Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The beach splurge, and there's only one. The Don CeSar has been on the sand at St.
Pete Beach since 1928, has held its Four Diamonds since 1980, and puts a private Gulf beach, two heated pools and a spa in front of you.
It's the far side of the county from the ship. No port distance, no shuttle, a $40-a-night resort fee, and parking at $28 self or $38 valet.
The morning is a car and the better part of an hour.
Do the beach the night before if the beach is the point. Set the alarm early.
Book it if
- Anyone who wants a real beach before a Caribbean cruise
- Couples who want live jazz and a Gulf sunset
- Families: the resort fee covers loungers, bikes and beach games
Look elsewhere if
- You want a short morning. Plan an hour or more.
- You'd rather not pay a $40 resort fee.
- You want breakfast included.
What you’re paying for, and what you’re not
A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what The Don CeSar publishes.
The Pink Palace, on the sand since 1928, AAA Four Diamond since 1980. Two heated pools, a private Gulf beach with loungers and umbrellas in the resort fee, Spa Oceana, Maritana for Mediterranean fine dining, live jazz in the Lobby Bar, the Rowe Bar on the beach and Beacon by the pool. The Beach House Suites annex is a mile down the road with its own pool.
No port shuttle is published. Book a car for sail morning, and give it more than an hour. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
Not free. Society Table does all-day coastal fare; Uncle Andy's Market is the grab-and-go.
The resort gives no distance to the port; it says Tampa and St. Petersburg are minutes away. It's on the Gulf beach, on the far side of Pinellas County from the terminals. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Self-parking is $28 a day plus tax and valet $38; there's no free parking. The resort doesn't mention cruise parking.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.
The hotel's pages we read don't mention airport transport.
No port shuttle is published. Book a car for sail morning, and give it more than an hour.
The resort gives no distance to the port; it says Tampa and St. Petersburg are minutes away. It's on the Gulf beach, on the far side of Pinellas County from the terminals.
From TPA without a hotel shuttle
The airport says a taxi is a flat $40 to downtown and the cruise terminal on one page and a $35 maximum on another; the port calls it a 15-minute drive. Uber’s own estimate is about $28 for UberX, plus the airport’s $5 rideshare fee. Rideshare picks up at the Red and Blue Express curbsides.
The hotel's pages we read don't mention airport transport.
No port shuttle is published. Book a car for sail morning, and give it more than an hour.
The resort gives no distance to the port; it says Tampa and St. Petersburg are minutes away. It's on the Gulf beach, on the far side of Pinellas County from the terminals.
From PIE without a hotel shuttle
St. Pete-Clearwater is across the bay, about 17 miles from Tampa by Uber’s count. No official source gives a distance to the port. Uber estimated $36 for UberX to Tampa; Tampa Cruise Ship Shuttle charges $85 for the vehicle from St. Pete or Clearwater.
Self-parking is $28 a day plus tax and valet $38; there's no free parking. The resort doesn't mention cruise parking.
Parking for your stay: $28 a day plus tax; valet $38 plus tax; no free parking.
No port shuttle is published. Book a car for sail morning, and give it more than an hour.
The resort gives no distance to the port; it says Tampa and St. Petersburg are minutes away. It's on the Gulf beach, on the far side of Pinellas County from the terminals.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Distance
No distance statedThe resort gives no distance to the port; it says Tampa and St. Petersburg are minutes away. It's on the Gulf beach, on the far side of Pinellas County from the terminals.
Source: doncesar.comCruise shuttle
No shuttle statedNo port shuttle is published. Book a car for sail morning, and give it more than an hour.
Source: doncesar.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedSelf-parking is $28 a day plus tax and valet $38; there's no free parking. The resort doesn't mention cruise parking.
Source: doncesar.comThe port’s own garage
About $15/dayIf the hotel won’t hold your car, drive to the terminal on sail morning. The port’s garage is at 810 Channelside Drive, across the street from Terminal 3, with overflow lots at 810 Channelside and 1331 McKay when a ship is in. Port Tampa Bay doesn’t print a daily rate on its pages; Royal Caribbean and Celebrity put it at about $15 a day, subject to change, and Norwegian says $14. Pay on entry by cash or card, or pre-pay online with a full refund before your cruise date; valet is a $20 upgrade. There’s no shuttle leg. Compare every parking option.
Source: royalcaribbean.comThe night you’re paying for
The evening
Oceanfront · Pool · Food or drinks on siteThe Pink Palace, on the sand since 1928, AAA Four Diamond since 1980. Two heated pools, a private Gulf beach with loungers and umbrellas in the resort fee, Spa Oceana, Maritana for Mediterranean fine dining, live jazz in the Lobby Bar, the Rowe Bar on the beach and Beacon by the pool. The Beach House Suites annex is a mile down the road with its own pool.
Breakfast
Not freeNot free. Society Table does all-day coastal fare; Uncle Andy's Market is the grab-and-go.
Address
St. Pete Beach, on the Gulf3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel website
Ratings
AAA Four DiamondAAA rates it Four Diamond. It isn't on Forbes Travel Guide's Tampa or Gulf Coast pages. Both lists are for 2026.
Source: newsroom.aaa.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as The Don CeSar publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
$40 plus tax per room per day
Wi-Fi
Premium Wi-Fi in the resort fee
Parking for your stay
$28 a day plus tax; valet $38 plus tax; no free parking
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Paid; Society Table and Uncle Andy’s Market
Pool
Two heated outdoor pools; the Beach House Suites annex has its own
Pets
Up to two, $75 a night, first-floor rooms only.
Food and drink on site
- MaritanaContemporary Mediterranean fine dining
- Society TableAll-day coastal fare
- Lobby BarCocktails and live jazz
- Beacon Pool BarPoolside, Gulf sunsets
- The Rowe BarOn the beach, with shuffleboard
- Uncle Andy’s MarketCoffee, gelato, grab-and-go
Rooms
Room types aren’t published on the pages we could read.
Accessibility
The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Also worth knowing
- AAA Four Diamond since 1980; open since 1928
- The resort fee covers three beach loungers and an umbrella a day, bikes, fitness classes, non-motorized watersports and two waters
- Spa Oceana and a salon
Before you book
Worth knowing
- A $40 plus tax daily resort fee covers Wi-Fi, three loungers and an umbrella, bikes, fitness classes, non-motorized watersports and two waters.
- Parking is $28 self or $38 valet, plus tax; nothing is free.
- Check-out 11 AM; minimum age 21. Pets $75 a night, first floor only.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Distance and drive time to the port
- Cruise parking
- Check-in time on the pages we read
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 25, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
The other splurges near the port
Wake up a short ride from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check The Don CeSar for the night before. No payment on the form.
The Don CeSar FAQ
Is The Don CeSar a luxury hotel?
AAA rates it Four Diamond. It isn't on Forbes Travel Guide's Tampa or Gulf Coast pages. It has held its Four Diamonds since 1980, and it's the only splurge pick on a beach.
Does The Don CeSar have a cruise shuttle?
No. No port shuttle is published. Book a car for sail morning, and give it more than an hour.
Does The Don CeSar have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From Tampa International: The hotel's pages we read don't mention airport transport. From St. Pete-Clearwater: The hotel's pages we read don't mention airport transport.
Can I park at The Don CeSar while I cruise?
It doesn't say. Self-parking is $28 a day plus tax and valet $38; there's no free parking. The resort doesn't mention cruise parking.
How far is The Don CeSar from Port Tampa Bay?
The resort gives no distance to the port; it says Tampa and St. Petersburg are minutes away. It's on the Gulf beach, on the far side of Pinellas County from the terminals.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
