Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Old Florida, done properly. The Vinoy has held its Four Diamonds since 1993, Elliott Aster is Michelin Recommended, and the marina, the spa and the golf course are all the hotel's own.
It's the grand hotel of the bay.
It's on the wrong side of the bay for a cruise. Marriott gives no port distance and no shuttle, valet is $50, and the morning is a cab across the Howard Frankland or the Gandy — not a walk.
Stay two nights and make St. Pete the trip.
For one night before the ship, look at Water Street.
Book it if
- Couples making a weekend of St. Petersburg before the cruise
- Golfers
- Anyone who wants a historic hotel and doesn't mind a long cab in the morning
Look elsewhere if
- You want to be near the ship.
- You're driving anything taller than 6 feet 8 inches: the valet can't take it.
- You want breakfast included.
What you’re paying for, and what you’re not
A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what The Vinoy publishes.
The 1925 pink hotel on the St. Pete waterfront, AAA Four Diamond since 1993. Elliott Aster is Michelin Recommended, Paul's Landing sits on the marina, Parasol and Veranda cover Latin and Mediterranean, and Lottie does pastry. There's a pool, the Vinoy Spa, a marina and an 18-hole course at the golf club. The Pier is steps away.
Marriott lists no port shuttle. Vinoy Sedan Services are available on request for a fee the page doesn't state, and a taxi is the fallback.
Not free. Lottie is a French patisserie; Paul's Landing does breakfast on the marina.
Marriott gives no distance to the port. It's on the St. Petersburg waterfront, across Tampa Bay; the hotel puts TPA 19.5 miles away and mentions the Cross Bay Ferry to Tampa. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Valet only, $50 a day; vehicles over 6 feet 8 inches can't be accommodated. Marriott doesn't mention cruise parking.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.
No shuttle; Vinoy Sedan Services on request for a fee. Marriott puts TPA 19.5 miles away.
Marriott lists no port shuttle. Vinoy Sedan Services are available on request for a fee the page doesn't state, and a taxi is the fallback.
Marriott gives no distance to the port. It's on the St. Petersburg waterfront, across Tampa Bay; the hotel puts TPA 19.5 miles away and mentions the Cross Bay Ferry to Tampa.
From TPA without a hotel shuttle
The airport says a taxi is a flat $40 to downtown and the cruise terminal on one page and a $35 maximum on another; the port calls it a 15-minute drive. Uber’s own estimate is about $28 for UberX, plus the airport’s $5 rideshare fee. Rideshare picks up at the Red and Blue Express curbsides.
No shuttle. Marriott puts St. Pete-Clearwater 12 miles away.
Marriott lists no port shuttle. Vinoy Sedan Services are available on request for a fee the page doesn't state, and a taxi is the fallback.
Marriott gives no distance to the port. It's on the St. Petersburg waterfront, across Tampa Bay; the hotel puts TPA 19.5 miles away and mentions the Cross Bay Ferry to Tampa.
From PIE without a hotel shuttle
St. Pete-Clearwater is across the bay, about 17 miles from Tampa by Uber’s count. No official source gives a distance to the port. Uber estimated $36 for UberX to Tampa; Tampa Cruise Ship Shuttle charges $85 for the vehicle from St. Pete or Clearwater.
Valet only, $50 a day; vehicles over 6 feet 8 inches can't be accommodated. Marriott doesn't mention cruise parking.
Parking for your stay: Valet only, $50 a day; no vehicles over 6 feet 8 inches.
Marriott lists no port shuttle. Vinoy Sedan Services are available on request for a fee the page doesn't state, and a taxi is the fallback.
Marriott gives no distance to the port. It's on the St. Petersburg waterfront, across Tampa Bay; the hotel puts TPA 19.5 miles away and mentions the Cross Bay Ferry to Tampa.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Distance
No distance statedMarriott gives no distance to the port. It's on the St. Petersburg waterfront, across Tampa Bay; the hotel puts TPA 19.5 miles away and mentions the Cross Bay Ferry to Tampa.
Source: marriott.comCruise shuttle
No shuttle statedMarriott lists no port shuttle. Vinoy Sedan Services are available on request for a fee the page doesn't state, and a taxi is the fallback.
Source: marriott.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedValet only, $50 a day; vehicles over 6 feet 8 inches can't be accommodated. Marriott doesn't mention cruise parking.
Source: marriott.comThe port’s own garage
About $15/dayIf the hotel won’t hold your car, drive to the terminal on sail morning. The port’s garage is at 810 Channelside Drive, across the street from Terminal 3, with overflow lots at 810 Channelside and 1331 McKay when a ship is in. Port Tampa Bay doesn’t print a daily rate on its pages; Royal Caribbean and Celebrity put it at about $15 a day, subject to change, and Norwegian says $14. Pay on entry by cash or card, or pre-pay online with a full refund before your cruise date; valet is a $20 upgrade. There’s no shuttle leg. Compare every parking option.
Source: royalcaribbean.comThe night you’re paying for
The evening
Pool · Food or drinks on siteThe 1925 pink hotel on the St. Pete waterfront, AAA Four Diamond since 1993. Elliott Aster is Michelin Recommended, Paul's Landing sits on the marina, Parasol and Veranda cover Latin and Mediterranean, and Lottie does pastry. There's a pool, the Vinoy Spa, a marina and an 18-hole course at the golf club. The Pier is steps away.
Breakfast
Not freeNot free. Lottie is a French patisserie; Paul's Landing does breakfast on the marina.
Address
Downtown St. Petersburg, across the bay501 5th Avenue NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Hotel website
Ratings
AAA Four DiamondAAA rates it Four Diamond. It isn't on Forbes Travel Guide's Tampa or Gulf Coast pages. Both lists are for 2026.
Source: newsroom.aaa.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as The Vinoy publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated on the pages we read
Wi-Fi
Free in-room for Marriott Bonvoy members booking direct
Parking for your stay
Valet only, $50 a day; no vehicles over 6 feet 8 inches
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Paid; Lottie and Paul’s Landing
Pool
Outdoor pool, and the Sunset Pool at the golf course
Pets
Dogs only, up to two, 40 lb, $150 per stay.
Food and drink on site
- Elliott AsterMichelin Recommended; wood-fired steaks, pasta and seafood
- Paul’s LandingLocal seafood on the marina
- ParasolLatin cuisine and cocktails
- VerandaMediterranean, cocktails
- LottieFrench patisserie
- The Vinoy Club GrillSteakhouse at the golf club
Rooms
Historic Building rooms and suites with marina or resort views; Tower rooms and suites with balconies over downtown, the Pier or the bay.
Accessibility
Mobility rooms, roll-in showers and TTY/TTD.
On site
- EV chargingYes
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- St. Pete Piersteps
- Dali Museumnearby
- St. Pete Beacha short drive
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- AAA Four Diamond since 1993
- Marina and boat slips; 18-hole par-71 course at the golf club
- The Cross Bay Ferry to Tampa is mentioned by the hotel
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Valet only, $50 a day, with a 6-foot-8 height limit.
- Dogs only, $150 per stay.
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM. Minimum age 21.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Distance to the port
- Cruise parking
- The sedan service price
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 25, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
The other splurges near the port
Wake up a short ride from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check The Vinoy for the night before. No payment on the form.
The Vinoy FAQ
Is The Vinoy a luxury hotel?
AAA rates it Four Diamond. It isn't on Forbes Travel Guide's Tampa or Gulf Coast pages. It has held its Four Diamonds since 1993, longer than any hotel on this list.
Does The Vinoy have a cruise shuttle?
No. Marriott lists no port shuttle. Vinoy Sedan Services are available on request for a fee the page doesn't state, and a taxi is the fallback.
Does The Vinoy have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From Tampa International: No shuttle; Vinoy Sedan Services on request for a fee. Marriott puts TPA 19.5 miles away. From St. Pete-Clearwater: No shuttle. Marriott puts St. Pete-Clearwater 12 miles away.
Can I park at The Vinoy while I cruise?
It doesn't say. Valet only, $50 a day; vehicles over 6 feet 8 inches can't be accommodated. Marriott doesn't mention cruise parking.
How far is The Vinoy from Port Tampa Bay?
Marriott gives no distance to the port. It's on the St. Petersburg waterfront, across Tampa Bay; the hotel puts TPA 19.5 miles away and mentions the Cross Bay Ferry to Tampa.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
