Hondius
Antarctica · Nov–MarTwo Basecamps, Discovery and Learning, and the Falklands and South Georgia, 2026–27.
Best for: Basecamp with a bigger cabin.
A former navy research ship, a former Russian research ship, a 1947 herring lugger and Hondius, built for the ice in 2019. Each one changes the cabin, the group and the route — so the hull is half the decision.
Hondius is the ship to beat for a first Antarctic trip. It has the fleet’s highest ice class, the widest cabin range and an indoor boarding area for Zodiacs and kayaks.
Ortelius and Plancius are older and plainer, with 108 guests each. Pick them for the voyage, not the ship — Ortelius for the helicopter trips into the Weddell Sea, Plancius for the long Atlantic Odyssey.
Rembrandt van Rijn is a different trip altogether — 33 guests under sail in Svalbard and Greenland. Noorderlicht has left the fleet.
Tap a ruler to re-sort. The bars redraw against the largest ship in the fleet.
Every figure is from the ship’s own Oceanwide page. Oceanwide publishes displacement, not gross tonnage, so that’s what we show. It gives no Zodiac count for Hondius — so we leave that cell blank rather than borrow a number.
“Guests per staff member” is our arithmetic on Oceanwide’s guide counts — a rough read on attention ashore, not a published ratio. Sort by it before you sort by size.
Specs come from Oceanwide’s ship pages. Where a page disagrees with itself, as the schooner’s does on crew, we show both figures rather than pick one.
Use the tabs to narrow to two ships — then compare their dates on the line guide.
Counts and sizes from each ship’s Oceanwide page. Where it’s blank, Oceanwide doesn’t say.
| Ship | Category | How many | Size |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hondius | Grand Suite, balcony | 6 | 27 m² (291 sq ft) |
| Junior Suite · Superior · Twin Deluxe | 8 · 8 · 11 | 19–21 m² (205–226 sq ft) | |
| Twin Window | 14 | 12–14 m² (129–151 sq ft) | |
| Twin, Triple and Quadruple Porthole | 27 · 2 · 4 | 13–16 m², one range for all three | |
| Plancius | Superior, queen bed | 10 | About 21 m² |
| Twin Deluxe · Twin Window · Twin Porthole · Quad | 2 · 25 · 9 · 4 | About 12.5 m² for the twins; quad not stated | |
| Ortelius | Quad, Triple, Twin Porthole, Twin Window, Twin Deluxe, Superior | 50 in all | Not stated on the ship page |
| Rembrandt van Rijn | Triple Porthole · Twin Inside · Twin Porthole | 1 · 6 · 9 | Not stated; all with private facilities |
Most Oceanwide cabins are twins with a porthole or a window. That’s the honest shape of a value fleet: the money goes on staff and landings, not square footage.
The quads and triples matter more than their numbers suggest — they’re where solo sharers and families get the lowest fares.
Space jumps on Hondius. Its Junior Suites, Superiors and Twin Deluxe cabins run 19 to 21 square meters — about the size of Plancius’s Superior.
The only balconies we found are on Hondius’s six Grand Suites — ask us early if you want one.
Each ship wins something. The schooner wins on group size and loses almost everything else — which is exactly why some people book it.
Hondius is Polar Class 6. Ortelius’s UL1 is rated equivalent to 1A, Plancius is 1D, and the schooner has no class named.
Thirty-three guests on the schooner against 170 on Hondius. Fewer people means shorter waits at every landing.
Hondius has eight categories, from shared quads to balcony suites. The schooner has three, all compact.
Guests per expedition staff member: about 13 on the three motor ships, about 16.5 on the schooner. Our arithmetic on Oceanwide’s figures.
Ortelius has the helicopter and Peter I trips; Plancius has the Atlantic Odyssey. The schooner stays in the Arctic.
Our judgement on Oceanwide’s published specs, not an Oceanwide figure and not a quality rating. Ten means best in this fleet for that row. Specs checked November 1, 2026.
Try “The schooner” with “Antarctica”. Nothing comes back, and that’s the point.
Two Basecamps, Discovery and Learning, and the Falklands and South Georgia, 2026–27.
Best for: Basecamp with a bigger cabin.
North Spitsbergen with kayaking, Around Spitsbergen, then Northeast Greenland and Scoresby Sund.
Best for: Svalbard with a suite.
Emperor penguin voyages with helicopters, the Bellingshausen Sea and the 28-day Remote Weddell Sea Explorer.
Best for: the far ice, by air.
The North Spitsbergen Basecamp, a 5-night Compact Arctic Adventure and Northeast Greenland Extreme.
Best for: a short Arctic trip.
Opens the season on October 24, 2026; Basecamps in January and February; birding and photography departures.
Best for: a themed voyage.
Ushuaia to St Helena or Cape Verde, March to May 2027, with or without the Peninsula.
Best for: islands few ships reach.
Keflavík in June, Svalbard all summer, then Scoresby Sund in September.
Best for: Iceland and the ice edge.
Ski & Sail in May, North Spitsbergen in summer, Fly & Sail in East Greenland, then Northeast Iceland in October.
Best for: sail, small and slow.
No ship matches that pair. Widen one filter.
Routes come from Oceanwide’s 2026–27 Antarctic and 2027 Arctic rate sheets. For the places themselves, read our Antarctica landing sites, Greenland and polar bear guides. Oceanwide lists no Galápagos voyages; our Galápagos visitor sites guide covers the islands themselves.
Expedition fleets turn over fast. Here’s each Oceanwide change we could date, with the source in the log below.
Bought by Oceanwide after Royal Dutch Navy service ended in 2004, then rebuilt as a passenger ship.
Brodosplit hands over Hondius, built to Lloyd’s Register Polar Class 6. Delivery specs said 196 guests; Oceanwide now lists 170.
A 170-guest sister is launched in March 2021. Seatrade reports a further delivery delay in July 2022. It’s not on Oceanwide’s fleet page today.
Oceanwide operated the schooner but didn’t own it. Put up for sale in 2020, it has belonged to Swan Expeditions (no relation to Swan Hellenic) since the end of 2021.
Three deaths in an Andes-strain outbreak; the first death aboard was April 11, and WHO was notified May 2. Dutch health officials cleared the ship on May 30.
A March 2026 letter of intent for two 146-guest ships with hybrid sail propulsion, based on the Hondius design. No yard named yet.
On the 2026 outbreak. WHO figures reported in July put infections at 13 or more, with three deaths, and WHO declared the outbreak over in early July. Oceanwide’s position is that the virus came from a source in South America, not the ship.
On the new ships. A letter of intent is a step, not a contract. Oceanwide says the shipyard will be named as the timeline progresses and that sales should open by early 2027.
Check this timeline again before you book a 2029 sailing — plans like these move, and dates slip.
Our judgement on Oceanwide’s published specs and routes. Narrow to one ship, then pick the date — not the other way round.
The highest ice class, the indoor boarding area and two Basecamps in late 2026.
The Weddell Sea voyages with helicopter tours included, from November 15, 2026.
The Atlantic Odyssey: up to 42 nights from Ushuaia to Cape Verde in spring 2027.
Thirty-three guests in Svalbard and East Greenland. Ski & Sail if you bring your own skis.
Four, on Oceanwide's fleet page as of November 1, 2026: the 170-guest Hondius, the 108-guest Ortelius and Plancius, and the 33-guest three-masted schooner Rembrandt van Rijn. The schooner Noorderlicht no longer sails for Oceanwide, and Janssonius, a Hondius sister launched in 2021, isn't on the fleet page or the current rate sheets. Two 146-guest eco-sail ships are planned for 2029 and 2030 under a letter of intent.
It depends on the voyage you want. Hondius has the strongest ice class, Polar Class 6, and the widest cabin range, from shared quads to six balcony Grand Suites. Ortelius, ice class UL1, runs the helicopter voyages into the Weddell Sea and the long trips to Peter I Island. Plancius, ice class 1D, is the simpler ship, and it sails the Atlantic Odyssey to St Helena and Cape Verde.
No. Oceanwide operated the schooner but didn't own it. Its owner put it up for sale in 2020, and the ship's own history page says Swan Expeditions (no relation to Swan Hellenic) became the owner at the end of 2021. It now sails a school-at-sea program, and Oceanwide's fleet page no longer lists it. Oceanwide's sailing-ship voyages run on Rembrandt van Rijn.
Three people died in an outbreak of Andes-strain hantavirus on an Argentina-to-Cape Verde voyage. The first death aboard was on April 11, 2026, and WHO was first notified on May 2; WHO figures reported in July put infections at 13 or more. Oceanwide says the virus was introduced from a source in South America, not the ship. Dutch health officials cleared Hondius to return to service on May 30, and WHO declared the outbreak over in early July.
We couldn't confirm its current status. Seatrade Cruise News reported that the 170-guest Polar Class 6 sister to Hondius was launched at Brodosplit in March 2021, and that its delivery was delayed again in July 2022 by sanctions-linked financing problems and supply-chain delays at the yard. It isn't on Oceanwide's fleet page or its 2026-27 and 2027 rate sheets.
Ortelius. Its ship page mentions helicopter flights, and the 2026-27 rate sheet lists helicopter tours as free on its Weddell Sea emperor penguin voyages, its Bellingshausen Sea and Peter I Island voyage and its Remote Weddell Sea Explorer. No other Oceanwide ship has a helicopter voyage on the current rate sheets.
Private bathrooms, yes, even on the schooner: Oceanwide's Rembrandt van Rijn page lists a private shower and toilet in all 16 cabins. Balconies are rare. Hondius has six Grand Suites with a balcony, at 27 square meters, and we found no balcony category on the other ships' rate sheets.
Send the region, the month and who’s traveling. We’ll confirm which ship runs your departure, which cabins are open and what the activity supplements are.
No fee, no obligation. You pay the cruise line’s own fare. A real advisor replies, usually within one business day.
Answers come straight from this guide.
Answers come from our guides and are general information. Confirm details with us before you book.
Ship figures are Oceanwide’s own. Where trade press differs (Hondius’s 2019 delivery specs give 196 guests), we use Oceanwide’s current 170. Guests per staff member, the scorecard, the ice ladder and the picks are our arithmetic and judgement. We couldn’t confirm what became of Janssonius, so we say so rather than guess.
Expedition trips have more moving parts than a Caribbean week: a charter flight, a night in a gateway city, gear lists and an evacuation clause the line sets for you. We book them together and check that the dates and the fine print agree.
How we work. Seabound Journeys is an independent travel advisory. We aren’t affiliated with or endorsed by any cruise line on this page. When we book a voyage, the cruise line pays us a commission, at no extra cost to you; some links may be affiliate links, and they’re always labeled. None of that changes what we write. Fares, ships, itineraries and inclusions change often, so every figure here comes from the line’s own published materials on the date shown, and the line’s booking terms govern.
Last reviewed November 1, 2026 · Seabound Journeys · Founder/advisor Joey Boleslawski · Florida Seller of Travel Ref. No. ST15578 · CLIA-affiliated