Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. Booking.com doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Rydges South Bank, nineteenth of our twenty, is a family hotel, and the draw is a pool and a kids-eat-free offer, not the drive. Rydges lists 304 rooms and suites with family suites, a kids-stay-and-eat-free offer, an outdoor pool, a gym and a sauna, and three places to eat: Bacchus Restaurant, the Soleil Pool Bar and CBD Cafe Bar Dining.
Our routing puts the cruise terminal 13.6 road miles (21.9 km) away, about 30 minutes with no traffic. Rydges says Brisbane Airport is about 30 minutes by car or Airtrain and lists no shuttle. Airtrain takes you to the airport, not the ship, so don't build the morning around it.
Parking is valet only at A$55 (about US$40) a night, with no self-parking. Breakfast is included in some packages — the price varies by rate. Check-in is 3 p.m., check-out 11 a.m.
I'd book it for a family that wants the pool and can live with valet — the page sells children and a pool, not a short drive.
Book it if
- You're a family and the kids will want the pool.
- Three places to eat in the building suit you.
- A gym and a sauna would round out the evening.
Look elsewhere if
- You want to self-park.
- A short drive to the ship matters most to you.
- You need pet rules, and Rydges' page is silent.
Family suites and kids who eat free
Family suites sit inside the 304 rooms and suites, so ask for one when you book.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Extra fees
Not stated
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
Valet only, A$55 a night — no self-parking
Breakfast
Included in some packages — the price varies by rate
Pool
An outdoor pool, a gym and a sauna
Pets
The pages we read for Rydges South Bank don't mention pets.
Food and drink on site
- Bacchus RestaurantOn site
- Soleil Pool BarOn site
- CBD Cafe Bar DiningOn site
Rooms
304 rooms and suites, including family suites. Kids stay and eat free under an offer.
Accessibility
Rydges South Bank’s pages we read don’t detail accessible rooms — so call before you book one.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- GymYes
- Pets allowedNot stated
Glenelg Street to the ship, 13.6 road miles
Rydges puts the airport about 30 minutes away by car or Airtrain, and our routing gives 10.6 road miles.
No shuttle is listed, so the airport leg is Airtrain, a taxi or a rideshare.
Nothing is listed for the ship leg either.
From BNE without a hotel shuttle
Flying in, Brisbane Airport is about 10.6 road miles from Rydges South Bank, roughly 21 minutes with no traffic. The terminal is a separate 30 minutes from Glenelg Street.
Nothing documents a ride to the terminal — Airtrain serves the airport, not the cruise terminal.
Driving? Valet is the only option; the price is under the parking heading.
Rydges prints no ride to the ship, so the taxi is yours to book.
Landing on sail day? Don't detour to South Bank; head straight for the terminal.
Which terminal
the cruise terminalRydges South Bank is 13.6 road miles (21.9 km) from the Brisbane International Cruise Terminal on our routing. Lines and terminal: our Brisbane cruise guide.
Source: portbris.com.auDistance
~13.6 road mi, our routingRydges prints no cruise distance, so the figures here are our routing's.
Source: rydges.comThe ride
No ride to the terminal listedSame finding: no ride, and a train that ends at the airport.
Source: rydges.comTo the ship
No shuttle statedA taxi is about 30 minutes with no traffic — Rydges states no shuttle, and the train won't do it.
Source: rydges.comBacchus, then a long cab
Breakfast is in some packages — so check yours before you go down. The cab from Glenelg Street is a long one.
Pick between Bacchus Restaurant, the Soleil Pool Bar and CBD Cafe Bar Dining, then the pool, the gym or the sauna.
Rydges states no shuttle — book the taxi the night before, not at the door.
Check if your package includes breakfast. Rydges says some do, and the price varies by rate.
If the car stays, hand the keys to the valet first and then take the cab.
Ask Rydges what the A$55 covers, because there's no self-park to fall back on.
What the 20 is made of
South Bank gets 10 for distance, and the pool and three places to eat earn 10 of 15 — that's 20 of 100.
Valet only, A$55
Guest parking
Guest parking pricedValet only, A$55 a night — Rydges doesn't offer self-parking.
Source: rydges.comAt the terminal
Wilson lots A$31 to A$46 a day (about US$20 to US$30)For the cruise, Wilson's P2 lot at the terminal is A$179 (about US$125) for fourteen days prepaid, as of Oct 6, 2026. The parking page covers the rest.
Source: wilsonparking.com.auThree places to eat and a pool
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on siteBacchus Restaurant, the Soleil Pool Bar and CBD Cafe Bar Dining, with an outdoor pool, a gym and a sauna.
Breakfast
Breakfast on some ratesRydges says breakfast is included in some packages, and the price varies by rate.
Address
Glenelg Street, South Bank9 Glenelg Street, South Brisbane QLD 4101
Hotel website
Ask which package you're on
From Rydges' pages
- In at 3 p.m., out at 11 a.m.
- 304 rooms and suites, including family suites, with a kids-stay-and-eat-free offer.
- Self-parking isn't offered.
- Rydges prints no room rate in what we read — so confirm the total.
Still unconfirmed
- Pet rules
- Luggage storage
- Any ride to the terminal
- Room sizes
Rydges prints the valet price and the kids offer. Pet rules aren't in what we read.
If you want self-parking
For the rest: the Brisbane cruise guide, the parking page and the splurge list.
Tell us the party
Send your sail date and party and we'll check Rydges South Bank and its kids offer. The form charges nothing.
The valet, the offer and the airport: your questions
Does Rydges South Bank offer self-parking?
Not here. Rydges says valet only, A$55 a night as of Oct 6, 2026.
Do kids eat free at Rydges South Bank?
Under an offer, yes. Rydges lists kids stay and eat free, so check its conditions for your dates.
Is breakfast included at Rydges South Bank?
In some packages, per Rydges — the price varies by rate.
How far is Rydges South Bank from the airport?
Rydges says about 30 minutes by car or Airtrain. Our routing gives 10.6 road miles (17.1 km) to the airport.
What can I eat at Rydges South Bank?
Bacchus Restaurant, the Soleil Pool Bar and CBD Cafe Bar Dining, per Rydges.
Kids who like pools?
Tell us the party and sail date. We'll check Rydges South Bank and the kids-eat-free offer. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
