Splurge Hotels · Honolulu

The Nicest Night Before the Ship

Honolulu splits the choice. The ships berth downtown and the best-rated rooms are in Waikiki and beyond — and since not one of the seven says how far the piers are, we worked it out: about 2.4 to 4 miles from Waikiki, by our no-traffic road estimate. Below, what each one adds in fees and what it leaves you to arrange on sail morning.

1AAA Five Diamond on Oahu
5AAA Four Diamonds in our seven
1of the seven in our top 20
Pick Yours

What kind of splurge is it?

We looked for the nicest places to stay before a cruise from Honolulu. One of the seven also makes our top 20: the Prince Waikiki, by the Ala Wai Harbor. Halekulani, ESPACIO, the Royal Hawaiian and the Moana Surfrider are in Waikiki, a cab from the ship; The Kahala is past Diamond Head and the Four Seasons out at Ko Olina. Choose the kind of night below and the matching hotel lights up.

Six of the seven are on AAA’s 2026 lists: ESPACIO is Oahu’s only Five Diamond, and five are Four Diamond. The Moana Surfrider isn’t on either list, and we say so rather than stretch.

The Seven

Seven splurges, and what each one costs you

AAA Four DiamondForbes Four-Star · AAA list
~2.9 mi to Pier 2, our estimate

Halekulani

No resort fee, a shower suite for red-eye arrivals, and about 2.9 miles to Pier 2 by our no-traffic estimate — second only to the Prince Waikiki among our seven.

You’re paying for

  • La Mer; Orchids; House Without A Key
  • SpaHalekulani
  • Lewers Lounge

The catch

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Five DiamondForbes Five-Star · AAA list
~4 mi to Pier 2, our estimate

ESPACIO The Jewel of Waikiki

Nine suites, each a whole floor, with the airport run, valet and — per its press release — dining included. About 4 miles to Pier 2 by our estimate; whether the house car goes there is the question to ask.

You’re paying for

  • Mugen
  • Spa; rooftop infinity pool
  • In-suite dining
  • Chef's kitchen in every suite

The catch

  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
~2.4 mi to Pier 2, our estimate

Prince Waikiki

The closest of our seven to the ships: about 2.4 miles to Pier 2 by our no-traffic estimate, from the Ala Wai Harbor end of Waikiki. It's also in our top 20, so its full page is the ranked one.

You’re paying for

  • 100 Sails; Katsumidori Sushi Tokyo
  • Naio Bliss; infinity pool
  • Hinana Bar

The catch

  • Breakfast not stated
  • A $45 nightly resort charge, plus tax
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
~3.9 mi to Pier 2, our estimate

The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

The evening is the point: the Mai Tai Bar, Azure and the 'Aha'aina Luau. The cost is in the extras — a $52 resort fee plus tax — and Pier 2 is about 3.9 miles off by our estimate.

You’re paying for

  • Azure; Surf Lanai
  • Abhasa Spa
  • Mai Tai Bar

The catch

  • Breakfast not stated
  • A $52 nightly resort fee, plus tax
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
Not on AAA’s Diamond listsNo Forbes rating · AAA list
~3.8 mi to Pier 2, our estimate

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

Afternoon Tea, the Banyan Tree pool and what Marriott calls Waikiki Beach's only oceanfront spa. No AAA Diamond, valet only at $65, and about 3.8 miles to Pier 2 by our estimate.

You’re paying for

  • Beachhouse at The Moana; The Veranda
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • The Beach Bar

The catch

  • Breakfast not stated
  • A $54 nightly resort fee, plus tax
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondForbes Recommended · AAA list
~7.1 mi to Pier 2, our estimate

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Four Diamond and quiet, with no resort fee booking direct and room for a small dog. The trade is distance: about 7.1 miles to Pier 2 by our estimate, through Waikiki.

You’re paying for

  • Hoku's; Plumeria Beach House
  • Spa
  • Not stated

The catch

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondForbes Four-Star · AAA list
~24 mi to Pier 2, our estimate

Four Seasons Resort Oahu at Ko Olina

An adults-only pool, the 35,000-sq-ft Naupaka Spa and an arrival lounge for bags. Our estimate puts Pier 2 about 24 miles off — a resort for the days around the cruise.

You’re paying for

  • Mina's Fish House; Noe
  • Naupaka Spa & Wellness
  • Hokulea

The catch

  • Breakfast not stated
  • Resort fee: Not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
On the Map

Where the seven sit

Tap a pin for the hotel’s card, then open the review. The numbers follow the list above.

Mamala Bay Diamond Head Pearl Harbor Honolulu Harbor2 cruise terminals 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 10 km · 6.2 mi N
Splurge pick, numbered as belowCruise terminalReal geography: NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline, generalised, so piers and quays aren’t drawn. Pins from the hotel’s own map data and the US Census Bureau’s address geocoder; address-geocoded pins can sit up to a block off.
Side by Side

The seven, side by side

Point at a hotel’s name and its column lights up — green means it’s there, gold that it costs extra or comes with a catch, grey that nobody says.

FeatureHalekulaniESPACIOPrince WaikikiThe Royal HawaiianMoana SurfriderThe KahalaFour Seasons Ko Olina
AAA ratingFour DiamondFive DiamondFour DiamondFour Diamond—Four DiamondFour Diamond
Forbes Travel GuideFour-StarFive-Star; Mugen Five-Star———RecommendedFour-Star
RestaurantLa Mer; Orchids; House Without A KeyMugen100 Sails; Katsumidori Sushi TokyoAzure; Surf LanaiBeachhouse at The Moana; The VerandaHoku's; Plumeria Beach HouseMina's Fish House; Noe
Bar or drinksLewers LoungeIn-suite diningHinana BarMai Tai BarThe Beach BarNot statedHokulea
SpaSpaHalekulaniSpa; rooftop infinity poolNaio Bliss; infinity poolAbhasa SpaMoana Lani SpaSpaNaupaka Spa & Wellness
BreakfastNot statedComplimentary diningNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Kitchen—Chef's kitchen in every suite—————
Resort feeNone, per the hotelNone, per the hotel$45 a night, plus tax$52 a night, plus tax$54 a night, plus taxNone, booking directNot stated
Parking$68 a night; cruise parking not statedComplimentary valet; cruise parking not stated$45 self; $50 valet; cruise parking not stated$55 self; $65 valet; cruise parking not stated$65 valet; cruise parking not stated$60 a day; cruise parking not stated$55 valet a night; cruise parking not stated
Shuttle to the port———————
Distance to the port~2.9 mi to Pier 2, our estimate~4 mi to Pier 2, our estimate~2.4 mi to Pier 2, our estimate~3.9 mi to Pier 2, our estimate~3.8 mi to Pier 2, our estimate~7.1 mi to Pier 2, our estimate~24 mi to Pier 2, our estimate
The Trade

Splurge the night, and plan the morning

None of the seven runs a shuttle to the ship, and none prints a distance to the piers — so the numbers here are ours, road routes with no traffic. The Prince Waikiki is closest at about 2.4 miles to Pier 2, then Halekulani at 2.9; the Moana Surfrider, the Royal Hawaiian and ESPACIO run 3.8 to 4 miles along Kalakaua Avenue. The Kahala is about 7.1 miles out and Ko Olina about 24, a drive of its own.

Breakfast isn’t stated as included anywhere but ESPACIO, whose press release promises complimentary dining throughout the stay — a line in a release, not a rate condition, so confirm it.

Fees add up: the Royal Hawaiian charges $52 a night and the Moana Surfrider $54, plus tax, and the Prince Waikiki $45; parking runs from ESPACIO’s complimentary valet to Halekulani’s $68. Halekulani and ESPACIO charge no resort fee. None of the seven says you can leave the car while you cruise.

Which ship, which pier and which islands are in our Hawaii cruise guide — the hotel is the easy part once you know your sail day.

Airport taxis
Need a ride from the airport?

Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.

Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.

Also Considered

Seven that didn’t make the seven

HotelWhy it isn’t in the seven
Halepuna Waikiki by HalekulaniAAA Four Diamond and Halekulani's sister hotel, with no resort fee and the same hospitality-suite policy, an 8th-floor pool and $60 parking; not Forbes-rated.
The Ritz-Carlton Residences, Waikiki BeachAAA Four Diamond and Forbes Four-Star, with residential suites and $60 valet; Roberts Hawaii runs to HNL at $16 one way.
Renaissance Honolulu Hotel & SpaAAA Four Diamond on Kapiolani Boulevard, by Ala Moana, with a 25-meter lap pool and the Nami Spa. It's No. 5 in our top 20.
'Alohilani Resort Waikiki BeachMorimoto Asia and Spa U'ilani, but not on AAA's 2026 lists, with a $54 amenity fee plus tax. It's No. 14 in our top 20.
Hyatt Centric Waikiki BeachAAA Four Diamond, but a hot tub rather than a pool and a $48 daily fee; upscale rather than a splurge.
Ka La'i Waikiki Beach, LXR Hotels & ResortsListed by Forbes as soon to be rated. We haven't checked its cruise details.
Aulani, A Disney Resort & SpaAAA Four Diamond at Ko Olina, but a family vacation resort whose pages publish no parking rates, and too far for the night before.
A day out before you sail? Pearl Harbor is about 8 miles from Pier 2 and Diamond Head about 6.5, by our estimate, and both want a reservation of some kind. Pearl Harbor, Diamond Head and the North Shore · Honolulu rental cars
Names You’ll Hear

Old names, and what they’re called now

Renamed
Turtle Bay Resort
Now The Ritz-Carlton O'ahu, Turtle Bay, on the North Shore, AAA Four Diamond. It's 37.5 miles from HNL, too far for the night before a cruise.
Renamed
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Now the OUTRIGGER Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel; the old address forwards to Outrigger. It's in our top 20 under that name.
Sources: outrigger.com
Now Four Seasons
JW Marriott Ihilani
Booking.com still files the Four Seasons Resort Oahu at Ko Olina under an old JW Marriott Ihilani link; the resort itself is Four Seasons.
FAQ

Splurge hotels FAQ

What is the nicest hotel near the Honolulu cruise terminal?

Near is relative here — none of the luxury hotels we checked is downtown, where the ships berth. By our no-traffic road estimate the Prince Waikiki, AAA Four Diamond by the Ala Wai Harbor, is closest at about 2.4 miles to Pier 2, and it's No. 13 in our top 20. Halekulani, about 2.9 miles out on Kalia Road, is our honest pick: AAA Four Diamond, Forbes Four-Star and no resort fees.

Is there a Five Diamond hotel in Honolulu?

One: ESPACIO The Jewel of Waikiki, the only AAA Five Diamond on Oahu for 2026, and Forbes Five-Star. It has nine full-floor suites, includes round-trip airport transportation, and charges no resort fees.

Do luxury hotels in Honolulu have a cruise shuttle?

None of our seven publishes one. ESPACIO's Mercedes house car runs within central Honolulu, without saying whether that includes the pier, so ask. The Royal Hawaiian and the Moana Surfrider sell airport shuttles at $20 one way.

Can I park at a Honolulu luxury hotel for the length of my cruise?

None of the seven says you can — every rate we found is for guests. Parking runs from complimentary valet at ESPACIO to $68 a night at Halekulani. There's no cruise parking at the piers, and the Aloha Tower Marketplace lot doesn't allow overnight parking.

Do Waikiki's luxury hotels charge resort fees?

Some do: the Royal Hawaiian $52 a night and the Moana Surfrider $54, plus tax, and the Prince Waikiki $45. Halekulani and ESPACIO say they charge none, and The Kahala says so on its direct-booking pages.

Want us to book the splurge?

Say which of the seven appeals and when you sail. We'll price the room and sort out the cab to the pier. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Compare 0 of 3