Splurge Hotels · JAXPORT

The Nicest Night Near the Ship

Jacksonville’s best hotels aren’t near the ship. The only Five Diamond is in Ponte Vedra Beach, the only Forbes Four-Star is on Amelia Island, and not one of the six gives a distance to JAXPORT. They’re worth it anyway, if you plan the morning.

1AAA Five Diamond hotel within about an hour
1Forbes Four-Star hotel in the area
0splurge picks with a cruise shuttle or a distance to the port
Pick Yours

What kind of splurge is it?

We looked for the nicest places to stay before a JAXPORT cruise, not the most practical — that’s what our top 20 is for. Tap the night you’re after and the pick lights up.

Five of the six are on AAA’s 2026 lists: one Five Diamond and four Four Diamond. The Ritz-Carlton is also Forbes Four-Star. Dune House opened in March 2026 and isn’t rated yet, and we say so rather than stretch.

The Six

Six splurges, and what each one costs you

AAA Five DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Ponte Vedra Inn & Club

The only AAA Five Diamond hotel near Jacksonville, on the ocean since 1928. The resort fee covers parking and valet. It publishes nothing about the cruise, and it's a drive.

You’re paying for

  • Oceanfront
  • Inn Dining Room, The Tavern
  • The Spa at Ponte Vedra Inn & Club
  • The Bar at The Driftwood House

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • A resort fee, $32.34 a night per Expedia
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondForbes Four-Star · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island

The only Forbes Four-Star hotel in the area, with a Four-Star spa and a Four-Star restaurant, on the ocean at Amelia Island. Valet is $50, and the ship is a long way south.

You’re paying for

  • Oceanfront
  • Salt (Forbes Four-Star), Coast
  • The Ritz-Carlton Spa (Forbes Four-Star)
  • The Lobby Bar, Dune Bar

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Omni Amelia Island Resort & Spa

The big one: AAA Four Diamond since 1980, 1,350 acres, 3.5 miles of beach and more restaurants than you'll get to. A $50 daily resort fee, and nothing about the ship.

You’re paying for

  • 3.5 miles of beach
  • Surfcaster, Bob’s Steak & Chop House
  • The Spa at Omni Amelia Island
  • Marsh View Bar and Grill

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • A $50 daily resort charge
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

The Lodge & Club at Ponte Vedra Beach

The Inn & Club's smaller sister: 66 ocean-view rooms, an adults-only pool and a kids' splash park, AAA Four Diamond since 1999. Parking's in the resort fee. Nothing about the ship.

You’re paying for

  • Oceanfront
  • The Oasis, Sea View Grille
  • At the Inn & Club
  • Sea View Lounge

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • Resort fee: Not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
Not on AAA's 2026 listsNew in March 2026; not yet rated · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Dune House Hotel & Spa

The old One Ocean, reborn in March 2026: oceanfront at Atlantic Beach, with a spa and a steakhouse. Too new to be rated, with a $30 nightly fee and $35 parking.

You’re paying for

  • Oceanfront
  • Coastal Farmer
  • The Spa at Dune House
  • Soothsayer

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • A $30 nightly destination fee
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Hilton Jacksonville at Mayo Clinic near Beaches

The only AAA-rated hotel inside Jacksonville city limits, Four Diamond in its first year. A comfortable, new business hotel on the Mayo campus with $12 parking. Not a resort, and not close to the ship.

You’re paying for

  • Coastal Kitchen
  • Coastal Kitchen bar

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
On the Map

Where the six sit

Tap a pin for the hotel’s card, then open the review. The numbers follow the list above.

St. Johns River Atlantic Ocean Nassau Sound Fort George Island JAXPORT Cruise Terminal 6 5 4 3 2 1 10 km · 6.2 mi N
Splurge pick, numbered as belowCruise terminalReal geography: NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline, generalised, so piers and quays aren’t drawn. Pins from the hotel’s own map data, the hotel’s or a map listing’s pin, OpenStreetMap and the US Census Bureau’s address geocoder; address-geocoded pins can sit up to a block off. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Side by Side

The six, side by side

Hover or tap a hotel to light its column. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.

FeaturePonte Vedra Inn & ClubThe Ritz-Carlton, Amelia IslandOmni Amelia IslandThe Lodge & ClubDune HouseHilton at Mayo Clinic
AAA ratingFive DiamondFour DiamondFour DiamondFour Diamond—Four Diamond
Forbes Travel Guide—Four-Star————
On the beachOceanfrontOceanfront3.5 miles of beachOceanfrontOceanfront—
RestaurantInn Dining Room, The TavernSalt (Forbes Four-Star), CoastSurfcaster, Bob’s Steak & Chop HouseThe Oasis, Sea View GrilleCoastal FarmerCoastal Kitchen
Bar or drinksThe Bar at The Driftwood HouseThe Lobby Bar, Dune BarMarsh View Bar and GrillSea View LoungeSoothsayerCoastal Kitchen bar
SpaThe Spa at Ponte Vedra Inn & ClubThe Ritz-Carlton Spa (Forbes Four-Star)The Spa at Omni Amelia IslandAt the Inn & ClubThe Spa at Dune House—
BreakfastPaidPaidPaidPaidPaidPaid
Kitchen——————
Resort fee$32.34/night per ExpediaNone stated$50/day resort chargeNot stated$30/night destination feeNone stated
ParkingIn the resort fee$50 valet$25 self / $40 valetIn the resort fee$35 overnight$12 self
Shuttle to the port——————
Distance to the portNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
The Trade

Splurge the night, plan the morning

None of these six drives you to the ship, publishes a rate to leave your car, or gives a distance to the terminal. That’s the trade for the nicer night. The terminal is at Dames Point, on the north bank of the St. Johns, and the nice hotels aren’t.

The two Ponte Vedra resorts are south, down the coast. The Ritz-Carlton and the Omni are north, on Amelia Island. Dune House is out at Atlantic Beach, and the Hilton is on the Southside. Book the car the night before and check the drive on a map, because none of them will tell you.

Driving? JAXPORT’s own lot is $17 a cruise night, tax included, right by the terminal. Want a nicer room with the easy morning? The Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport ranks first in our top 20, and its package includes the ride.

Airport taxis
Need a ride from the airport?

Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.

Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.

Also Considered

Four that didn’t make the six

HotelWhy it isn’t in the six
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & SpaHome of TPC Sawgrass, with four pools and a shuttle to a beach club, but it isn't on AAA's 2026 lists. Self-parking $25, valet $38.
Casa Marina Hotel & RestaurantA 1925 historic boutique on the sand at Jacksonville Beach with a rooftop lounge; 23 rooms, no pool and no spa. Charming, not a splurge.
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville RiverfrontThe biggest downtown hotel, with a 19th-floor rooftop pool and Morton's, but it isn't on AAA's 2026 lists and parking starts at $34.
The Cloister and The Lodge at Sea IslandAAA Five Diamond, both of them, but on Sea Island, Georgia, more than an hour north. Worth knowing, not worth the drive the night before a cruise.
Splurging on the coast? What the Ritz-Carlton, the Omni and the St. Augustine hotels charge to park, and whether you need a car there. St. Augustine and Amelia Island before or after your cruise
Not Yet

Two names you’ll hear, and where they stand

Not open yet
Four Seasons Hotel Jacksonville
Under construction at the Shipyards downtown, with 170 rooms and a marina. Four Seasons' own pages say 2027. We'll add it when it opens.
Renamed
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
It became the Marriott Jacksonville Downtown in April 2022. It isn't on AAA's 2026 lists.
Sources: news.wjct.org
FAQ

Splurge hotels FAQ

What is the nicest hotel near JAXPORT?

By the ratings, Ponte Vedra Inn & Club. It's AAA Five Diamond, and has been since 2002, the only Five Diamond hotel within about an hour of Jacksonville. The Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island is the area's only Forbes Four-Star hotel. Neither one gives a distance to the port, and none of the six does.

Are there Five Diamond hotels near JAXPORT?

One. Ponte Vedra Inn & Club, in Ponte Vedra Beach. AAA's 2026 Five Diamond list has nothing in Jacksonville itself; the next nearest are The Cloister and The Lodge at Sea Island, in Georgia. Four more on our list are Four Diamond: the Ritz-Carlton and the Omni on Amelia Island, the Lodge & Club, and the Hilton at Mayo Clinic.

Do luxury hotels in Jacksonville have a cruise shuttle?

None of the six publishes one, or a distance to the terminal. The Ponte Vedra resorts' concierge arranges cars for a fee they don't list, and the Omni names two outside car services. Otherwise it's a cab or a rideshare to Dames Point.

Can I leave my car at a splurge hotel while I cruise?

None of the six says so. Parking runs from $12 a day at the Hilton at Mayo Clinic to $50 valet at the Ritz-Carlton, and the two Ponte Vedra resorts fold it into the resort fee. None mentions the cruise. If you're driving, JAXPORT's own lot is $17 a cruise night, tax included.

Is the Four Seasons Jacksonville open?

Not yet. Four Seasons' own pages say 2027, at the Shipyards downtown. And the Omni Jacksonville is gone: it became the Marriott Jacksonville Downtown in 2022.

Want us to book the splurge?

Tell us your sail date and the kind of night you want. A real advisor checks rates and lines up the ride. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Compare 0 of 3