Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. Booking.com doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Shangri-La is the Cumberland Street hotel that quotes its prices in US dollars. It shows rates in US dollars from US$578 to US$1,742 a night depending on the room and offer, and breakfast included on its suite offers.
From Cumberland Street the Overseas Passenger Terminal is 0.6 road miles (1.0 km) by our road routing, about 2 minutes with no traffic, and White Bay Cruise Terminal is 3.0. Shangri-La's page prints no distance to a terminal and no ride.
Family rooms take two adults and two children under 12. The page doesn't say whether tax is in the prices — and check-in is 3 pm and check-out 11 am, with no restaurant, bar, pool or parking details that we read.
I'd book Shangri-La for a suite offer with breakfast in the price, not for the evening — and I'd ask what the rest of the night includes before I paid.
Book it if
- You want breakfast in the price, not as an add-on, and a suite to go with it.
- The Rocks suits you for the night.
- You're two adults with two children under 12.
Look elsewhere if
- You want a restaurant or pool named. The page names neither.
- You'd rather read prices in Australian dollars, not US dollars.
- You need parking confirmed.
Shangri-La's page: US dollars, suite breakfast, little else
Green is stated, gold costs extra or has a catch, grey is blank on the page.
A suite night on Cumberland Street
From the hotel's own page, which gives us rates and rooms more than the evening.
The page names no restaurant, bar or pool — ask what's open before you plan dinner.
Ask the concierge about a car timed to your terminal check-in.
The page shows breakfast included on its suite offers — it doesn't say whether a standard room rate has it, so check which offer you're booking.
Two minutes on empty roads, by our routing; leave more.
No parking is listed, and the terminal has none on cruise days — a car needs its own plan.
From the airport to Cumberland Street, and 0.6 miles on
Wherever you start, the Overseas Passenger Terminal is a short taxi ride from Cumberland Street.
No airport transfer is mentioned on the page we read, so that leg is yours to book.
The hotel lists no ride to a terminal either, so a taxi is the working plan.
That's 0.6 road miles on our routing, not the hotel's figure, and it assumes clear roads.
From SYD without a hotel shuttle
There's no airport car. By our routing Sydney Airport is 8.4 road miles (13.6 km) away, roughly 16 minutes; the airport page has the train and the taxi.
Guest parking isn’t stated on the page.
Nothing from the hotel again, so the car is yours to book.
Clear roads make it about 2 minutes by our routing, so allow more on a busy morning.
If you fly in on sail day, this hotel isn't the stop; the airport page times the train or a taxi against your check-in window.
Distance
~0.6 road mi to OPT, our routingShangri-La prints no distance — White Bay Cruise Terminal, at 3.0 road miles on our routing, is the far one.
Source: router.project-osrm.orgTo the ship
Shuttle not statedBook the taxi against your terminal check-in time.
Source: shangri-la.comThe car: unlisted here, unavailable at the terminal
At the hotel
Guest parking not statedThe page prints no parking information — ask about a rate before you drive in.
Source: shangri-la.comParking for the cruise
No parking at the terminal on cruise daysParking for the cruise is its own problem. At the Overseas Passenger Terminal the Port Authority lists none on sailing days, and at White Bay a drop-off car park keeps you to 15 minutes. Wilson Parking's cruise parking near both runs A$20 to A$51 (about US$14–35) a day; its page doesn't say the currency, so we read it as Australian dollars. More at Sydney cruise parking.
Source: portauthoritynsw.com.auNot sure which terminal your ship uses? Our Sydney cruise guide says.
What US$578 to US$1,742 buys, as far as the page says
The evening
Prices are in US dollars, so what you pay in Australian dollars moves with the exchange rate.
Source: shangri-la.comBreakfast
In some ratesIncluded on suite offers; for anything else, confirm with the hotel.
Address
Cumberland Street, The Rocks176 Cumberland Street, The Rocks NSW 2000
Hotel page
Recognition
None statedNo award or rating appears on the page we read, so we print no official star class for Shangri-La.
Source: shangri-la.comWhere the page stops: check-in, children and parking
Times and house rules from the hotel's page. Where it's silent, we say so rather than guess.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Shangri-La states no minimum age.
Extra fees
Not stated
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
Not stated
Cruise parking is covered in the parking section above, including the cruise-day rules.
Breakfast
Breakfast is included on its suite offers; the page doesn't state it for standard rates.
Pool
No pool turns up on the page; ask the hotel.
Pets
Not stated.
Rooms
Family rooms take two adults and two children under 12, per the page.
Accessibility
Accessible rooms: no detail on the page, so ask before you book.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- GymNot stated
- Pets allowedNot stated
Also worth knowing
- Prices shown in US dollars, US$578 to US$1,742, tax not stated
What to ask Shangri-La before you pay in US dollars
Worth knowing
- Read the total in your booking before you pay: the page's US-dollar prices don't say whether tax is in them.
- Breakfast is shown on suite offers, so check which offer you're booking.
- No recognition is printed, so none appears here.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Restaurants and bars
- Pool
- Parking
- Breakfast in standard rates
- Luggage storage
As shown on October 6, 2026. Check the offer and the tax with the hotel before you pay.
Seven other splurges to set beside it
A Cumberland Street suite tonight, about 2 minutes to the ship tomorrow.
Send us your sail date and we'll ask Shangri-La which offer includes breakfast. No payment on the form.
Shangri-La Sydney, answered from its page
US$578 to US$1,742, depending on room and offer — and the page doesn't say whether tax is in it.
US$578 to US$1,742, depending on room and offer. The page doesn't say whether tax is in it.
Is breakfast included at Shangri-La Sydney?
On its suite offers, per the page. It says nothing about standard rooms.
How many children fit in a Shangri-La Sydney family room?
Two adults and up to two children under 12, per the page.
What time is check-in at Shangri-La Sydney?
3 pm, with check-out at 11 am, per the hotel.
How far is Shangri-La Sydney from the terminal?
About 0.6 road miles (1.0 km), or 2 minutes with no traffic, to the Overseas Passenger Terminal on our routing.
Cruise still to sort?
Dates and line to us, and we'll lay Shangri-La next to your cruise and the ride. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
