Scenic’s yachts: two sisters, one blueprint, a third in 2028

Scenic Eclipse and Eclipse II are the same 168-meter yacht built four years apart. The differences are small — and the bigger choice is which region each one sails in the year you want to go.

2Discovery yachts sailing today
114All-veranda suites on each
344Smallest suite, in sq ft
2028Scenic Ikon’s first season
By Joey Boleslawski, founder & travel advisorFacts checked November 1, 2026
The short answer

Choose the date and region, not the hull. Eclipse and Eclipse II share a length, a tonnage, a polar class and a suite plan. Eclipse II adds SEABOBs and a trampoline for warm water, and loses one bar.

Where they sail is what splits them. In 2027 Eclipse runs the Arctic and Hudson Bay while Eclipse II stays in Europe. In 2028 Eclipse II goes to the Pacific, the Kimberley and the Ross Sea.

Scenic Ikon arrives in April 2028, larger at 270 guests. Wait for it only if the Mediterranean is your trip.

01
The sortable fleet

Three yachts, measured the same way

Tap a sort button; the meters redraw against the largest yacht. “Not stated” means Scenic or the trade press hasn’t published it.

Eclipse and Eclipse II figures come from Scenic’s US ship pages; lengths are converted from Scenic’s 168 meters. Scenic Ikon’s come from Seatrade Cruise News, since Scenic hasn’t posted a full Ikon spec page we could read.

Scenic doesn’t publish a crew count or a Zodiac count, only a guest-to-crew ratio of close to 1:1. We’ve left both out rather than borrow a number. Sort by year to see how fast the fleet is growing.

02
Four years apart

What actually changed on Eclipse II

Scenic Eclipse, 2019

The original

Up to nine bars and lounges, ten culinary experiences and the submersible Scenic Neptune. Scenic lists enhancements in 2021 and 2024. Its sub isn’t operational in US waters — relevant on the East Coast and Caribbean sailings.

vs
Scenic Eclipse II, 2023

The refined sister

Eight bars and lounges, SEABOBs and an inflatable trampoline on warm-water voyages, and Neptune II. Before delivery, Seatrade reported a 5,920 sq ft spa with a salt therapy lounge, a new Deck 10 bar and a yoga and Pilates studio.

Under the decor they’re one design, not two: 168 meters, 17,545 gross tons, 17 knots, Polar Class 6, 114 suites. Scenic’s suite sizes match to the square meter.

A SEABOB is a handheld underwater scooter. Scenic includes them on selected warm-water Discovery Voyages, not in the Kimberley or New Zealand.

Same hull, same suites. Different seas.

If you’re torn between two departures on different yachts, decide on the route. Then ask us which one carries the toys you want on that route, since the list changes by region.

03
Five suite families

The suites, smallest to largest

Size
344–430 sq ft (32–40 m²)
Categories
Verandah, Deluxe and Grand Deluxe
Outside
Private veranda
Service
Butler, as in every suite
Laundry
Self-service launderette, free
The lead-in suites, and still larger than the standard cabin on most polar ships we cover, in our reading.
Size
495–538 sq ft (46–50 m²)
Where
Deck 9
Outside
Private veranda
Laundry
Up to 10 pieces a day included
The step up that adds laundry service. Worth pricing on long polar voyages where layers pile up.
Size
1,130–1,184 sq ft (105–110 m²)
Categories
Panorama and Grand Panorama
Inside
Dining table for four
Laundry
Up to 10 pieces a day included
Extras
Private jet Buenos Aires–Ushuaia on Peninsula voyages, November 2028 to April 2029
The jet applies to Panorama and higher on the 2028–29 Antarctic Peninsula season only, per Scenic’s July 2026 release.
Size
2,098 sq ft (195 m²)
Outside
Spa pool terrace
Inside
Dining for up to eight
Laundry
Up to 10 pieces a day included
One of the largest suites at sea on an expedition-capable ship, by our reading of the fleets we cover.
Size
2,658 sq ft (247 m²)
Layout
The Owner’s Penthouse plus a Spa Suite’s features
For
Families or two couples traveling together
Scenic lists it on both yachts. Ask us for the fare; it rarely appears in a “from” price.

Sizes are from Scenic’s US Eclipse page, in square feet, and its Eclipse II page, in square meters, and the two sets agree. Brochure prices are per person, double occupancy, and Scenic’s FAQ offers special solo fares only on selected voyages.

Solo space is a matter of luck, not a published rate, so ask us early if you’re traveling alone.

04
Air, sea and ice

The expedition kit, with its conditions

From Scenic’s ship pages, FAQs and its helicopter and submersible page.

KitWhat Scenic publishesCostThe catch
HelicoptersTwo Airbus H130-T2s per yachtExtra; no price publishedGrounded in Greenland, Svalbard, Canada, South Georgia, the UK and more (Scenic’s fleet-wide list)
SubmersibleNeptune I and II: up to eight guests plus a pilot, to 100 mExtra; no price publishedNot in the Arctic, Europe, the Mediterranean or New Zealand
ZodiacsUsed on Discovery excursions; count not statedIncludedWheelchair users and walkers can’t be carried
Kayaks and paddleboardsWhere conditions allowIncludedPaddleboards can’t be used in the Arctic
SEABOBs, trampolineEclipse II, warm-water Discovery VoyagesIncludedNot in the Kimberley or New Zealand
Discovery TeamUp to 20 polar experts on the Ross Sea voyageIncludedTeam size on other voyages not stated
Parka and bootsParka to keep, polar boots on loanIncludedPolar voyages only

Every flight and dive is subject to regulatory approval, weight limits, medical approval and the weather, per Scenic. None publishes a weight figure.

Scenic’s fare page for the Ross Sea lists optional helicopter flightseeing over the McMurdo Dry Valleys — the clearest case for the aircraft on any itinerary we read.

The sub is the rarer experience, not the easier one. Its “not operational” list covers more ground, including every Arctic region Eclipse sails.

Want both on one trip? Book the Antarctic Peninsula and ask us to confirm each is offered on your date.

05
Filter by yacht and region

Who sails where, 2026 to 2029

Try “Scenic Eclipse” with “Pacific & Australia”. Nothing answers, and that’s the point.

Yacht
Region
Eclipse

Antarctica and the Weddell Sea

Nov 2026–Feb 2027; Nov 2027–Feb 2028

Antarctica in Depth from Buenos Aires, the Weddell Sea and South Georgia.

Helicopters and sub both possible.

Eclipse II

Antarctica

Nov 2026–Feb 2027; Nov 2027–Mar 2028

The same Peninsula voyages, then the Chilean fjords and Panama in March 2027, on to the Caribbean in April.

Helicopters and sub both possible.

Eclipse

Svalbard and the High Arctic

June–July 2027 and 2028

Glaciers and Wildlife of Svalbard, then Wonders of the High Arctic to Reykjavik.

No helicopter or sub here.

Eclipse

Greenland, Iceland and Hudson Bay

August–September 2027 and 2028

East Greenland, Disko Bay, Hudson Bay and Churchill’s polar bears.

Ship and Zodiac only.

Eclipse

Mediterranean and Atlantic Europe

April–May 2027 and 2028

Spain, the Riviera and Italy, then Western Europe and Scotland.

Helicopters where permitted.

Eclipse II

Mediterranean, Baltic and Northern Europe

April–September 2027

Italy, Greece and Croatia; then London to Bergen, the Baltics and Lisbon.

Sub not operational in Europe.

Eclipse

US East Coast and the Caribbean

September–October 2027 and 2028

New York to the Bahamas, the Grenadines and the Panama Canal.

Sub can’t dive in US waters.

Eclipse II

South Pacific and the Kimberley

March–July 2028

Easter Island and Tahiti to the Solomons, then the Kimberley from Broome and Darwin.

SEABOBs, not in the Kimberley.

Eclipse II

Indonesia, Australia and New Zealand

August–November 2028

The Spice Islands, Komodo and Raja Ampat, Australia’s east coast and New Zealand’s fjords.

Sub not operational in New Zealand.

Eclipse II

Antarctica’s Ross Sea

December 2028–January 2029

24 days round trip from Christchurch, from $35,676.

Dry Valleys flightseeing listed.

No sailing matches that pair. Widen one filter.

Dates come from Scenic’s US cruise calendar. For the places, read our Antarctica, Antarctica landing sites, Arctic, Greenland, polar bear and Kimberley guides.

Neither yacht lists the Galápagos or Alaska; our Galápagos visitor sites and Alaska expedition guides name lines that do.

06
Seven years, three yachts

How the fleet is taking shape

No sales, renamings or retirements that we found as of November 1, 2026. Here’s each move with the date it takes effect.

2019Launched

Scenic Eclipse

Scenic’s first ocean ship, sold as a discovery yacht, with two helicopters and a submersible aboard.

228 guestsPC6
2021, 2024Refreshed

Enhancements

Scenic’s ship page lists enhancements to Eclipse in both years.

Same hull
Apr 2023Delivered

Scenic Eclipse II

Delivered April 12, 2023, then a maiden voyage from Lisbon to Barcelona, per Seatrade Cruise News.

Neptune II
Aug 2026First call

Maiden Hamburg call

Eclipse II made its maiden call at Hamburg on August 3, 2026, on a Tilbury-to-Stockholm voyage.

Northern Europe
Mar 2028Redeployed

Eclipse II to the Pacific

Tahiti, the Kimberley, Indonesia and New Zealand, then the Ross Sea from December 2028.

Ross Sea
Apr 2028New

Scenic Ikon

The third yacht: 270 guests, 26,500 gross tons, an inaugural from Venice, per Seatrade.

Neptune III15 venues
07
Our picks

Which Scenic yacht, for which trip

Our judgement, built on Scenic’s published specs and calendar. Narrow to a route first, then the date.

Antarctica with a flight

Either yacht, November to February

Both carry two helicopters and a sub to the Peninsula. Pick the departure first, since the ship rarely changes what you get on the ice.

The Arctic and polar bears

Scenic Eclipse, June to September

Svalbard, Greenland and Churchill. Expect a ship-and-Zodiac trip, not a flightseeing one — the aircraft stay on deck.

The Kimberley or the Ross Sea

Scenic Eclipse II, 2028

The only Scenic yacht on either route in the calendar we read.

The Mediterranean, newest

Scenic Ikon, from April 2028

The largest Scenic yacht, with 15 dining venues. Cruise Industry News reported in April 2026 that several early departures had already sold out.

Look elsewhere if

You need an icebreaker

Polar Class 6 won’t reach the North Pole. Compare Ponant’s fleet, with Le Commandant Charcot.

Look elsewhere if

You want a smaller group

Two hundred guests is a large group for Antarctica, in our judgement, and a smaller ship usually means more time ashore each. Compare Aurora or Lindblad’s ships.

08
Fleet questions

Straight answers on the yachts

How many ocean ships does Scenic have?

Two, with a third on the way. Scenic Eclipse (2019) and Scenic Eclipse II (2023) are sister discovery yachts of 228 guests each. Scenic Ikon, a larger 270-guest yacht, is scheduled to join with an inaugural voyage from Venice in April 2028, per Seatrade Cruise News.

What polar class is Scenic Eclipse?

Polar Class 6, on both Scenic Eclipse and Scenic Eclipse II, per Scenic's US ship pages. Each yacht caps guests at 200 in Antarctica, down from 228 elsewhere. Scenic Ikon is reported with an Ice Class 1A Super hull rather than a polar class.

What's different on Scenic Eclipse II?

Less than the name suggests. The two share length, tonnage, 114 suites and suite sizes. Eclipse II has eight bars and lounges to Eclipse's nine, adds SEABOBs and an inflatable trampoline on warm-water voyages, and Seatrade reported an expanded Senses Spa and a new Deck 10 bar before its April 2023 delivery. Its submersible is Neptune II.

How big are the suites on Scenic Eclipse?

From about 344 sq ft. Scenic lists Verandah, Deluxe and Grand Deluxe suites at 344 to 430 sq ft, Spa Suites at 495 to 538, Panorama and Grand Panorama at 1,130 to 1,184, the Owner's Penthouse at 2,098 and the Two-Bedroom Owner's Penthouse at 2,658 sq ft. Every suite has a veranda and butler service.

Where can the helicopters and submarine operate?

Not everywhere. Scenic's pages say the helicopters don't operate in places including Greenland, Svalbard, Canada, South Georgia, the UK and Panama. The submersible doesn't operate in the Arctic, Europe and the Mediterranean, New Zealand or the UK, and the one on Scenic Eclipse can't dive in US waters. Antarctica's peninsula is on neither list. Both are extra-cost.

What is Scenic Ikon?

Scenic's third discovery yacht, due in April 2028. Seatrade Cruise News reports 270 guests in 135 suites, 26,500 gross tons, 205 meters, two Airbus helicopters, a submersible named Scenic Neptune III and 15 dining venues, built at Scenic's own yard in Croatia. Its first season centers on the Mediterranean, with Antarctica to follow.

Plan with Seabound Journeys

Eclipse or Eclipse II? We’ll check your dates on both.

Send the region, the month and how many are traveling. We’ll confirm which yacht runs your departure, which suites are open, and whether the helicopters and sub operate on that route.

  • Which yacht sails your date
  • Suite availability, including solo
  • Whether the aircraft and sub fly on your route

No fee, no obligation. You pay the cruise line’s own fare. A real advisor replies, usually within one business day.

Ask about Scenic’s yachts

Answers come straight from this guide.

How many ocean ships does Scenic have?What polar class is Scenic Eclipse?What's different on Scenic Eclipse II?How big are the suites on Scenic Eclipse?

Answers come from our guides and are general information. Confirm details with us before you book.

09
Sources and verification

Where every spec came from

Eclipse and Eclipse II figures are Scenic’s own; Scenic Ikon’s are Seatrade Cruise News’s until Scenic posts a spec page. Feet are our conversion from meters. The picks and the “largest suites” reading are our judgement, not Scenic’s.

Joey Boleslawski · Founder, Seabound Journeys · CLIA-affiliated travel advisor · 20+ years in hospitality

Joey Boleslawski founded Seabound Journeys after more than 20 years in hospitality. This fleet guide was compiled on November 1, 2026 from Scenic’s ship pages, FAQs and calendar, with Seatrade Cruise News and Cruise Industry News for fleet changes. It describes the yachts as Scenic publishes them, not from a firsthand sailing.

One advisor, the whole expedition

The voyage, the gateway night, and the cover that matters out there.

Expedition trips have more moving parts than a Caribbean week: a charter flight, a night in a gateway city, gear lists and an evacuation clause the line sets for you. We book them together and check that the dates and the fine print agree.

How we work. Seabound Journeys is an independent travel advisory. We aren’t affiliated with or endorsed by any cruise line on this page. When we book a voyage, the cruise line pays us a commission, at no extra cost to you; some links may be affiliate links, and they’re always labeled. None of that changes what we write. Fares, ships, itineraries and inclusions change often, so every figure here comes from the line’s own published materials on the date shown, and the line’s booking terms govern.

Last reviewed November 1, 2026 · Seabound Journeys · Founder/advisor Joey Boleslawski · Florida Seller of Travel Ref. No. ST15578 · CLIA-affiliated