. No cruise shuttle is published. The hotel's house car makes free drop-offs within a 2-mile radius, and the terminals are inside that by its own 0.8-mile figure, but its page doesn't mention the port. Ask the concierge the night before, and have a cab as the backup.
Does The Tampa EDITION have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From Tampa International: No shuttle. The hotel puts TPA 8 miles away. From St. Pete-Clearwater: No shuttle. The hotel puts St. Pete-Clearwater 17 miles away.
Can I park at The Tampa EDITION while I cruise?
It doesn't say. Valet only, $58 a night overnight ($40 daytime, $60 on event days), before tax. The hotel doesn't mention cruise parking.
How far is The Tampa EDITION from Port Tampa Bay?
The hotel puts Port Tampa Bay 0.8 miles away, the arena 0.1 and Sparkman Wharf 0.2. It's on the same street as Terminals 2 and 3.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
