Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The best-rated room in San Juan. The Condado Vanderbilt is AAA Four Diamond, named in AAA's July 2026 announcement, and Forbes Four-Star, with a spa Forbes also rates Four-Star.
There's 1919 Restaurant, STK, Ola Oceanfront and Marabar for caviar and Champagne, and Forbes describes a heated infinity pool and a beach.
A daily resort fee applies — the hotel's FAQ doesn't give the amount — and you must be 21 to check in.
Book it for dinner at 1919, and take a cab to your pier in the morning.
Book it if
- The splurge night before
- Spa people
- Food lovers
Look elsewhere if
- You're under 21.
- You want breakfast included on a one-night stay.
- You want to be by the ship.
What you’re paying for, and what you’re not
A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Condado Vanderbilt publishes.
1919 Restaurant for fine dining with local sourcing, STK, Ola Oceanfront, Tacos & Tequila, Marabar by 1919 for caviar and Champagne, Veritas Wine & Cognac Bar and the AVO cigar lounge. Forbes describes a heated infinity pool, a larger recreational pool, a beach, and the only hammam on the island at the spa.
The hotel's pages mention no ride and give no distance to the piers. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
Included only with the hotel's Bed And Breakfast offer, which needs two nights ("Two-night minimum stay required, subject to availability"): "Daily Complimentary Breakfast for two at Ola Oceanfront". Orbitz lists cooked-to-order breakfast at $35 to $50 for adults.
The hotel gives no distance to the cruise piers. Forbes puts SJU about 10 to 14 minutes away. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
The hotel's pages we read don't cover parking; Orbitz lists valet at $30 a day with in and out. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.
The hotel's pages we read don't mention airport transport; Forbes puts SJU about 10 to 14 minutes away.
The hotel's pages mention no ride and give no distance to the piers.
The hotel gives no distance to the cruise piers. Forbes puts SJU about 10 to 14 minutes away.
From SJU without a hotel shuttle
The port puts SJU about 10 minutes from the Pan American Piers and about 15 from Piers 1–4, around $24 to $30 by taxi or rideshare. Taxis run on zone fares and take cash only, per Discover Puerto Rico, and Uber and Lyft pick up at the airport.
The hotel's pages we read don't cover parking; Orbitz lists valet at $30 a day with in and out. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Parking for your stay: Not on the hotel’s pages; Orbitz lists valet $30 a day with in and out.
The hotel's pages mention no ride and give no distance to the piers.
The hotel gives no distance to the cruise piers. Forbes puts SJU about 10 to 14 minutes away.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; see the airport page and the landing check.
Distance
No distance statedThe hotel gives no distance to the cruise piers. Forbes puts SJU about 10 to 14 minutes away.
Source: condadovanderbilt.comCruise shuttle
No shuttle statedThe hotel's pages mention no ride and give no distance to the piers.
Source: condadovanderbilt.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedThe hotel's pages we read don't cover parking; Orbitz lists valet at $30 a day with in and out. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Source: condadovanderbilt.comParking for the cruise
No parking at the piers“There is no parking within San Juan Cruise Port,” per the port, which points drivers to the public Covadonga lot across from the Old San Juan piers; Royal Caribbean says the same for Pan American Pier 2, while Celebrity’s page says its terminal has a lot. The cheapest daily figure we found is the Isla Grande airport’s long-term lot, $8.56 a day on a local parking guide, not the operator, and a taxi from the Pan American side. None of the garages publishes a week-long cruise rate.
Source: sanjuanpuertorico.comThe night you’re paying for
The evening
Pool · Food or drinks on site1919 Restaurant for fine dining with local sourcing, STK, Ola Oceanfront, Tacos & Tequila, Marabar by 1919 for caviar and Champagne, Veritas Wine & Cognac Bar and the AVO cigar lounge. Forbes describes a heated infinity pool, a larger recreational pool, a beach, and the only hammam on the island at the spa.
Breakfast
Not freeIncluded only with the hotel's Bed And Breakfast offer, which needs two nights ("Two-night minimum stay required, subject to availability"): "Daily Complimentary Breakfast for two at Ola Oceanfront". Orbitz lists cooked-to-order breakfast at $35 to $50 for adults.
Address
Ashford Avenue, Condado1055 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, PR 00907
Hotel website
Ratings
AAA Four DiamondAAA rates it Four Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide gives it Four-Star.
Source: aaa.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Condado Vanderbilt publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
Daily; amount not on the hotel’s FAQ. Covers "access to premium amenities such as pools, beach services, wellness offerings, and more". Orbitz: 20% of the room rate
Wi-Fi
Complimentary high-speed
Parking for your stay
Not on the hotel’s pages; Orbitz lists valet $30 a day with in and out
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Only with the Bed And Breakfast offer, two-night minimum: "Daily Complimentary Breakfast for two at Ola Oceanfront"
Pool
Pools, per the hotel; a heated infinity pool and a larger recreational pool, per Forbes
Pets
Dogs welcome, per the hotel; Orbitz says up to 25 lb, $150 a pet a stay.
Food and drink on site
- 1919 RestaurantFine dining, local sourcing
- STK Restaurant & LoungeSteak
- Ola OceanfrontFamily-friendly Puerto Rican
- Tacos & TequilaMexican
- Marabar by 1919Caviar and Champagne
- Veritas Wine & Cognac BarWine and cognac
- AVO LoungeCigars
- VC LoungeLounge
Rooms
316 rooms, 107 of them suites, in two 11-story towers, per Forbes.
Accessibility
The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Also worth knowing
- AAA Four Diamond; Forbes Four-Star hotel and spa
- The spa has the only hammam on the island, per Forbes
- Luggage storage for early arrivals and late departures
- Dogs welcome; Orbitz says up to 25 lb, $150 a pet a stay
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM.
- Minimum check-in age 21.
- Breakfast is included only with the Bed And Breakfast offer, which has a two-night minimum, per the hotel.
- A daily resort fee gives "access to premium amenities such as pools, beach services, wellness offerings, and more", per the hotel; Orbitz puts it at 20% of the room rate.
- Luggage storage for early arrivals and late departures, per the hotel.
- Complimentary Wi-Fi.
- AAA Four Diamond on AAA's San Juan list; Forbes Four-Star hotel and spa on Forbes's Puerto Rico page, which shows no year.
- 316 rooms, 107 of them suites, in two 11-story towers, per Forbes.
- Offers: Stay More, Save More takes 10, 15 or 20% off 2, 3 or 4+ nights through October 31, 2026, per the hotel.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Parking
- The resort fee's amount, on the hotel's site
- The distance to the piers
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
The other splurges near the ship
Wake up in Condado or Miramar, a cab from the piers.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Condado Vanderbilt for the night before. No payment on the form.
Condado Vanderbilt FAQ
Is Condado Vanderbilt a luxury hotel?
AAA rates it Four Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide gives it Four-Star.
Does Condado Vanderbilt have a cruise shuttle?
No. The hotel's pages mention no ride and give no distance to the piers.
Does Condado Vanderbilt have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. The hotel's pages we read don't mention airport transport; Forbes puts SJU about 10 to 14 minutes away.
Can I park at Condado Vanderbilt while I cruise?
It doesn't say. The hotel's pages we read don't cover parking; Orbitz lists valet at $30 a day with in and out. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
How far is Condado Vanderbilt from the cruise terminal?
The hotel gives no distance to the cruise piers. Forbes puts SJU about 10 to 14 minutes away.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
