Le Commandant Charcot
North Pole · Weddell Sea · Ross SeaTwelve-night North Pole round trips, July to September 2027; the circumnavigation from January 11, 2028.
Expedition only.
Twelve ocean ships, from a 64-guest sailing yacht to the 245-guest Le Commandant Charcot. Several switch between expedition and port-to-port work through the year — so pick the voyage, then check the hull.
For the highest latitudes, there’s one choice: Le Commandant Charcot. It’s the PC2 icebreaker, and the only Ponant ship selling the Geographic North Pole, the Weddell Sea’s emperor penguins and the 2028 Ross Sea circumnavigation.
For the Antarctic Peninsula, Le Boréal and Le Lyrial are the steady pair. For the Kimberley, it’s Le Jacques Cartier or Le Soléal.
The six Explorers are the same ship six times. Choose by date and route, not by name — then confirm the voyage is an expedition, not a port run.
Tap a sort button. “Not stated” means the figure isn’t in a source we could verify, not that the ship lacks it.
Guest and cabin counts come from Ponant announcements reported by Cruise Industry News, Seatrade and TravelPulse. Service years for the four sisters, Le Champlain and Le Ponant come from the fleet record, not a trade report, so treat them as approximate.
We found no published length, tonnage or Zodiac count we could check against Ponant, so those figures aren’t here. Crew is published only for Charcot. Sort by years in service to see the age spread, by cabins to see where the gaps are, then ask us for the rest.
Try “Explorers” with “Expedition and port-to-port”. One ship answers, and it’s the one with the busiest calendar.
Twelve-night North Pole round trips, July to September 2027; the circumnavigation from January 11, 2028.
Expedition only.
Emblematic Antarctica and the Great Austral Loop, 2027–28 and 2028–29.
Expedition regions only, in our sources.
Emblematic Antarctica, the Great Austral Loop and Falklands, South Georgia and Valdés.
Expedition regions only, in our sources.
Antarctica in 2027–28 after a Chilean fjords voyage in October 2027.
Expedition regions only, in our sources.
Kimberley May to August 2027; Osaka to Tokyo and Busan in autumn 2027; Antarctica in 2028–29.
Expedition and port-to-port.
Nine French Polynesia expeditions in winter 2026–27, then a Japan charter and the Kimberley in 2027.
Expedition and port-to-port.
Smithsonian Journeys’ Madagascar and Seychelles and Cape of Good Hope voyages in 2026.
Voyage type not stated.
Smithsonian Journeys’ solar-eclipse voyage across the western Mediterranean in 2026.
Voyage type not stated.
No 2026–28 voyage in the trade reports we read.
Check its next season with us.
No 2026–28 voyage in the trade reports we read.
Check its next season with us.
No 2026–28 voyage in the trade reports we read.
Check its next season with us.
A three-masted sailing yacht from 1991, listed by a US agency on a Grenadines voyage from Guadeloupe in March 2027.
No polar voyages in our sources.
No ship matches that pair. Widen one filter.
“Expedition” here means Zodiac landings in a remote region: Antarctica, the Arctic, the Kimberley, the outer Polynesian archipelagos. “Port-to-port” means the ship docks or tenders into towns. Ponant doesn’t publish this split, so it rests on the voyages we logged; where a source doesn’t say, we don’t guess.
The same hull can do both in one year. Read the voyage name and the day-by-day before you treat a Ponant sailing as an expedition. Our Antarctica landing sites guide shows what a full expedition day looks like.
Ponant names its ships after French explorers, which makes the list look more varied than it is. In practice there are four designs.
Pick the family first. Then compare dates within it, because the Explorers are interchangeable on paper.
| Charcot spec | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Guests | 245 | Cruise Industry News, 2021 |
| Suites and staterooms | 123, all with a balcony or terrace | Cruise Industry News; TTG |
| Crew | 235, about 9.6 per 10 guests | Cruise Industry News; our arithmetic |
| Polar class | PC2 | Cruise Industry News, 2026 |
| Power | LNG dual-fuel, electric hybrid, batteries | Cruise Industry News, 2021 |
| Largest suite | Owner’s Suite, 115 m² with a 186 m² terrace | TTG |
| Length, tonnage, Zodiacs | Not stated | Not in a source we could verify |
Charcot carries almost one crew member per guest. That ratio, about 9.6 per 10, is our arithmetic on Cruise Industry News’ figures, not a Ponant claim.
Four split-level suites sit aft on decks six and seven, each about 94 m² with a terrace and a hot tub, per TTG. Every cabin has outdoor space.
The hull sells the voyage. The suites just make the Drake easier.
In every program we read, Charcot sails polar water only. For 2028 that means eight North Pole departures from June to September and the 62-day Antarctic circumnavigation from January 11. Read our Arctic guide before you choose between them.
Each move with the date it takes effect.
Le Lapérouse arrives in June 2018. Le Jacques Cartier, the sixth, follows in 2020, all from the same Ålesund yard.
VARD delivers Le Commandant Charcot, the PC2, LNG-hybrid flagship.
The company renames itself, groups Ponant, Paul Gauguin and Aqua Expeditions, and keeps the three-sail logo.
Le Jacques Cartier joins Paul Gauguin in French Polynesia for winter 2026–27. Spirit of Ponant II, a 10-guest catamaran, joins Ponant Yachting.
Hankyu Travel charters Le Jacques Cartier for three 12-night Japan voyages from Kobe and Yokohama, sold to international guests.
Charcot leaves Ushuaia on January 11 for a 62-day circumnavigation through the Ross Sea, bookable in two halves via Hobart.
No new ocean expedition ship appears in the trade press we read as of November 1, 2026. The growth is in brands and deployments, not hulls.
If your trip depends on one ship’s schedule, ask us to confirm it before the deposit.
Brand and ship counts from Cruise Critic’s 2025 rebrand report and Luxury Travel Advisor.
| Brand | Ships | What it sells | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ponant Explorations | 12 | Expeditions and port-to-port voyages | Every ship on this page. Cruise Critic’s 2025 count of 13 included Spirit of Ponant, now under Ponant Yachting |
| Paul Gauguin Cruises | 1 | French Polynesia and the South Pacific | Shares French Polynesia with Le Jacques Cartier in winter 2026–27 |
| Aqua Expeditions | 5 | Rivers and small ocean yachts | Aqua Mekong, Aria Amazon, Aqua Nera; Aqua Blu, Aqua Mare |
| Ponant Yachting | 3 by late 2026 | Private catamaran charters | Spirit of Ponant, La Désirade and Spirit of Ponant II; 9 to 12 guests; Spirit of Ponant II from €64,000 for a full charter |
These brands share an owner, not an inclusions list. Paul Gauguin and Aqua run their own fares and rules.
Compare their terms separately before you treat one as a Ponant voyage.
Our judgement, built on the published voyages. Use it to narrow to one family, not one ship.
The only PC2 ship on the list, and the only Ponant ship with a North Pole route.
Emblematic Antarctica, 12 days from Ushuaia, from $14,070 for 2027–28.
Fourteen ten-night departures, Broome to Darwin, May to August 2027.
Nine expeditions to the Marquesas, Gambier and Pitcairn in winter 2026–27.
No helicopter appears in the Ponant ship details we could verify. Compare Quark and Seabourn.
Ponant’s programs in our sources don’t include it. Start with our Galápagos guide and the visitor sites.
Twelve ocean ships sail under the Ponant name: the icebreaker Le Commandant Charcot, six Explorers (Le Lapérouse, Le Champlain, Le Bougainville, Le Dumont-d'Urville, Le Bellot, Le Jacques Cartier), four sisterships (Le Boréal, L'Austral, Le Soléal, Le Lyrial) and the sailing yacht Le Ponant. Cruise Critic's report on the March 2025 rebrand counted 13 by including the catamaran Spirit of Ponant, which Luxury Travel Advisor now places in the separate Ponant Yachting brand. The wider Ponant Explorations Group adds Paul Gauguin Cruises, Aqua Expeditions and Ponant Yachting.
Ponant doesn't publish a split, so this is our reading of its 2026 to 2028 programs. Charcot sails only polar and Arctic-winter voyages. Le Boréal, Le Lyrial and L'Austral appear in our sources only in Antarctica, South Georgia and the Chilean fjords. Le Soléal and Le Jacques Cartier mix expedition regions, like the Kimberley, with port-to-port voyages in Asia. For Le Bougainville, Le Dumont-d'Urville and the sailing yacht Le Ponant, our sources show voyages but don't say whether they run as expeditions; for Le Lapérouse, Le Champlain and Le Bellot we found no 2026 to 2028 voyage at all.
Its hull and its power. Charcot carries a PC2 polar class, which Cruise Industry News describes as unique among passenger ships, and runs on LNG with an electric hybrid system and high-capacity batteries. It takes 245 guests in 123 suites and staterooms with 235 crew, and it's the ship Ponant uses for the Geographic North Pole and its 62-day circumnavigation of Antarctica in 2028.
Four in each coming season. For 2027 to 2028, Luxury Travel Advisor lists Le Boréal, Le Lyrial, L'Austral and Le Commandant Charcot. For 2028 to 2029, Seatrade Cruise News lists Le Boréal, Le Lyrial, Le Soléal and Charcot, with three departures from Timaru, New Zealand, to the Ross Sea.
An underwater lounge on the Ponant Explorers ships. TravelPulse described it at Le Lapérouse's delivery in 2018: two porthole windows shaped like a whale's eye facing the seabed, underwater lighting and hydrophones on the keel that pipe in the sounds of the sea.
Not on the ocean expedition side, as far as the trade press we read shows on November 1, 2026. The changes are moves and new brands: Le Jacques Cartier joins Paul Gauguin in French Polynesia for winter 2026 to 2027, and the 10-guest catamaran Spirit of Ponant II joins Ponant Yachting in late 2026.
Send us the region, the month and how many are traveling. We’ll confirm which ship runs your date, whether it’s an expedition or a port run, and which cabins are left.
No fee, no obligation. You pay the cruise line’s own fare. A real advisor replies, usually within one business day.
Answers come straight from this guide.
Answers come from our guides and are general information. Confirm details with us before you book.
Ponant’s own website couldn’t be read for this check, so ship figures come from Ponant announcements as reported in the trade press above. Where reports differ (180 or 184 guests on the Explorers), we say so. We’ll confirm current inclusions and terms with Ponant for your voyage. The voyage-type split, the crew ratio, the ship families and the picks are our reading and judgement, not Ponant’s.
Expedition trips have more moving parts than a Caribbean week: a charter flight, a night in a gateway city, gear lists and an evacuation clause the line sets for you. We book them together and check that the dates and the fine print agree.
How we work. Seabound Journeys is an independent travel advisory. We aren’t affiliated with or endorsed by any cruise line on this page. When we book a voyage, the cruise line pays us a commission, at no extra cost to you; some links may be affiliate links, and they’re always labeled. None of that changes what we write. Fares, ships, itineraries and inclusions change often, so every figure here comes from the line’s own published materials on the date shown, and the line’s booking terms govern.
Last reviewed November 1, 2026 · Seabound Journeys · Founder/advisor Joey Boleslawski · Florida Seller of Travel Ref. No. ST15578 · CLIA-affiliated