The Inn at Whittier
Whittier's harbor-front inn, with a restaurant and tavern, open again after a long closure.
Pre-Cruise Hotels · Whittier
Twenty hotels for a cruise from Whittier, in town and in Anchorage, scored on what gets you to the ship, not on reviews. Pick yours, and let the trip start the night before.
Three taps and we’ll show your best three hotels.
Change any answer and the picks change with it. They’re built from the same published facts as the ranking below. Nobody pays to be here.
Matching weighs your answers against each hotel’s published shuttle, parking, breakfast, pool, beach, kitchen and pet policies.
Five answers, and the page builds the whole thing: the hotel, the ride in, the ride to the ship, what happens to the car, what time to leave, and how you get home. Every figure is one the hotel, the port or the company publishes. Where nobody publishes a number, you’ll see that instead of a guess.
Who’s coming and the mood come from Your Match; the plan uses the same answers.
Partner links (transfers, rental cars, luggage storage) may earn Seabound Journeys a commission at no extra cost to you. They don't change the plan, which is built only from what each company publishes.
Whittier has three places to stay, and none publishes a ride; sleeping there takes the tunnel off sail morning. Between them, an Anchorage airport hotel that offers long-term parking.
Filter by what matters for your night. Save the ones you like, or tick up to three to compare side by side — the order is ours, the shortlist is yours.
Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
All 20 hotels
Whittier's harbor-front inn, with a restaurant and tavern, open again after a long closure.
A free 24-hour airport shuttle and long-term parking by the airport, for a Whittier cruise that starts in Anchorage.
Rooms, a restaurant, a general store and a laundromat under one roof, open all year.
Condo suites on the top two floors of Begich Towers, with harbor and glacier views.
Two-room suites, a free made-to-order breakfast and an indoor pool in midtown Anchorage.
Studio suites with kitchens, a free hot breakfast and an indoor pool in midtown Anchorage.
All suites, a free hot breakfast, an indoor pool and a restaurant in midtown Anchorage.
A mountain resort with a saltwater pool, a spa, a tram and five restaurants, on the way to the tunnel.
A free airport shuttle on request, free hot breakfast and an indoor pool, 3 miles from ANC.
A free airport shuttle, free hot breakfast and an indoor pool, 3 miles from ANC.
A free 24-hour airport shuttle, free breakfast and an indoor pool, 3.5 miles from ANC.
A free airport shuttle, free breakfast and small kitchens in some rooms, near ANC.
A 26-room historic hotel with a free full breakfast, two blocks from the train to Whittier.
A downtown inn in a 1939 house, with a free continental breakfast and inlet views.
An indoor pool and whirlpool, two restaurants and EV chargers in midtown Anchorage.
A free airport shuttle a mile from ANC, with The Bistro, a Starbucks and an indoor pool.
An indoor pool and hot tub downtown, with Bruin's bar, and dogs welcome.
An indoor pool downtown, steps from the train station in Marriott's words.
Anchorage's landmark downtown hotel: 557 rooms, five restaurants and athletic clubs with a pool.
A downtown hotel with a spa, Jade Restaurant and the Ptarmigan bar.
No hotel on the list has all of those. Try dropping one filter.
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Pick how you’re arriving. The board counts what each hotel publishes, the table lights up that column, and the companies below run from the airport to the port.
Holland America puts Whittier about 60 miles and 90 minutes from ANC, through a one-lane tunnel on a schedule. Six of the twenty run a free airport shuttle, all in Anchorage; none of the Whittier places publishes a ride. Between the two it’s the train, a bus, your line’s transfer or a rental car.
Ted Stevens Anchorage International · 1–40 miles from these hotels, by their own counts
Leaves the Anchorage depot at 9:45 AM and reaches Whittier at 12:05 PM, via Girdwood; the full route runs May 29 to September 12 in 2027. Adventure Class only. Fares checked Oct 2, 2026.
On ship days, a coach leaves the Dena'ina Civic Center at 3 PM and reaches the Whittier cruise terminal at 5 PM; it's the port-transfer partner for Princess and Holland America.
Princess and Holland America run their own transfers from Anchorage, some by rail. Princess asks you to land 5 hours before departure for Whittier.
The one-lane Anton Anderson tunnel runs 5:30 AM to 11:15 PM from May 1 to September 30 and 7:00 AM to 10:45 PM from October 1, alternating direction every 15 minutes, with trains first. Checked Oct 2, 2026.
Viator's Anchorage port-transfer list has an Anchorage-to-Whittier direct transfer from $80 and a hotel-or-airport pickup from $99.
Driving? The column to watch is “While you sail”. Compare hotel parking with the options on Whittier cruise parking, or price it out in the parking math below.
| Hotel | To the ship | While you sail | From ANC |
|---|---|---|---|
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Anchorage (ANC)Inn at Whittier doesn't mention an airport ride, and ANC is the far end of the trip from Whittier. To the shipThe inn mentions no ride to the ship, and by our road estimate it hardly needs one: Terminal 1 is about 0.2 miles away. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Long-term parking: ask | Freehotel shuttle | |
Anchorage (ANC)Free and 24-hour, per Coast, re-checked Oct 2, 2026; ANC is a mile from Lake Hood. To the shipNo ride to Whittier, about 58 road miles away on our estimate. The free shuttle goes to ANC, where some cruise-line transfers start. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Anchorage (ANC)The inn's own site wouldn't load for us. To the shipNo ride that we could find; the inn's own site wouldn't load for us. Terminal 1 is about 0.7 road miles away, our estimate. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Anchorage (ANC)Nothing on June's Condo Suites's pages about a ride from ANC; plan the Whittier leg from the airport yourself. To the shipThe operator mentions no ride. Terminal 1 is about 0.7 road miles from Begich Towers, our estimate. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Anchorage (ANC)No airport shuttle, per Hilton, which puts ANC about 6 miles off; from there it's a cab, before the Whittier leg. To the shipNo ride to Whittier. Our road estimate is about 57 miles from Embassy Suites to the dock, plus the tunnel; the train, Park Connection or your line covers it. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Anchorage (ANC)Hilton lists the airport shuttle as not available here; ANC is about 3 miles away by its count. To the shipHome2 doesn't drive to Whittier, about 57 road miles off on our estimate and through the tunnel; take the train or your line's coach. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Anchorage (ANC)Marriott says the shuttle has been dropped; ANC is about 4 miles off by its count. To the shipSpringHill runs no ride to Whittier, about 58 road miles away on our estimate before the tunnel. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Ask the hotel | |
Anchorage (ANC)The resort runs nothing from ANC. It points to Bear Valley Roadrunner from $90 a person, Red Eye Rides from $100 and the Girdwood Express Shuttle, as listed September 26, 2026. To the shipNo resort shuttle to Whittier. The Glacier Discovery boards in Girdwood at 11 AM; by road the dock is about 26 miles, our estimate, through the tunnel. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Freehotel shuttle | |
Anchorage (ANC)Complimentary on request, per Marriott, re-checked Oct 2, 2026; ANC is about 3 miles away. To the shipThe Fairfield's shuttle is airport-only; Whittier is about 57 road miles away on our estimate, through the tunnel. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Freehotel shuttle | |
Anchorage (ANC)Complimentary, per Hilton (checked Oct 2, 2026), with no hours printed; ANC is about 3 miles away. To the shipThe Hampton runs nothing to Whittier, about 58 road miles off by our estimate; its shuttle is for ANC. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Freehotel shuttle | |
Anchorage (ANC)Free and listed as 24-hour, per IHG (checked Oct 2, 2026); pickup is outside door 6 at baggage claim. To the shipNo ride to Whittier, about 58 road miles away on our estimate; IHG puts the train depot 5 miles from the hotel. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Freehotel shuttle | |
Anchorage (ANC)Free and now billed as 24-hour, per the inn (checked Oct 2, 2026). To the shipThe Puffin's shuttle runs to ANC, not Whittier. The dock is about 59 road miles away on our estimate. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Anchorage (ANC)Historic Anchorage doesn't mention an airport ride, and ANC is the far end of the trip from Whittier. To the shipNo ride to Whittier, but the depot is two blocks away by the hotel's count. The Glacier Discovery leaves it at 9:45 AM and reaches Whittier at 12:05 PM, $122 one way for 2027, checked Oct 2, 2026. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Anchorage (ANC)Copper Whale Inn doesn't mention an airport ride, and ANC is the far end of the trip from Whittier. To the shipNo ride to Whittier, about 60 road miles away by our estimate; downtown puts you a short cab from the depot and the Dena'ina Civic Center. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Anchorage (ANC)Marriott says the hotel has no airport shuttle; ANC is 3.4 miles away. To the shipAloft runs no ride to Whittier, about 58 road miles away by our estimate. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Freehotel shuttle | |
Anchorage (ANC)A free airport shuttle on request, per Marriott; ANC is about a mile away. To the shipIts shuttle serves ANC only; Whittier is about 58 road miles away by our estimate. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Anchorage (ANC)Hilton lists an airport shuttle here as not available; ANC is 7 miles away. To the shipNo ride to Whittier, about 60 road miles away by our estimate; downtown is a short cab from the depot and the 3 PM coach. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Anchorage (ANC)Marriott says the hotel doesn't run a shuttle; it puts ANC 5.9 miles away. To the shipNo ride to Whittier, but Marriott puts the hotel steps from the train station. The Glacier Discovery leaves the Anchorage depot at 9:45 AM and reaches Whittier at 12:05 PM, $122 one way for 2027, checked Oct 2, 2026. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Anchorage (ANC)The pages we could read don't mention an airport shuttle. To the shipNo ride to Whittier, about 60 road miles away by our estimate. Downtown, it's a short cab to the depot. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Anchorage (ANC)Marriott says the hotel doesn't run a shuttle. To the shipNo ride to Whittier, about 59 road miles away by our estimate. | |||
Alaska has no hotel on AAA's 2026 Four or Five Diamond lists. A nicer night still exists, though, in a mountain resort with a tram and a spa, Anchorage's landmark hotel, a cedar lodge outside Seward, and three downtown nights by the train.
Whittier’s cruise dock is past the one-lane Anton Anderson tunnel, and the town has only a few places to stay. The bands measure from the dock: in Whittier, Girdwood on the way, and Anchorage.
Three of the twenty are in Whittier, one in Girdwood and sixteen in Anchorage, about 60 miles away.
Numbers are the ranking. Each pin sits where the hotel is — the bands group them by distance, the way we score it.
Five things decide how easy the night before is, and each one is scored only from what the hotel publishes on its own site or its brand’s.
If a hotel doesn't say it, it scores zero there — not a guess, zero. Travel sites, tourism listings and review sites don't count, and when a hotel’s own pages contradict each other, we score the claim as unconfirmed and tell you. Each page lists exactly what we couldn't confirm.
By band, from the Whittier dock: in Whittier 30; Girdwood, on the road to the tunnel, 20; Anchorage 10.
Hotel-run shuttle, free or with a published price, 25. A ride only inside a package or offer 20. The hotel’s own ride with no published fare 15. The hotel says you can walk: across the street, a few blocks, or half a mile or less, 15. A ride the hotel arranges through someone else, or a shuttle company it names, 10. A shuttle that doesn’t name the terminal doesn’t count.
Published rate to leave the car 20, including a package with a published price. Offered, price unpublished 14.
Sail mornings start early. A free breakfast on site scores 10, including one inside a mandatory nightly fee.
On the beach 6, pool 3, food or a bar on site 3, a kitchen in the room 3. None of the twenty is on a beach.
Ties are broken in order: the lower published parking rate, any stated way to the ship, free breakfast, parking on site, the closer stated mileage, the lower guest parking price, then the alphabet. That’s why Coast Inn sits above Anchor Inn and June’s on 30 (parking on site), and Embassy Suites, Home2 and SpringHill above Alyeska on 26 (free breakfast). On 16, Aloft and the Courtyard (free parking) sit above the Hilton, the Marriott and the Captain Cook.
What's left out is deliberate. Room rates change daily, so they aren't scored. Neither are guest-review scores — they measure a stay in general, not a sail morning.
The ranking tells you which hotel makes the morning easiest. Your dates and your budget decide the rest, so price your own night before you book the winner.
No Whittier place publishes a price to leave the car, and Whittier Parking doesn’t print one. If you’re driving, the airport’s lots in Anchorage are the priced option; set your cruise length.
| ANC long-term lot, $13 a day, $78 a week | — |
| ANC Park, Ride & Fly lot, $9 a day, $40 a week | — |
Anchorage airport’s own rates, checked Oct 2, 2026, counting the day you park and the day you leave. The Park, Ride & Fly lot runs a shuttle every 15 to 20 minutes; the airport said it was closed to new cars from May 5 for construction, so check before you count on it. Whittier’s harbor lot is $11 a day, midnight to midnight, per the city, checked Oct 2, 2026; Whittier Parking’s lot doesn’t publish a rate.
For the options in town, see Whittier cruise parking, compared.
We checked 38 hotels in Seward, Whittier, Girdwood and Anchorage. These came closest, with their scores and the reason each fell short. Alyeska, the Captain Cook, the Marriott and the Copper Whale are also on the splurge list; the Seward hotels are in our Seward twenty.
| Hotel | Score | Why it missed |
|---|---|---|
| Glacier View Condo Suites | 30 | Condo suites in Begich Towers, but its own site wouldn't load, and the details we found are all third-party. |
| The Lakefront Anchorage | 13 | A free 24-hour airport shuttle on Lake Hood, but its own site blocked us, so nothing is confirmed. |
| Clarion Suites Anchorage Downtown | 10 | Free parking downtown, but Choice doesn't say the breakfast is free. |
| Seward Gateway Hotel | 65 | Second in our Seward twenty, with a free shuttle to that terminal, but Seward is more than two hours' drive from Whittier by our road estimate. |
Not ranked: Westmark Anchorage. Holland America's hotel company no longer lists it among its hotels, and guests reported it closed in 2026.
Six of the twenty run a free airport shuttle, all in Anchorage. None of the Whittier places publishes an airport ride.
From ANC to Whittier it’s about 60 miles and 90 minutes, per Holland America, through a tunnel that runs one way at a time: the train from the Anchorage depot at 9:45 AM, Park Connection’s 3 PM coach, your line’s transfer or a car. The Getting There table shows what every hotel publishes.
Tours, tickets and things to do are on Booking.com. Book the day before, not sail day.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
On our scoring it's the Inn at Whittier, on the harbor with a restaurant and tavern, because sleeping in Whittier takes the tunnel off sail morning. Coast Inn at Lake Hood, by the Anchorage airport with a free 24-hour shuttle and long-term parking, and Anchor Inn, in town, come next.
Whittier's newer Chugach Glacier Gateway terminal burned on September 14, 2026 and was declared a total loss, per Cruise Hive, a trade site; Norwegian, Oceania and Regent had first rights there, and Princess and Holland America used it too. Trade reports say the owners aim to reopen for 2027, without a date, and berths can change, so check your line's berth and transfer instructions for your sailing.
None of our twenty publishes one. The three Whittier places are in town, and the Anchorage hotels leave the ride to the train, your line's transfer or a car.
Whittier takes the tunnel out of your morning: it runs one direction at a time, 5:30 AM to 11:15 PM from May through September. Anchorage suits a late flight in; the Glacier Discovery leaves the depot at 9:45 AM and reaches Whittier at 12:05 PM, and Princess asks you to land 5 hours before the ship leaves.
The city's harbor lot is $11 a day, midnight to midnight (checked Oct 2, 2026), Whittier Parking runs a lot across the tracks without a printed rate, and Holland America says there's no public parking at the terminal. Anchorage's airport long-term lot is $13 a day with a $78 weekly cap, and Coast Inn at Lake Hood offers discounted long-term parking without a printed price.
Six of our twenty run a free shuttle from ANC: Coast Inn at Lake Hood, Fairfield Midtown, Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Puffin Inn and Courtyard Airport. All are in Anchorage, about 60 miles from Whittier, and none runs a ride there. None of the Whittier places publishes an airport ride.
The Alaska Railroad's Glacier Discovery, $122 one way for 2027 (checked Oct 2, 2026), leaves the Anchorage depot at 9:45 AM. Park Connection's coach leaves downtown at 3 PM on ship days, cruise lines sell their own transfers, and driving means the tunnel, $13 round trip.
Cruise Line Agencies of Alaska's 2026 Whittier schedule, updated June 8, lists Princess, Holland America, Norwegian, Regent and Oceania ships, plus single calls by Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Viking, Silversea and Azamara and a few expedition ships. The newer Chugach Glacier Gateway terminal burned in September 2026; trade reports say its owners aim for 2027, so check your line's berth and transfer instructions for your sailing.
Hotel rates move every day and spike on busy sailing days, so any number we printed would be wrong by the time you read it. We rank on what doesn't change daily, like shuttles, parking policies and breakfast, and leave the live rate to the booking site for your exact date.
Tell us your sail date and we'll match the hotel, the ride and the cruise itself. A real advisor does the legwork. No obligation.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks rates for that night and replies within one business day.
We’ll check rates for your night and reply within one business day.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.