Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The Cape Liberty splurge — rated, not organized. The Westin Jersey City Newport is AAA Four Diamond, on AAA's list since 2010, and Marriott's page for it calls Cape Liberty "a popular port of choice for many cruise travelers in the New York or New Jersey area".
New Jersey has no AAA Five Diamond hotel, so Four Diamond is as high as it goes on this side of the river.
That one line is all you get — no distance, no shuttle and no park-and-cruise rate. The garage is $35 for 24 hours and valet $57 a day, hotel rates, not cruise rates.
There's an indoor pool, Fire & Oak on the waterfront, and dogs are welcome at $50 a night. You must be 21 to check in.
The port won't let you arrive on foot, per Celebrity — book a cab or rideshare to Bayonne for the morning.
Book it if
- Royal Caribbean and Celebrity sailors out of Cape Liberty
- Swimmers
- Dog owners, two dogs up to 40 lb
Look elsewhere if
- You're under 21.
- You want a ride to the ship.
- You want breakfast included.
What you’re paying for, and what you’re not
A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Westin Jersey City Newport publishes.
Fire & Oak serves indoor and outdoor waterfront dining from 11:30 AM to 10 PM, the Half Moon Lounge pours cocktails Monday to Saturday, and in-room dining runs 7:30 AM to 10 PM. There's a complimentary indoor pool and the WestinWORKOUT studio on the 5th floor, over the pool.
Marriott names Cape Liberty but mentions no shuttle to it, and lists no airport shuttle either. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
Not stated as included. Half Moon Restaurant offers "daily sit-down breakfast service", per Marriott.
Marriott's page for the hotel names Cape Liberty but gives no distance or drive time. The hotel is at 479 Washington Boulevard in Jersey City, with the PATH's Newport station steps away, per Marriott. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Self-parking is at the SP+ Newport South Garage, $9 up to 2 hours, $20 up to 4, $30 up to 10 and $35 for 24, and valet is $57 a day. The "onsite parking" in Marriott's Cape Liberty line is the port's, not the hotel's. Nothing about leaving the car at the hotel while you cruise.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.
Marriott lists no airport shuttle. It puts JFK 23.0 miles away.
Marriott names Cape Liberty but mentions no shuttle to it, and lists no airport shuttle either. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
Marriott's page for the hotel names Cape Liberty but gives no distance or drive time. The hotel is at 479 Washington Boulevard in Jersey City, with the PATH's Newport station steps away, per Marriott. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
From JFK without a hotel shuttle
The TLC's flat taxi fare from JFK to Manhattan is $70 plus surcharges, tolls and tip; to Red Hook it runs on the meter. AirTrain is $8.75 to the subway or the LIRR at Jamaica. Carnival's transfer to Pier 88 is from $44.99 a person if you land by noon.
Marriott lists no airport shuttle. It puts LaGuardia 14.0 miles away.
Marriott names Cape Liberty but mentions no shuttle to it, and lists no airport shuttle either. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
Marriott's page for the hotel names Cape Liberty but gives no distance or drive time. The hotel is at 479 Washington Boulevard in Jersey City, with the PATH's Newport station steps away, per Marriott. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
From LGA without a hotel shuttle
A taxi from LaGuardia runs on the meter plus a $5 surcharge. The Q70 LaGuardia Link bus is free to the subway. Carnival's transfer to Pier 88 is from $44.99 a person if you land by noon, and Cunard puts LaGuardia about 20 minutes from Brooklyn.
Marriott lists no airport shuttle. It puts Newark 11.0 miles away.
Marriott names Cape Liberty but mentions no shuttle to it, and lists no airport shuttle either. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
Marriott's page for the hotel names Cape Liberty but gives no distance or drive time. The hotel is at 479 Washington Boulevard in Jersey City, with the PATH's Newport station steps away, per Marriott. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
From EWR without a hotel shuttle
A New York taxi from Newark runs on the meter plus a $20 surcharge and tolls. NJ Transit to Penn Station is $17.25, AirTrain included. For Cape Liberty it's a cab or car service: the port won't let you arrive on foot, per Celebrity, and Royal Caribbean puts Newark 9 miles away.
Self-parking is at the SP+ Newport South Garage, $9 up to 2 hours, $20 up to 4, $30 up to 10 and $35 for 24, and valet is $57 a day. The "onsite parking" in Marriott's Cape Liberty line is the port's, not the hotel's. Nothing about leaving the car at the hotel while you cruise.
Parking for your stay: SP+ Newport South Garage: $9 up to 2 hours, $20 up to 4, $30 up to 10, $35 for 24; valet $57 a day.
Marriott names Cape Liberty but mentions no shuttle to it, and lists no airport shuttle either. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
Marriott's page for the hotel names Cape Liberty but gives no distance or drive time. The hotel is at 479 Washington Boulevard in Jersey City, with the PATH's Newport station steps away, per Marriott. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Distance
No distance statedMarriott's page for the hotel names Cape Liberty but gives no distance or drive time. The hotel is at 479 Washington Boulevard in Jersey City, with the PATH's Newport station steps away, per Marriott. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
Source: marriott.comCruise shuttle
No shuttle statedMarriott names Cape Liberty but mentions no shuttle to it, and lists no airport shuttle either. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
Source: marriott.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedSelf-parking is at the SP+ Newport South Garage, $9 up to 2 hours, $20 up to 4, $30 up to 10 and $35 for 24, and valet is $57 a day. The "onsite parking" in Marriott's Cape Liberty line is the port's, not the hotel's. Nothing about leaving the car at the hotel while you cruise.
Source: marriott.comThe port’s own lots
$45 a night · $35 a dayIf the hotel won’t hold your car, park at the port on sail morning.
Manhattan and Brooklyn: both terminals’ own lots are $45 a night, taxes included, per Cruise NYC, which still dates that rate to April 1, 2023. Manhattan takes cards only, with an 8′3″ height limit; Brooklyn takes cash or cards, and big vehicles park on the main level.
Cape Liberty: $35 a day, taxes included, per Royal Caribbean; Celebrity’s FAQ says $30. No reservation is needed. The garage’s height limit is 7′4″, with an open lot beside it for taller vehicles, and oversized vehicles pay double. Compare every parking option.
Source: cruise.nycThe night you’re paying for
The evening
Pool · Food or drinks on siteFire & Oak serves indoor and outdoor waterfront dining from 11:30 AM to 10 PM, the Half Moon Lounge pours cocktails Monday to Saturday, and in-room dining runs 7:30 AM to 10 PM. There's a complimentary indoor pool and the WestinWORKOUT studio on the 5th floor, over the pool.
Breakfast
Not statedNot stated as included. Half Moon Restaurant offers "daily sit-down breakfast service", per Marriott.
Address
Washington Boulevard, Newport, Jersey City479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Hotel website
Ratings
AAA Four DiamondAAA rates it Four Diamond. Forbes Travel Guide's New York page doesn't rate it. AAA’s list is for 2026.
Source: newsroom.aaa.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Westin Jersey City Newport publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated on the overview page
Wi-Fi
Complimentary for Marriott Bonvoy members who book direct
Parking for your stay
SP+ Newport South Garage: $9 up to 2 hours, $20 up to 4, $30 up to 10, $35 for 24; valet $57 a day
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Not stated as included; daily sit-down breakfast at Half Moon Restaurant
Pool
Indoor pool, complimentary, with a lift and sloped entry
Pets
Up to two dogs, 40 lb each, $50 a night, non-refundable; no cats.
Food and drink on site
- Fire & OakIndoor and outdoor waterfront dining, 11:30 AM–10 PM daily
- Half Moon RestaurantBreakfast
- Half Moon LoungeHandcrafted cocktails, Monday to Saturday
- In-room dining7:30 AM–10 PM daily
- Grab & Go MarketPastries, snacks and drinks
Rooms
Includes Newport King corner rooms with Manhattan views and a soaking tub.
Accessibility
Mobility-accessible rooms, roll-in showers and accessible pool entry.
On site
- EV chargingNo
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- PATH Newport stationsteps away, per Marriott
- Downtown New York"seven-minute Path train ride"
- Liberty State Parkferries to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty
- Cape Liberty Cruise Portnamed by Marriott, no distance given
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- AAA Four Diamond since 2010
- Up to two dogs, 40 lb each; $50 a night, non-refundable; no cats
- WestinWORKOUT Fitness Studio, 5th floor, with pool views
- Valet laundry and same-day dry cleaning
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 3 PM, check-out noon. Minimum check-in age 21.
- Wi-Fi complimentary for Marriott Bonvoy members who book direct.
- No airport shuttle: Marriott puts Newark 11.0 miles away, LaGuardia 14.0 and JFK 23.0.
- PATH's Newport station is steps away; Marriott calls downtown New York a "seven-minute Path train ride".
- Royal Caribbean's rail directions to Cape Liberty: the PATH to Jersey City or Hoboken, the Hudson-Bergen Light Rail to 34th Street in Bayonne, then a cab for the last two miles or so.
- Mobility-accessible rooms, roll-in showers and accessible pool entry. No EV charging.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The distance to Cape Liberty
- Whether you can leave a car while you cruise
- Breakfast
- Any resort or amenity fee
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 27, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
The other splurges near the port
Wake up by Newark Airport, a cab ride from Cape Liberty.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Westin Jersey City Newport for the night before. No payment on the form.
Westin Jersey City Newport FAQ
Is Westin Jersey City Newport a luxury hotel?
AAA rates it Four Diamond. Forbes Travel Guide's New York page doesn't rate it.
Does Westin Jersey City Newport have a cruise shuttle?
No. Marriott names Cape Liberty but mentions no shuttle to it, and lists no airport shuttle either. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
Does Westin Jersey City Newport have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From John F. Kennedy International: Marriott lists no airport shuttle. It puts JFK 23.0 miles away. From LaGuardia: Marriott lists no airport shuttle. It puts LaGuardia 14.0 miles away. From Newark Liberty International: Marriott lists no airport shuttle. It puts Newark 11.0 miles away.
Can I park at Westin Jersey City Newport while I cruise?
It doesn't say. Self-parking is at the SP+ Newport South Garage, $9 up to 2 hours, $20 up to 4, $30 up to 10 and $35 for 24, and valet is $57 a day. The "onsite parking" in Marriott's Cape Liberty line is the port's, not the hotel's. Nothing about leaving the car at the hotel while you cruise.
How far is Westin Jersey City Newport from the cruise terminals?
Marriott's page for the hotel names Cape Liberty but gives no distance or drive time. The hotel is at 479 Washington Boulevard in Jersey City, with the PATH's Newport station steps away, per Marriott. Cape Liberty can't be reached on foot: "the Port Authority prohibits any guests to arrive at the port on foot," per Celebrity.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
