Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The spa pick, and the one splurge here without a Diamond. The Moana Surfrider has a beachfront pool under the Banyan Tree, Afternoon Tea on The Veranda and the Moana Lani Spa, which Marriott calls “Waikiki Beach's only oceanfront spa.”
It isn't on AAA's 2026 Four or Five Diamond lists or Forbes's Oahu page, and we'd rather say so than dress it up — you book it for the setting, not a rating.
Valet is $65 a day, first come, first served, and Marriott lists no self-parking, so arriving by car is the weak spot. The $54 resort fee, plus tax, covers Wi-Fi, yoga and cultural activities.
Book a treatment for the afternoon you land and tea on The Veranda after; Pier 2 is about 3.8 miles and 10 minutes away by our no-traffic estimate.
Book it if
- A spa afternoon before the ship
- Afternoon Tea on The Veranda
- A beachfront pool under the Banyan Tree
Look elsewhere if
- A AAA or Forbes rating matters to you.
- You're driving in — valet is first come, first served.
- You travel with a pet.
What Moana Surfrider charges for, and what it leaves out
What the setting costs you: green is on offer, gold has a fee or a catch, grey isn't stated.
Your night before, from here
Spa, tea and the morning after — only what Marriott publishes for the Moana.
A beachfront pool "set beneath the majestic Banyan Tree", the Beachhouse at The Moana, The Beach Bar, Afternoon Tea at The Veranda, Vintage 1901 and the Moana Lani Spa, which Marriott calls "Waikiki Beach's only oceanfront spa".
Line up a cab or rideshare for Pier 2; the shuttle Marriott lists only runs to the airport.
Not stated.
About 3.8 miles to Pier 2 by our estimate, no traffic. Your boarding pass says Pier 2 or Pier 11.
$65 valet, first come, first served; nothing about a car through the cruise.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Where are you starting? A solid line is a ride Marriott lists; a question mark is yours to book — the pier run, here.
An airport shuttle at $20 one way through Hawaii Island Transport Services, reservation required; Marriott puts HNL about 9.0 miles away.
Hawaii Island Transport Services
The $20 shuttle Marriott lists runs to the airport, through Hawaii Island Transport Services, not to the ship — for the pier, it's a cab or rideshare.
About 3.8 mi to Pier 2 — our road estimate, no traffic.
Valet only, as far as Marriott says: $65 a day, first come, first served — and no word on a car staying put while the ship is out.
Parking for your stay: Valet $65 a day, first come, first served.
The $20 shuttle Marriott lists runs to the airport, through Hawaii Island Transport Services, not to the ship — for the pier, it's a cab or rideshare.
About 3.8 mi to Pier 2 — our road estimate, no traffic.
Flying in on sail day? Check your landing time first.
Distance
No distance statedMarriott doesn't mention cruises and puts HNL about 9.0 miles from the resort. Our road estimate to Pier 2 is about 3.8 miles, 10 minutes with no traffic.
Source: marriott.comCruise shuttle
No shuttle statedThe $20 shuttle Marriott lists runs to the airport, through Hawaii Island Transport Services, not to the ship — for the pier, it's a cab or rideshare.
Source: marriott.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedValet only, as far as Marriott says: $65 a day, first come, first served — and no word on a car staying put while the ship is out.
Source: marriott.comParking for the cruise
No cruise parking at the piersWith valet first come, first served here and no cruise parking at the piers, driving is the hard way in. Our parking guide lays out the one overnight garage downtown.
Source: ncl.comThere’s no self-parking here, so if you want a car for a day, rent in Waikiki for the day and time the return to the desk’s hours. Pride of America and the islands are in our Hawaii cruise guide.
The night you’re paying for
The evening
Pool · Food or drinks on siteA beachfront pool "set beneath the majestic Banyan Tree", the Beachhouse at The Moana, The Beach Bar, Afternoon Tea at The Veranda, Vintage 1901 and the Moana Lani Spa, which Marriott calls "Waikiki Beach's only oceanfront spa".
Breakfast
Not statedNot stated.
Address
Kalakaua Avenue, central Waikiki2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel website
Ratings
Not ratedIt isn't on AAA's 2026 Four or Five Diamond lists, and Forbes Travel Guide's Oahu page doesn't rate it.
Source: marriott.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, fees and policies from Marriott's pages for the Moana. Blank means they don't say.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
$54 a night, plus tax: cultural activities, yoga, Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi
In the resort fee
Parking for your stay
Valet $65 a day, first come, first served
For the cruise itself, see Parking.
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
Beachfront pool beneath the Banyan Tree
Pets
Pets aren't allowed.
Food and drink on site
- Beachhouse at The MoanaRestaurant
- The Beach BarBar
- The VerandaAfternoon Tea
- Surfrider CafeCafé
- Vintage 1901Wine bar
- Honolulu CoffeeCoffee
Rooms
We didn't find the Moana's room types on Marriott's pages; if the view matters, ask when you book.
Accessibility
Moana Surfrider’s pages we read say nothing on accessible rooms — ask before you book.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerNot stated
- Pets allowedNo
Also worth knowing
- Moana Lani Spa, "Waikiki Beach's only oceanfront spa", per Marriott
- Not on AAA’s 2026 Four or Five Diamond lists
- Pets not allowed
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 3 PM, check-out 11 AM. Minimum check-in age 18.
- A resort fee of $54 a night, plus tax: cultural activities, yoga and Wi-Fi.
- Valet $65 a day, first come, first served.
- Airport shuttle $20 one way through Hawaii Island Transport Services, reservation required.
- Not on AAA's 2026 Four or Five Diamond lists or Forbes's Oahu page as we read them.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Breakfast
- The distance to the terminal
- Whether you can park while you cruise
The Moana's fees and policies as Marriott showed them on October 2, 2026. The resort fee and valet rate are the moving parts.
The other splurges near the ship
Tea on The Veranda, the ship in the morning.
Tell us your sail date and we'll check the Moana Surfrider for the night before — and the spa, if you want it. No payment on the form.
Moana Surfrider FAQ
Is the Moana Surfrider AAA rated?
Not on AAA's 2026 Four or Five Diamond lists, and Forbes's Oahu page doesn't rate it. Its pull is the setting: the Banyan Tree pool and the Moana Lani Spa.
Does the Moana Surfrider have self-parking?
Marriott lists valet only, at $65 a day on a first-come, first-served basis.
What does the Moana Surfrider resort fee include?
$54 a night, plus tax, per Marriott: cultural activities, yoga and Wi-Fi, charged per night, not per stay.
How do I get from HNL to the Moana Surfrider?
Marriott lists a $20 one-way shuttle through Hawaii Island Transport Services, reservation required, and puts the airport about 9.0 miles away.
How far is the Moana Surfrider from the cruise terminal?
About 3.8 miles to Pier 2 by our estimate, roughly 10 minutes without traffic; Marriott gives no cruise distance.
Booking the cruise too?
Sailing from Honolulu? Send your dates and we'll pair Moana Surfrider with the cruise and the ride to the pier. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
