Pre-Cruise Hotels · Tokyo and Yokohama

13Thirteenth of 18 · Shinagawa and Takanawa

InterContinental The Strings Tokyo

A 201-room InterContinental on floors 26 to 32 of Shinagawa East One Tower, with three restaurants, about 5.5 road miles from Harumi.

Ship ride not statedNo ride documentedBreakfast not stated
Booking.com rates

No payment on the form. We check rates for your night and reply within one business day.

25of 67
Night-Before Score
How it lands

IC The Strings is thirteenth, level on 25 with the Holiday Inn and the Prince and behind the first on distance. It occupies floors 26 to 32 of Shinagawa East One Tower, with three restaurants, about 5.5 road miles (8.9 km) from Harumi by our routing.

IHG lists 201 rooms and names Shinagawa and Sengakuji stations. We found no single published line from either to a terminal station, so there are no rail points.

Covered parking has 11 spaces with in and out privileges, and IHG prints no rate here. Late check-out is available. IHG allows guide dogs and service animals only.

Book it for Shinagawa Station and three restaurants on the last night, not for the ship, and plan a taxi to Harumi, about ¥3,900 (about US$25) on the meter by our arithmetic.

Book it if

  • You want Shinagawa Station and three restaurants, not a rail link to the ship
  • Late check-out matters
  • Harumi is your terminal

Look elsewhere if

  • You're bringing a pet.
  • You want a pool.
  • You want parking for more than a few cars.
Why 25

Tied on 25 of 67, behind on distance

25No. 13 of 18

Distance carried a mid-table score; no rail, no breakfast and no pool took the rest. The hub explains the scoring.

The Night

Floors 26 to 32, then a long cab

From IHG's page and our routing to Harumi.

Evening
Dinner in the tower

Three restaurants on site and a 24-hour fitness center — per IHG. No pool or spa is listed.

Before bed
Book the taxi

IHG lists no ride to the ship — a taxi to Harumi is about ¥3,900 on the meter by our arithmetic.

Sail morning
Breakfast is unstated

IHG's page doesn't say whether breakfast is included.

Heading out
To Harumi

Harumi is about 5.5 road miles (8.9 km) away by our routing, 13 minutes with no traffic. On a weekday morning it can run slower.

Boarding
Shinagawa Station

IHG lists Shinagawa Station — we found no single published line from there to a terminal station, so there are no rail points.

Three Restaurants

Three restaurants high in Shinagawa East One Tower

The evening

Food or bar on site

Three restaurants on site and a 24-hour fitness center — per IHG. No pool or spa is listed.

Breakfast

Not stated

IHG's page doesn't say whether breakfast is included.

Address

Konan, Shinagawa

Shinagawa East One Tower, 2-16-1 Konan, Tokyo 108-8282
Hotel website

Harumi or TICT

Harumi and TICT are within half a mile of each other, and both far

Shinagawa 14 12 5 1 TICT · Tokyo International Cruise Terminal, OdaibaT 13 500 m · 0.3 mi N
This hotelOther ranked hotels, tap one to open itCruise terminalStraight line to the ship, not a routeReal geography: NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline, generalised; reclaimed land at Odaiba, Aomi and Harumi is a rough outline sketched around our pins, not surveyed, and piers and canals aren’t drawn. Map pins from the Esri World Geocoder, address matches, not surveyed points. The terminal pins are Esri’s point for each terminal’s street address, not a berth; Daikoku Pier is the Esri point for Daikoku-futo.

Haneda is about 7.3 road miles from the hotel by our routing, and Harumi about 5.5, roughly 13 minutes with no traffic. Every question mark below is a ride you book yourself.

?? 7.3 mi ~5.5 mi, our routing HNDNo. 13The ship
Leg 1 · Haneda Airport to the hotel
No shuttle

IHG lists no shuttle to Haneda.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No ride documented

IHG lists Shinagawa Station — we found no single published line from there to a terminal station, so there are no rail points.

Our routing: about 5.5 road miles (8.9 km) to Harumi, 13 minutes with no traffic.

From HND without a hotel ride

By our routing Haneda is about 7.3 road miles from the hotel, roughly 13 minutes with no traffic, and a taxi is about ¥5,200 (about US$35) on the meter by our arithmetic. Rail from Haneda to Shinagawa is about 15 minutes, per the airport, and the airport page lists the rest.

?? miles not measured ~5.5 mi, our routing NRTNo. 13The ship
Leg 1 · Narita Airport to the hotel
No shuttle

None to Narita either.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No ride documented

Same station, same finding — no single line to a terminal.

Our routing: about 5.5 road miles (8.9 km) to Harumi, 13 minutes with no traffic.

From NRT without a hotel ride

Narita is about 60 minutes from central Tokyo by road, per our routing to the terminals, and the N'EX runs to Tokyo and Shinagawa. More on the airport page.

Flight lands on sail day? Skip the night and use the airport page to time the ride.

Which terminal

Terminal varies

Harumi, the nearest terminal we measured, is about 5.5 road miles from the hotel, roughly 13 minutes with no traffic — by our routing. It takes ships up to about 60,000 GT on a single berth, and we found no line that sails from it or any nearest station in the port's pages. TICT, the other terminal we measured, is about 6.0 road miles and 13 minutes away; your cruise documents name yours, and the Tokyo cruise guide has the rest.

Source: kouwan.metro.tokyo.lg.jp

Distance

~5.5 road mi, our routing

IHG names Shinagawa and Sengakuji stations and no terminal. Harumi is about 5.5 road miles (8.9 km) by our routing, 13 minutes with no traffic; TICT is 6.0 miles.

Source: ihg.com

To the ship

No shuttle stated

The hotel doesn't run to the port — so book the cab when you check in. The 5.5 road miles to Harumi take about 13 minutes on clear roads.

Source: ihg.com
Shinagawa Rail

Shinagawa Station is the nearest rail, and it doesn't go to a ship

By rail

No ride documented

IHG lists Shinagawa Station — we found no single published line from there to a terminal station, so there are no rail points.

Source: ihg.com

By taxi

Our arithmetic

About ¥3,900 by our arithmetic — the Tokyo taxi association's tariff over our 8.9 km route. It's an estimate, not a quote, and tolls and the night surcharge come on top.

Source: taxi-tokyo.or.jp

Bags

Ask first

IHG lists storage space for luggage. At TICT, 6.0 road miles from the hotel, the layout lists baggage reception on the first floor, while Holland America says it has no storage service at the pier.

Source: ihg.com

If you're driving, Tokyo cruise parking has the terminal lots; the hub's ride section compares the rides.

Unknowns

Breakfast terms and room sizes

Worth knowing

  • Check-in 15:00, check-out 12:00; late check-out available.
  • 201 rooms; IHG's page says 7 floors, though the hotel occupies floors 26 to 32.
  • Covered parking has 11 spaces.
  • Luggage storage space is available.
  • IC The Strings prints no tax figure, and Tokyo's accommodation tax as SoraNews24, Japan Travel and nippon.com report it is ¥100 (about US$1) a night per person in the ¥10,000 to ¥14,999 (about US$65–95) band and ¥200 (about US$1) from ¥15,000 (about US$95), so check your booking, since we didn't read the Metropolitan Government's own page.

What we couldn’t confirm

  • Breakfast terms
  • Room sizes
  • Accessible rooms

All from IHG's own page or its brand's, read October 5, 2026, unless we name another source. Ask about breakfast terms and room sizes.

Parking and Pets

Eleven parking spaces and guide dogs only

Times, rooms and policies from IHG. Breakfast terms and room sizes are the gaps — ask when you book.

Check-in and check-out

Check-in15:00
Check-out12:00

Minimum age

—

Not stated by the hotel.

Extra fees

Not stated

Wi-Fi

Not stated

Parking for your stay

Not stated

Breakfast

Not stated

Pool

No pool or spa listed; a 24-hour fitness center

Pets

Guide dogs and service animals only, per IHG.

Food and drink on site

  • Three on-site restaurantsPer IHG

Rooms

201 rooms on 7 floors, per the page.

Accessibility

IC The Strings’s pages we read don’t detail accessible rooms, so call before you book one.

On site

  • EV chargingNot stated
  • Guest laundryNot stated
  • GymYes
  • Pets allowedNo

Nearby, by the hotel’s count

  • Shinagawa Stationlisted nearby
  • Sengakuji Stationlisted nearby

Distances as IC The Strings or its brand lists them, kept in its own units.

Also worth knowing

  • Only guide dogs and service animals
  • Late check-out is available
  • Luggage storage space is available
Other Options

The other 25s and their neighbours

Then the Tokyo cruise guide, Tokyo cruise parking and the splurge list.

Ready when you are

Dinner on the upper floors, a cab from Shinagawa in the morning.

Give us your sail date and we'll check IC The Strings for the night before. No payment on the form.

Booking.com rates
Answers

IC The Strings, five answers

How many restaurants does InterContinental The Strings Tokyo have?

Three on site, per IHG, plus a fitness center open 24 hours. No pool or spa is listed.

How far is InterContinental The Strings Tokyo from Harumi?

About 5.5 road miles (8.9 km) by our routing, 13 minutes with no traffic. TICT is about 6.0 miles, 13 minutes.

Can I park at InterContinental The Strings Tokyo?

Covered parking for 11 cars, with in and out privileges, per IHG. The page prints no rate.

Does InterContinental The Strings Tokyo allow pets?

Guide dogs and service animals only, per IHG.

Does InterContinental The Strings Tokyo have a shuttle to Haneda or Narita?

No, per IHG — our routing puts Haneda about 7.3 road miles away, 13 minutes with no traffic.

Booking the cruise too?

Tell us your line and sail date; we'll confirm the terminal and price IC The Strings for the night before. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

IC The StringsNo. 13 of 18 · night before your cruise
Booking.com rates