Albatros Expeditions’ ships, now Polar Latitudes: Ocean Albatros and Ocean Victory

Albatros’s two ships look alike from the dock. Both are 104-meter Ulstein X-BOW hulls from SunStone’s Infinity class. One is owned by the line, by its April 2025 account, and the other is chartered from SunStone, though the group’s chair has described owning both. They sail different summers.

PC6Polar Class on both ships
175Guests on each, per the 2027 deck plans
18Zodiacs on Ocean Albatros
7Infinity-class ships SunStone built
By Joey Boleslawski, founder & travel advisorFacts checked November 1, 2026
The short answer

Albatros Expeditions is now Polar Latitudes, and its two ships sail on under the new name. Inside, they’re close to interchangeable. Same cabin ladder from a 14 m² single to a two-bedroom suite, same two hydraulic viewing platforms, the same heated mudroom with four doors. Ocean Albatros adds a 50 m² Family Suite and — on the line’s page, at least — a sauna.

The real difference is the calendar. Ocean Albatros spends its northern summer in Svalbard and East Greenland; Ocean Victory sails Ireland, Scotland, Iceland and West Greenland.

So choose the summer first. The ship follows.

01
Sort the fleet

Four ships, two of them Albatros’s

Tap a sort button and the meters redraw against the largest ship. Guest and crew counts are the line’s 2027 deck-plan figures.

The two X-BOW ships are the Albatros fleet. Discoverer and Ocean Nova are Polar Latitudes ships, shown so you can see what else sells under the same name.

“Not stated” means we couldn’t find the figure in the line’s pages or a trade source — so we left it blank, not estimated. Ocean Victory’s 8,000 gross tons is Ulstein’s “just over 8,000”. Sort by staff and crew if attention matters more than space.

02
The twins, compared

Where Ocean Albatros and Ocean Victory actually differ

Ocean Albatros · 2023

Svalbard, East Greenland, the long Antarctic voyages

The newer ship, delivered April 20, 2023. It carries 18 Zodiacs and 104 crew on the 2027 deck plan, a sauna on the line’s page and the 50 m² Family Suite. In 2026–27 it runs Antarctica, the Falklands and South Georgia, then Svalbard from May to early September 2027 and East Greenland in September.

vs
Ocean Victory · 2021

Ireland to West Greenland, then Antarctica

Two years older, with 120 expedition staff and crew on its 2027 deck plan. Its northern season runs April to July 2027 through Ireland, Scotland, Iceland and West Greenland. Its largest cabin is the two-bedroom Premium Suite of about 42 m².

SpecOcean AlbatrosOcean Victory
Length and beam104.4 m × 18.4 m104.4 m × 18.4 m
Ice notation1A, Polar Class 61A, Polar Class 6
Guests (2027 deck plan)175; up to 180 on some voyages175
Staff and crew104120
Zodiacs18Not stated
WellnessTwo hot tubs, sauna, spa, gymTwo hot tubs, spa, gym
Largest cabinFamily Suite, 50 m²Premium Suite, about 42 m²
Speed12 kn cruising, 15.5 kn top13–15 kn cruising

Both have two diesel and two electric engines, which the line says cut the carbon footprint by about half against older expedition ships. That’s the line’s claim, not an audited figure.

Read the 15-crew gap with care. Ocean Victory’s figure is “expedition staff and crew”; Ocean Albatros’s is “crew”, so they may not count the same people. Ask us for the expedition-team size on your departure.

03
Ten categories, one ladder

Cabin sizes, from single to suite

Switch ships with the tabs. Gold bars are the suite categories.

Category C is the workhorse: a private balcony at about 194 to 237 square feet, on Decks 4 and 6. Most cabins on both ships have one — though not the D, E and G categories.

The E cabins are a trap only if you don’t read the name. “French balcony” means floor-to-ceiling glass, not a walk-out balcony.

Solo travelers get real options here. The G and E S categories are sized for one, about 151 square feet, and a private twin costs 1.7 times the per-person rate.

Agree to share in Category C or above and the line matches you with a same-gender traveler at no supplement. Ask us which single cabins are left before you price a twin.

04
Owned, chartered, shared

Who holds each hull

Built for
SunStone Ships, as its sixth Infinity-class vessel; delivered April 20, 2023
2023
Year-round charter to Albatros, per Cruise Industry News
2025
Albatros became sole owner, per the line’s April 2025 announcement
Flag
Bahamas, per Baird Maritime
The one ship in this fleet the line says it owns outright.
Owner
SunStone Ships, per Ulstein’s reference page
Charter
Long-term Albatros charter for Antarctic operations, per the line, April 2025
2026 Arctic
Departures sold by Adventure Canada and Polar Latitudes, per Cruise Industry News
Conflict
The group’s chair described principal ownership of both ships in July 2026
Sources disagree on Ocean Victory. We report both and would confirm with the line before relying on either.
History
Prince Albert II, Silver Explorer, Exploris One; built in Rauma, Finland
Owner
Reported as a joint purchase: Cruise Industry News (July 2026) reports that Polar Latitudes co-purchased it with Heritage Expeditions; Heritage describes itself as operating the ship.
Two brands
Sold as Heritage Discoverer by Heritage on most dates (from May 2027, plus a November 2026 preview), and as Discoverer by Polar Latitudes on its 2026–27 Antarctic season, March–April 2027 Patagonia and August–September 2027 Svalbard. Check which company’s terms apply to your date.
Replaces
Seaventure, from 2026–27
Ownership is reported, not published by Polar Latitudes. Cruise Industry News (July 2026) reports that Polar Latitudes co-purchased the ship alongside Heritage Expeditions; Heritage’s own announcements say only that it joins Heritage’s fleet. We describe Polar Latitudes as selling some departures on it.
Size
About 75 guests, per Cruise Industry News
Owner
Long-term charter; the owner isn’t named in the sources we read
2026–27
Regular voyages from Ushuaia
From 2027–28
A fly-the-Drake program
The smallest ship in the group. Not an Albatros ship, and not an X-BOW.

Ownership sounds like trivia. It isn’t: a charter can end, and a ship can change brands between the season you book and the season you sail.

Ocean Victory has done it more than once. Read the next two sections before you book it far ahead.

05
The Infinity class

Seven sisters, one silhouette

Order and years from Cruise Industry News and the sibling fleet pages on this site. Operators are as of November 1, 2026.

ShipIn serviceOperator on our pagesOur guide
Greg Mortimer2019; the first of the classAurora; Lindblad charter from 2027Aurora fleet
Ocean Explorer2021Quark, since 2024–25Quark fleet
Ocean Victory2021Polar Latitudes (ex-Albatros)This page
Sylvia Earle2022AuroraAurora fleet
Ocean OdysseyDelivered before April 2023Not covered on our pages—
Ocean Albatros2023; the sixthPolar Latitudes (ex-Albatros)This page
Douglas Mawson2025; the seventh and lastAuroraAurora fleet

SunStone ordered seven of these from China Merchants Heavy Industry in Haimen, and Cruise Industry News listed the five already delivered when Ocean Albatros arrived in April 2023. Every one of them on our pages uses the Ulstein X-BOW.

That’s why the ships look alike in every brochure — and why the price gap between brands can surprise you. The guest count, the cabin plan and the program don’t.

Aurora lists Greg Mortimer at 148 guests and caps its expeditions at 130; Polar Latitudes runs its two at about 175. Same hull, different crowd at the landing — about 45 more people.

If you’re cross-shopping, compare the operator’s guest limit and inclusions, not the ship’s silhouette.

06
One ship, five years

Ocean Victory’s winding road

Expedition ships change hands fast. This one has had four operators in five years.

Oct 2021Delivered

A new X-BOW ship

Ocean Victory is delivered on October 12, 2021, built for SunStone and designed by Ulstein.

PC6
Early yearsSplit

Two operators a year

American Queen Voyages runs it in the northern summers; Albatros runs it in the Antarctic winters.

Summer · Antarctica
Dec 11, 2023Meeting

The sisters meet

Ocean Victory and the new Ocean Albatros cross paths for the first time in Antarctica’s Lemaire Channel.

Two X-BOWs
2025Detour

Alma Cruceros, then layup

After American Queen Voyages stops operating, the ship goes on charter to Spain’s Alma Cruceros. Spanish authorities arrest it weeks into that service, and it spends most of summer 2025 laid up in Funchal.

Per Cruise Industry News
2026Arctic

Two sellers

Late-July to early-October Arctic voyages go on sale through Adventure Canada and Polar Latitudes.

Greenland · Canada
2027Scheduled

A full Polar Latitudes year

Antarctica to February, then Ireland, Scotland, Iceland and West Greenland from April 23 to July 20, 2027.

Per the line’s fares page

None of this changes the ship itself — the hull is the same steel. It does explain why reviews of “Ocean Victory” can describe very different trips: an Alaska cruise, a Mediterranean charter, an Antarctic expedition.

Read reviews by year and by operator, not by ship name.

07
Four things to confirm

Before you book either ship

Tap a card for the detail.

All four come from the line’s own pages. None is a reason to skip these ships — each just changes the total or the plan. For the voyages themselves, read our Greenland, Arctic and Antarctica landing sites guides.

Bring these four questions to the quote, not to the cabin.

08
Our picks

Which ship, for which trip

Our judgement, built on the line’s published specs and 2027 schedule.

Svalbard or East Greenland

Ocean Albatros

It’s the only one of the two scheduled there in 2027, and it carries 18 Zodiacs on the deck plan.

Disko Bay or Iceland

Ocean Victory

The West Greenland fly-in voyages and the Ireland, Scotland and Iceland run are all on Victory.

A family or a group of four

Ocean Albatros’s Family Suite

Two bedrooms in about 538 square feet, the largest cabin in either ship.

Traveling alone

Either ship, G or E S

About 151 square feet, sized for one. Book early; they’re the cheapest way to avoid the 1.7 multiplier.

Look elsewhere if

You want a smaller group

About 175 guests is mid-size for polar ships. Aurora runs the same hull at 130 on expeditions, and the group’s own Discoverer carries 132.

Look elsewhere if

You need helicopters or the high ice

Neither ship lists helicopters, and PC6 isn’t icebreaker territory. Compare Quark and Ponant.

09
Fleet questions

Straight answers on the ships

Which ships did Albatros Expeditions sail?

Two current ships: Ocean Albatros, delivered in April 2023, and Ocean Victory, in service since 2021. Both are Ulstein X-BOW ships from SunStone's Infinity class, and both now sail for Polar Latitudes Expeditions, which absorbed the Albatros brand. Albatros also chartered the much older Ocean Atlantic until mid-2022; SunStone sent that ship for recycling in Turkey in May 2025.

Are Ocean Albatros and Ocean Victory owned or chartered?

They differ. Ocean Albatros was built for SunStone and went on year-round charter to Albatros in 2023; Polar Latitudes' April 2025 announcement says Albatros became its sole owner. Ocean Victory is SunStone's ship, and the same announcement describes a long-term Albatros charter for Antarctic operations. In July 2026 the group's chair described principal ownership of both ships, so ask us which applies if it matters to your booking.

Are these the same ships as Quark's Ocean Explorer and Aurora's fleet?

Same design, different ships. SunStone built seven Infinity-class X-BOW ships in China: Greg Mortimer, Ocean Explorer, Ocean Victory, Sylvia Earle, Ocean Odyssey, Ocean Albatros and Douglas Mawson. Quark sails Ocean Explorer, Aurora sails Greg Mortimer (chartered to Lindblad for Alaska summers from 2027), Sylvia Earle and Douglas Mawson, and Polar Latitudes sails Ocean Victory and Ocean Albatros. Cabins, guest limits and the program on board differ by operator.

What ice class are Ocean Albatros and Ocean Victory?

Both carry Ice Class 1A and Polar Class 6, per the line's ship pages, with Baird Maritime and Ulstein reporting the same notations. That's a capable polar rating for the Antarctic Peninsula, Svalbard and Greenland in season, not an icebreaker rating.

How many guests do the ships carry?

The line's 2027 deck plans give 175 passengers for each, with some Ocean Albatros voyages carrying up to 180. The same pages also print higher figures (192 and 194), and the ships were designed for more, so expect about 175 on most expeditions. Polar Latitudes says its ships never carry more than 180.

What happened to Seaventure and Ocean Atlantic?

Seaventure left the Polar Latitudes program after 2025-26. Discoverer, the former Exploris One, replaces it from 2026-27, and Seaventure moves to full-time operation under 66 Degrees Expeditions. Ocean Atlantic, an older SunStone ship Albatros chartered until mid-2022, arrived at Aliaga, Turkey, for recycling on May 3, 2025.

Plan with Seabound Journeys

Deciding between the two X-BOW ships? Tell us the summer.

Send the region, the month and who’s traveling. We’ll check which ship sails your date, who’s selling it, which cabins are left, and what the charter flight adds.

  • Which ship and which seller runs your date
  • Single and Family Suite availability
  • The charter flight priced in

No fee, no obligation. You pay the cruise line’s own fare. A real advisor replies, usually within one business day.

Ask about the Albatros ships

Answers come straight from this guide.

Which ships did Albatros Expeditions sail?Are Ocean Albatros and Ocean Victory owned or chartered?Are these the same ships as Quark's Ocean Explorer and Aurora's fleet?What ice class are Ocean Albatros and Ocean Victory?

Answers come from our guides and are general information. Confirm details with us before you book.

10
Sources and verification

Where every spec came from

Ship figures are the line’s own, then the builder’s and the trade press where the line is silent. Where sources conflict, as on guest counts and Ocean Victory’s ownership, we say so on the page. Square-foot conversions, the ship picks and the reading of the crew figures are our arithmetic and judgement.

Joey Boleslawski · Founder, Seabound Journeys · CLIA-affiliated travel advisor · 20+ years in hospitality

Joey Boleslawski founded Seabound Journeys after more than 20 years in hospitality. This fleet guide was compiled on November 1, 2026 from the Polar Latitudes ship pages and deck plans, Ulstein and Baird Maritime for the hulls, and Cruise Industry News and Seatrade Cruise News for ownership and charters. It describes the ships as published, not from a firsthand sailing.

One advisor, the whole expedition

The voyage, the gateway night, and the cover that matters out there.

Expedition trips have more moving parts than a Caribbean week: a charter flight, a night in a gateway city, gear lists and an evacuation clause the line sets for you. We book them together and check that the dates and the fine print agree.

How we work. Seabound Journeys is an independent travel advisory. We aren’t affiliated with or endorsed by any cruise line on this page. When we book a voyage, the cruise line pays us a commission, at no extra cost to you; some links may be affiliate links, and they’re always labeled. None of that changes what we write. Fares, ships, itineraries and inclusions change often, so every figure here comes from the line’s own published materials on the date shown, and the line’s booking terms govern.

Last reviewed November 1, 2026 · Seabound Journeys · Founder/advisor Joey Boleslawski · Florida Seller of Travel Ref. No. ST15578 · CLIA-affiliated