Splurge Hotels · Honolulu

◆Splurge pick · Four Diamond, and the quiet one · Kahala Avenue, past Diamond Head

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

AAA Four Diamond east of Diamond Head, with no resort fee on direct bookings and a program for small dogs.

No shuttle statedCruise parking unconfirmedBreakfast not statedForbes Recommended
Booking.com rates

No payment on the form. We check rates for your night and reply within one business day.

AAA Four DiamondForbes Recommended · AAA list
The verdict

The quiet pick — Four Diamond, and the furthest from the ships of our seven bar Ko Olina. The Kahala is AAA Four Diamond and Forbes Recommended, east of Diamond Head rather than in Waikiki, with Hoku's, the Plumeria Beach House and a spa, and “No Resort Fees” on its direct-booking pages.

That calm costs miles. By our estimate Pier 2 is about 7.1 miles and 15 minutes away with no traffic, and the resort's own FAQ puts HNL 30 to 40 minutes off, about $45 by taxi.

It's the only one of our seven whose pages say it takes a dog: small dogs under 25 lb, through a $150 dog program.

Book it for the days before the cruise, and either move into town for the last night or order the morning car early.

Book it if

  • Several quiet days before the cruise
  • A small dog coming along
  • Anyone who wants Waikiki at arm's length

Look elsewhere if

  • You only have the one night — town is closer to the gangway.
  • You want to stay close to HNL.
  • You'd book through a third party; the no-fee line is for direct bookings.
What You Get

What The Kahala charges for, and what it leaves out

What The Kahala gives you and what it charges: green is on offer, gold costs extra or has a catch, grey isn't stated.

AAA ratingFour Diamond
Forbes Travel GuideRecommended
RestaurantHoku's; Plumeria Beach House
Bar or drinksNot stated
SpaSpa
BreakfastNot stated
KitchenNo
Resort feeNone, booking direct
Parking$60 a day; cruise parking not stated
Shuttle to the portNone
Distance to the port~7.1 mi to Pier 2, our estimate
Sail Morning

Your night before, from here

A Kahala night before the ship, from the resort's own FAQ and policies.

Evening
Check in and settle

Hoku's, Plumeria Beach House, The Veranda, Seaside Grill, Arancino and Kaffe Kahala, with a spa.

Before bed
Line up your ride

Book the morning car when you check in; it's a run through Waikiki and downtown, and the resort publishes no ride.

Sail morning
Breakfast, your call

Not stated.

Heading out
To the terminal

About 7.1 miles to Pier 2 by our no-traffic estimate — leave margin for Waikiki. Your cruise documents name the pier.

While you sail
Your car

$60 a day, valet or self; nothing on parking through a cruise.

To the Ship

Getting here, and on to the ship

Downtown Kakaako Ala Moana Waikiki Diamond Head 20 19 18 17 16 15 14 13 12 11 10 9 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 Pier 2 Cruise Terminal · 521 Ala Moana Blvd, the primary terminalP2 Pier 11 Cruise Terminal · Aloha Tower, the alternate terminalP11 ★ 2 km · 1.2 mi N
This hotelTop-20 hotels, tap one to open itCruise terminalStraight line to the ship, not a routeReal geography: NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline, generalised, so piers and quays aren’t drawn. Pins from the hotel’s own map data and the US Census Bureau’s address geocoder; address-geocoded pins can sit up to a block off.

Pick your starting point. A solid line is a ride The Kahala publishes; question marks are yours to arrange — which, from here, is both legs.

?? 13 mi ~7.1 mi, our estimate HNLSplurgeThe ship
Leg 1 · Daniel K. Inouye International to the hotel
Not stated

The FAQ lists no shuttle and puts a taxi to HNL at about $45 one way, about 13 miles and 30 to 40 minutes.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No shuttle stated

The resort publishes no ride to the ship, so plan a cab or rideshare through Waikiki and downtown to Pier 2 — the FAQ's only taxi figure, about $45, is for the airport.

About 7.1 mi to Pier 2 — our road estimate, no traffic.

From HNL without a hotel shuttle

No shuttle from HNL; the resort's FAQ puts a taxi at about $45 one way for the 13 miles. For buses and transfers, see the airport page.

?? your drive ~7.1 mi, our estimate Your carSplurgeThe ship
Leg 1 · Drive in and park
Cruise parking unconfirmed

“Valet or self-parking is available for $60.00 per day,” says the FAQ. It doesn't cover leaving a car while you cruise.

Parking for your stay: Valet or self-parking $60 a day.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No shuttle stated

The resort publishes no ride to the ship, so plan a cab or rideshare through Waikiki and downtown to Pier 2 — the FAQ's only taxi figure, about $45, is for the airport.

About 7.1 mi to Pier 2 — our road estimate, no traffic.

Flying in on sail day? Check your landing time first.

Distance

No distance stated

The resort doesn't give a cruise distance. Its FAQ puts Waikiki 10 to 15 minutes by car and HNL about 13 miles; our road estimate to Pier 2 is about 7.1 miles, roughly 15 minutes with no traffic.

Source: kahalaresort.com

Cruise shuttle

No shuttle stated

The resort publishes no ride to the ship, so plan a cab or rideshare through Waikiki and downtown to Pier 2 — the FAQ's only taxi figure, about $45, is for the airport.

Source: kahalaresort.com
Parking

Parking while you sail

At the hotel

Cruise parking unconfirmed

“Valet or self-parking is available for $60.00 per day,” says the FAQ. It doesn't cover leaving a car while you cruise.

Source: kahalaresort.com

Parking for the cruise

No cruise parking at the piers

From Kahala, driving to the ship means a car you can't leave at the piers. Our parking guide has the downtown garage that takes cars overnight, and the case for a cab instead.

Source: ncl.com

Out here a car earns its keep: Honolulu cruise rental cars lays out where to pick one up, and renting after the cruise covers the drive back. Our Hawaii cruise guide covers the sailing.

The Evening

The night you’re paying for

The evening

Food or drinks on site

Hoku's, Plumeria Beach House, The Veranda, Seaside Grill, Arancino and Kaffe Kahala, with a spa.

Breakfast

Not stated

Not stated.

Address

Kahala Avenue, past Diamond Head

5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816
Hotel website

Ratings

AAA Four Diamond

AAA rates The Kahala Four Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide gives it Recommended.

Source: newsroom.aaa.com
Fact Sheet

The fine print, in one place

The Kahala's times, fees and policies, from its FAQ and policy pages. Where it's blank, the resort doesn't say.

Check-in and check-out

Check-inAfter 3:00 PM
Check-out12:00 PM

Minimum age

18+

To check in, per the hotel.

Resort fee

None on direct bookings: "No Resort Fees"

Wi-Fi

Not stated

Parking for your stay

Valet or self-parking $60 a day

For the cruise itself, see Parking.

Breakfast

Not stated

Pool

The pool isn't on the pages we read — ask the resort if a swim matters.

Pets

Small dogs under 25 lb, through a $150 dog program.

Food and drink on site

  • Hoku'sRestaurant
  • Plumeria Beach HouseRestaurant
  • The VerandaLounge
  • Seaside GrillGrill
  • ArancinoItalian
  • Kaffe KahalaCoffee

Rooms

The Kahala's FAQ and policy pages don't list room types — a question for the reservations desk.

Accessibility

The Kahala's pages we read don't describe accessible rooms; ask the resort directly.

On site

  • EV chargingNot stated
  • Guest laundryNot stated
  • Fitness centerNot stated
  • Pets allowedYes

Nearby, by the hotel’s count

  • Waikiki10 to 15 minutes by car

The Kahala’s own figures, plus our Pier 2 road estimate. Bars are square-root scaled.

Also worth knowing

  • Bell staff hold luggage before check-in
  • Small dogs under 25 lb, $150 dog program
  • Room taxes total 18.712%, per the resort
  • AAA Four Diamond; Forbes Recommended
Worth Knowing

Before you book

Worth knowing

  • Check-in after 3 PM, check-out noon. Guests must be 18 and older to book.
  • "No Resort Fees", on the resort's direct-booking pages.
  • Valet or self-parking $60 a day.
  • Hawaii's taxes on rooms total 18.712%, per the resort: 11% state TAT, 4.712% GET and 3% Oahu TAT.
  • A taxi to HNL is about $45 one way, about 13 miles, 30 to 40 minutes, per the FAQ.
  • AAA Four Diamond on AAA's 2026 list; Forbes Recommended on its Oahu page.

What we couldn’t confirm

  • Breakfast
  • The pool, on the pages we read
  • The drive to the terminal
  • Whether you can park while you cruise

The Kahala's terms as its FAQ and policies read on October 2, 2026. The no-resort-fee line applies to direct bookings.

Other Splurges

The other splurges near the ship

Ready when you are

Quiet days first, then the ship.

Tell us your sail date and how many nights you want before it, and we'll check The Kahala and the ride in. No payment on the form.

Booking.com rates
FAQ

The Kahala FAQ

Does The Kahala charge a resort fee?

Not when you book direct: its direct-booking pages say “No Resort Fees.” Room taxes total 18.712%, per the resort — 11% state TAT, 4.712% GET and 3% Oahu TAT.

Is The Kahala dog-friendly?

For small dogs: under 25 lb, through a $150 dog program, per the resort.

How far is The Kahala from the airport?

About 13 miles, 30 to 40 minutes, per its FAQ, which puts a taxi at about $45 one way. No hotel shuttle is listed.

How far is The Kahala from the Honolulu cruise port?

About 7.1 miles to Pier 2 by our estimate, around 15 minutes with no traffic — through Waikiki, which the resort puts 10 to 15 minutes away.

Can I leave my bags at The Kahala before check-in?

Yes — check-in is after 3 PM, and if you arrive early the bell staff hold your luggage and deliver it to the room when it's ready.

Booking the cruise too?

Sailing from Honolulu? Send your dates and we'll pair The Kahala with the cruise and the ride to the pier. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

The KahalaSplurge pick · night before your cruise
Booking.com rates