Splurge Hotels · San Juan

◆Splurge pick · Five Diamond and Forbes Five-Star, in Dorado · Dorado, west of San Juan

Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

AAA Five Diamond and Forbes Five-Star, the only Five-Star hotel on Forbes's Puerto Rico page, in Dorado.

No shuttle statedCruise parking unconfirmedBreakfast not statedForbes Five-Star
Booking.com rates

No payment on the form. We check rates for your night and reply within one business day.

AAA Five DiamondForbes Five-Star · AAA list
The verdict

The best-rated room in Puerto Rico. Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, is AAA Five Diamond and the only Five-Star hotel on Forbes's Puerto Rico page, with 114 rooms on 50 beachfront acres, per Forbes.

Forbes lists COA with a 650-label wine cellar, more than 50 private plunge pools and Spa Botánico, rated Four-Star.

It's in Dorado, 35 minutes from SJU per Forbes — and we couldn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages, so parking, breakfast and check-in times aren't confirmed.

Book it as a night of its own, and leave time for the drive to the piers.

Book it if

  • A celebration before the cruise
  • Food and wine lovers
  • Spa people

Look elsewhere if

  • You want to be near the ship.
  • You want the details in writing before you book.
What You Get

What you’re paying for, and what you’re not

A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.

AAA ratingFive Diamond
Forbes Travel GuideFive-Star; Spa Botánico Four-Star
RestaurantCOA; Flor de Sal
Bar or drinksPositivo Sand Bar
SpaSpa Botánico; 50+ plunge pools
BreakfastNot stated
KitchenNo
Resort feeNot stated
ParkingNot stated
Shuttle to the portNone
Distance to the portNot stated
Sail Morning

Your night before, from here

From check-in to the gangway, using only what Dorado Beach publishes.

Evening
Check in and settle

Per Forbes: COA with a 650-label wine cellar, the Encanto Beach Club Bar and Grill, Positivo Sand Bar, Flor de Sal, two pool areas and more than 50 private plunge pools, and Spa Botánico, which Forbes rates Four-Star.

Before bed
Line up your ride

Forbes's page mentions no ride to the ship, and we didn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.

Sail morning
Breakfast, your call

Not stated.

Heading out
To the terminal

Forbes puts Dorado Beach "35 minutes from San Juan's Luis Muñoz Marín Airport"; neither Forbes nor AAA gives a distance to the cruise piers. We couldn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.

While you sail
Your car

Not on the pages we read. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

To the Ship

Getting here, and on to the ship

San Juan Bay Dorado 16 15 14 12 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 Old San Juan Pier 1 · Muelle 1, Calle La Marina, Old San JuanP1 Old San Juan Pier 3 · Muelle 3, Calle La Marina (shares terminal building with Pier 4)P3 Old San Juan Pier 4 · Muelle 4, Calle La Marina, Old San JuanP4 Pan American Pier 2 · Muelle Panamericano, Isla Grande — Royal Caribbean embarkationPA2 Pan American Pier 1 East · Calle Lindbergh, Isla Grande — Norwegian embarkationPA1E ★ 5 km · 3.1 mi N
This hotelTop-20 hotels, tap one to open itCruise terminalStraight line to the ship, not a routeReal geography: NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline, generalised, so piers and quays aren’t drawn. Pins from the hotel’s own map data, the hotel’s or a map listing’s pin, the US Census Bureau’s address geocoder, Wikipedia and Wikidata; address-geocoded pins can sit up to a block off.

Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.

?? miles not stated no mileage stated SJUSplurgeThe ship
Leg 1 · Luis Muñoz Marín International to the hotel
Not stated

The pages we read don't mention airport transport; Forbes puts SJU 35 minutes away.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No shuttle stated

Forbes's page mentions no ride to the ship, and we didn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages.

Forbes puts Dorado Beach "35 minutes from San Juan's Luis Muñoz Marín Airport"; neither Forbes nor AAA gives a distance to the cruise piers. We couldn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages.

From SJU without a hotel shuttle

The port puts SJU about 10 minutes from the Pan American Piers and about 15 from Piers 1–4, around $24 to $30 by taxi or rideshare. Taxis run on zone fares and take cash only, per Discover Puerto Rico, and Uber and Lyft pick up at the airport.

?? your drive no mileage stated Your carSplurgeThe ship
Leg 1 · Drive in and park
Cruise parking unconfirmed

Not on the pages we read. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

Parking for your stay: Not stated.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No shuttle stated

Forbes's page mentions no ride to the ship, and we didn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages.

Forbes puts Dorado Beach "35 minutes from San Juan's Luis Muñoz Marín Airport"; neither Forbes nor AAA gives a distance to the cruise piers. We couldn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages.

Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; see the airport page and the landing check.

Distance

No distance stated

Forbes puts Dorado Beach "35 minutes from San Juan's Luis Muñoz Marín Airport"; neither Forbes nor AAA gives a distance to the cruise piers. We couldn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages.

Source: forbestravelguide.com

Cruise shuttle

No shuttle stated

Forbes's page mentions no ride to the ship, and we didn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages.

Source: forbestravelguide.com
Parking

Parking while you sail

At the hotel

Cruise parking unconfirmed

Not on the pages we read. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

Source: forbestravelguide.com

Parking for the cruise

No parking at the piers

“There is no parking within San Juan Cruise Port,” per the port, which points drivers to the public Covadonga lot across from the Old San Juan piers; Royal Caribbean says the same for Pan American Pier 2, while Celebrity’s page says its terminal has a lot. The cheapest daily figure we found is the Isla Grande airport’s long-term lot, $8.56 a day on a local parking guide, not the operator, and a taxi from the Pan American side. None of the garages publishes a week-long cruise rate.

Compare every parking option.

Source: sanjuanpuertorico.com
The Evening

The night you’re paying for

The evening

Pool · Food or drinks on site

Per Forbes: COA with a 650-label wine cellar, the Encanto Beach Club Bar and Grill, Positivo Sand Bar, Flor de Sal, two pool areas and more than 50 private plunge pools, and Spa Botánico, which Forbes rates Four-Star.

Breakfast

Not stated

Not stated.

Address

Dorado, west of San Juan

100 Dorado Beach Drive, Dorado, PR 00646
Hotel website

Ratings

AAA Five Diamond

AAA rates it Five Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide gives it Five-Star.

Source: aaa.com
Fact Sheet

The fine print, in one place

Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Dorado Beach publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.

Check-in and check-out

Check-inNot stated
Check-outNot stated

Minimum age

—

Not stated by the hotel.

Resort fee

Not stated

Wi-Fi

Not stated

Parking for your stay

Not stated

Cruise parking is in the parking section above.

Breakfast

Not stated

Pool

Two pool areas and more than 50 private plunge pools, per Forbes

Pets

The pages we read don't mention pets.

Food and drink on site

  • COA650-label wine cellar (per Forbes)
  • Encanto Beach Club Bar and GrillPer Forbes
  • Positivo Sand BarPer Forbes
  • Flor de SalPer Forbes

Rooms

114 accommodations on 50 beachfront acres, per Forbes.

Accessibility

The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.

On site

  • EV chargingNot stated
  • Guest laundryNot stated
  • Fitness centerNot stated
  • Pets allowedNot stated

Also worth knowing

  • AAA Five Diamond; Forbes Five-Star
  • Spa Botánico, Forbes Four-Star
  • We didn’t read the Ritz-Carlton’s own pages
Worth Knowing

Before you book

Worth knowing

  • AAA Five Diamond on AAA's San Juan list; Forbes Five-Star on Forbes's Puerto Rico page, which shows no year.
  • Everything here is from Forbes and AAA; we didn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages.
  • Booking.com also lists separate Residences at Dorado Beach.

What we couldn’t confirm

  • Check-in and check-out times
  • Breakfast
  • Parking
  • Any resort fee
  • Pets
  • The drive to the piers

Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.

Other Splurges

The other splurges near the ship

Ready when you are

Wake up in San Juan.

Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Dorado Beach for the night before. No payment on the form.

Booking.com rates
FAQ

Dorado Beach FAQ

Is Dorado Beach a luxury hotel?

AAA rates it Five Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide gives it Five-Star.

Does Dorado Beach have a cruise shuttle?

No. Forbes's page mentions no ride to the ship, and we didn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages.

Does Dorado Beach have an airport shuttle?

Not that it publishes. The pages we read don't mention airport transport; Forbes puts SJU 35 minutes away.

Can I park at Dorado Beach while I cruise?

It doesn't say. Not on the pages we read. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

How far is Dorado Beach from the cruise terminal?

Forbes puts Dorado Beach "35 minutes from San Juan's Luis Muñoz Marín Airport"; neither Forbes nor AAA gives a distance to the cruise piers. We couldn't read the Ritz-Carlton's own pages.

Booking the cruise too?

Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Dorado BeachSplurge pick · night before your cruise
Booking.com rates