Splurge Hotels · Seattle

The Nicest Night Near the Ship

Seattle’s top-rated rooms sit along the downtown waterfront and around Pike Place Market, and only one of them is a walk from a cruise pier. The Edgewater is AAA Four Diamond, over the water, 0.2 miles from Pier 66. The Four Seasons is the one Forbes Four-Star, and nowhere in Washington is Five Diamond.

5AAA Four Diamond hotels in our six
1Forbes Four-Star, the Four Seasons
0.2 mithe Edgewater to Pier 66
Pick Yours

What kind of splurge is it?

We looked for the nicest places to stay before a cruise from Seattle. One of the six, the Edgewater, also makes our top 20, because it’s a walk from Pier 66; the other five are the better rooms, and the morning is yours to arrange. Tap the night you’re after and the pick lights up.

Five are AAA Four Diamond for 2026. Thompson Seattle has no AAA rating — Forbes lists it as Recommended, and we say so rather than stretch.

The Six

Six splurges, and what each one costs you

AAA Four DiamondForbes Four-Star; Four-Star spa · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Four Seasons Hotel Seattle

Seattle's one Forbes Four-Star, with a heated infinity pool over Elliott Bay and noon check-out. A block from Pike Place Market.

You’re paying for

  • No; over Elliott Bay
  • Goldfinch Tavern
  • Full-service spa
  • INFINITY pool + bar (summer)

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Inn at the Market

AAA Four Diamond inside Pike Place Market, with a Cruise Package that covers breakfast and a town car from the airport.

You’re paying for

  • No; over the Market
  • Café Campagne; Bacco Café
  • In-room massage

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
Not on AAA's 2026 Diamond listsForbes Recommended · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Thompson Seattle

Forbes Recommended, with The Nest's rooftop bar over Puget Sound and dogs free. Steps from Pike Place Market.

You’re paying for

  • No; a rooftop over the Sound
  • Conversation
  • The Nest

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • A daily destination fee, amount not shown
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondForbes: Soon to be Rated · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Fairmont Olympic Hotel

Seattle's 1924 grande dame, AAA Four Diamond, with a solarium pool and Shuckers Oyster Bar.

You’re paying for

  • No; downtown
  • The George
  • Penelope & The Beauty Bar
  • Shuckers; the Olympic Bar

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • A $35 nightly Urban Experience Fee
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Hotel 1000

AAA Four Diamond on First Avenue, with a spa and a Topgolf Swing Suite. Half a mile from the Aquarium.

You’re paying for

  • No; First Avenue
  • All Water
  • The Spa at Hotel 1000
  • Rosebay; The Nineteenth

The catch

  • Breakfast not stated
  • A $33.17 nightly destination fee
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
On the Map

Where the six sit

Tap a pin for the hotel’s card, then open the review. The numbers follow the list above.

Elliott Bay Belltown South Lake Union Bell Street Cruise Terminal Smith Cove Cruise Terminal 6 5 4 3 2 1 1 km · 0.6 mi N
Splurge pick, numbered as belowCruise terminalReal geography: neighbourhood boundaries from the City of Seattle and NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline. Pins from the hotel’s or a map listing’s pin, OpenStreetMap, the US Census Bureau’s address geocoder, Wikipedia and GeoNames; address-geocoded pins can sit up to a block off. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Side by Side

The six, side by side

Hover or tap a hotel to light its column. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.

FeatureThe EdgewaterFour Seasons SeattleInn at the MarketThompson SeattleFairmont OlympicHotel 1000
AAA ratingFour Diamond, since 2006Four Diamond, since 2009Four Diamond, since 2017Not on AAA's 2026 Diamond listsFour Diamond, since 2010Four Diamond, since 2007
Forbes Travel Guide—Four-Star; Four-Star spa—RecommendedSoon to be Rated—
On the beachNo; over the water on Pier 67No; over Elliott BayNo; over the MarketNo; a rooftop over the SoundNo; downtownNo; First Avenue
RestaurantSix SevenGoldfinch TavernCafé Campagne; Bacco CaféConversationThe GeorgeAll Water
Bar or drinksSix Seven LoungeINFINITY pool + bar (summer)—The NestShuckers; the Olympic BarRosebay; The Nineteenth
Spa—Full-service spaIn-room massage—Penelope & The Beauty BarThe Spa at Hotel 1000
BreakfastPaidPaidPaid; vouchers in the Cruise PackagePaidPaidNot stated
Kitchen——————
Resort fee$34 a nightNone statedNone statedDaily fee, amount not shown$35 a night$33.17 a night
Parking$66 valet$75 valetValet; fee not publishedValet; rate not read$81.29 valet; garage from $7$60 to $70
Shuttle to the portWalk: 0.2 miles to Pier 66—————
Distance to the port0.2 miles to Pier 66Not statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
The Trade

Splurge the night, and plan the morning

None of the six publishes a ride to the ship. The Edgewater is a walk to Pier 66; from the others it’s a short cab to Pier 66 — about a mile by our road estimates — or a longer one out to Pier 91 in Interbay, about 3.3 to 3.9.

The fees add up — nightly, not once. The Fairmont charges $35 a night, the Edgewater $34 and Hotel 1000 $33.17, and valet runs from $60 at Hotel 1000, on Hilton’s page, to $81.29 at the Fairmont (checked Oct 2, 2026).

Want the ride handled? Hotel Ändra, No. 1 in our top 20, sells a Cruise Package with a shuttle to either pier and parking while you sail, and Hyatt House, No. 2, runs its own $12 shuttle to both piers, with free breakfast.

Airport taxis
Need a ride from the airport?

Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.

Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.

Also Considered

Five that didn’t make the six

HotelWhy it isn’t in the six
1 Hotel SeattleAAA Four Diamond since 2007, carried over from the Pan Pacific. It's in South Lake Union, inland from both piers; its site mentions a $29 nightly amenity fee but no valet rate.
Lotte Hotel SeattleAAA Four Diamond and Forbes Recommended, but its site wouldn't load for us, so nothing on it is verified.
Grand Hyatt Seattle and Hyatt at Olive 8Both AAA Four Diamond, in the convention district. We haven't checked their cruise details.
The Charter Hotel and The Sound Hotel BelltownBoth AAA Four Diamond. We haven't checked their cruise details yet.
Eastside Four DiamondsW Bellevue, the Woodmark in Kirkland and Willows Lodge in Woodinville are across Lake Washington, the wrong side of town for a sail morning.
A mountain day before you sail? Paradise at Mount Rainier is about 2 hours 52 minutes from Pier 66 with no traffic, our estimate, and the park charges $30 a vehicle. Mount Rainier and the Olympics by car · Seattle rental cars
Names You’ll Hear

Two names you’ll hear, and where they stand

Now 1 Hotel Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
The Pan Pacific in South Lake Union is now 1 Hotel Seattle, with the same 153 rooms; the builder's February 2025 news page set the opening for that April. AAA lists 1 Hotel Seattle as Four Diamond.
Open; two brands list it
Hotel 1000
Hotel 1000's own site now books through Hyatt's Unbound Collection; Hilton still lists it as LXR Hotels & Resorts. Check which brand before you book on points. It's one of our six.
FAQ

Splurge hotels FAQ

What is the nicest hotel near the Seattle cruise terminals?

By the ratings, the Four Seasons: it's the only Forbes Four-Star hotel on Forbes's Seattle page, and AAA Four Diamond, with a heated infinity pool over Elliott Bay. Nearest a pier, the Edgewater is AAA Four Diamond and 0.2 miles from Pier 66 by its own count; it ranks No. 6 in our top 20.

Are there Five Diamond hotels in Seattle?

No. AAA's 2026 Five Diamond list has no hotel in Washington, and Forbes's Seattle page has no Five-Star. The top AAA rating in town is Four Diamond, and five of our six have it.

Do luxury hotels near the Seattle cruise port have a cruise shuttle?

None of our six publishes one — and the Edgewater doesn't need it for Pier 66, 0.2 miles away. The Four Seasons' house car runs within a mile but doesn't name the pier, and Inn at the Market's Cruise Package covers the airport, not the ship.

Can I leave my car at a splurge hotel while I cruise?

None of the six publishes cruise parking — valet runs from $60 to $81.29 a night where it's priced, and that's for your stay, not your sailing. Pier 91's lot is from $27 a day and Pier 66's garage $33, per the port.

What happened to the Pan Pacific Seattle?

It became 1 Hotel Seattle in South Lake Union, set to open in April 2025 per the builder's news page, and AAA lists it as Four Diamond. It's inland from both piers, so it isn't one of our six.

Want us to book the splurge?

Tell us your sail date and the kind of night you want. A real advisor checks rates and lines up the ride. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Compare 0 of 3