Fly into Changi. By our routing it’s about 12.7 miles (20.4 km) and 20 minutes from Marina Bay Cruise Centre with no traffic, and 15.6 miles (25 minutes) from HarbourFront.
Changi puts a taxi to the city at about 30 minutes and S$25 to S$45 (about US$20–35). Our own arithmetic for Changi to Marina Bay Cruise Centre is about S$24 to S$25 (about US$19–20) off-peak, including the Changi pickup surcharge and before waiting time, ERP tolls, booking or payment fees. The cruise-centre pickup surcharge does not apply on arrival.
The MRT is a few dollars by card, with a change at Tanah Merah or Expo. The Singapore Cruise Centre says 40 to 50 minutes to HarbourFront.
Which terminal is yours depends on the ship — the table below is each line’s own wording. The two terminals are about 4.5 road miles (7.3 km) apart.
Take the MRT if
- It’s one or two of you, each pulling a single case
- You’ve got time before check-in
- You’re heading for HarbourFront, which sits on the line
Take a taxi or app if
- You land the morning you sail
- Three or four of you share the fare
- Your ship is at Marina Bay, where the train ends a walk or a shuttle away
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Marina Bay or HarbourFront: whose ship is yours?
Two terminals, and your ship uses one of them. The table is each line’s own wording, read October 5, 2026 — ship lists change, so check yours.
| Line | Terminal it names | What we found | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Caribbean | Marina Bay Cruise Centre, 61 Marina Coastal Drive | Its driving-directions page names the terminal; ships and dates weren’t read | royalcaribbean.com |
| Celebrity | Marina Bay Cruise Centre | Its Singapore port page names the terminal; ships and dates weren’t read | celebritycruises.com |
| Disney Cruise Line | Marina Bay Cruise Centre | The Disney Adventure; its pre-arrival pages give the terminal address | disneycruise.disney.go.com |
| Holland America | Marina Bay Cruise Centre | Its Singapore port page gives the 61 Marina Coastal Drive address; ships and dates weren’t read | hollandamerica.com |
| Princess | Names both terminals | Docking at the Singapore Cruise Centre or Marina Bay Cruise Centre, with no ship assigned on the page | princess.com |
| Seabourn | Names both terminals | Calls Marina Bay the newer counterpart to the older Singapore Cruise Centre, with no ship assigned | seabourn.com |
| The HarbourFront schedule | The Singapore Cruise Centre’s own cruise schedule | Star Voyager (Star Cruises) most often; Viking Venus arriving October 31 and leaving November 1; Oceania’s Nautica on November 4; Greg Mortimer November 8–12; Aegean Paradise; Doulos Hope | singaporecruise.com.sg |
Marina Bay Cruise Centre has two berths and is run by SATS-Creuers Cruise Services. STB’s page on its upgrade says more ride-hailing lots and a looped shuttle from Marina South Pier MRT on select cruise days.
The Singapore Cruise Centre at 5 HarbourFront Avenue moved to a new building after the old terminal’s last day on 14 July 2026.
No hotel we read sells a cruise package or a ride to the ship — plan your own. Princess and Disney sell airport transfers, and neither prints a Singapore price on the pages we read.
East end to south coast
Changi sits at the eastern end of the island.
Marina Bay Cruise Centre is at Marina South, on the Marina Bay side of the south coast, and the Singapore Cruise Centre is at HarbourFront, opposite Sentosa. They’re about 4.5 road miles apart by our routing.
Changi, in one card
Fares and dates are on Booking.com. Land the day before, not the morning you sail.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
What Changi to the ship costs
The taxi rows are per car — Changi’s own range to the city, and our arithmetic for Marina Bay. The MRT row is per adult, by card, on LTA-scheme fares in effect from 27 December 2025.
| Taxi to the city, the low end of Changi's range | — |
| Taxi, Changi to Marina Bay Cruise Centre, off-peak (our arithmetic, distance-only estimate; excludes waiting time, ERP tolls, booking and payment fees) | — |
| Taxi to the city, the high end of Changi's range | — |
One way, in Singapore dollars, as printed on October 5, 2026. The second row is our own arithmetic and leaves out ERP charges and booking fees. Viator, a reseller, lists Marina Bay Cruise Centre to Changi from US$68 a group (about S$87 (about US$70) at the ECB rate) — confirm with the operator it books.
One third-party listing puts the rental desks at Terminals 1 to 4, and we didn’t read an official Changi page.
Discover Cars showed rentals at Changi from $185 a day on October 5, 2026, with the currency not stated on the page, so check it at checkout. The price moves daily.
Meter, MRT and a suitcase
LTA’s tariff for a standard taxi starts at S$4.40 to S$5.20 (about US$3–4) on the meter, then 26 cents per 400 m to 10 km and per 350 m beyond.
Peak hours add 25% of the metered fare (weekdays 6:00 to 9:29 and 17:00 to 23:59), and midnight to 5:59 a.m. adds 50%.
Changi adds a surcharge of S$6 (about US$5), or S$8 (about US$6) from 5 p.m. to midnight, and the booking fee is S$2.30 (about US$2). Marina Bay Cruise Centre adds S$5 (about US$4) from 7 a.m. to before 5 p.m. and S$3 (about US$2) at other times, on taxis picked up there. ComfortDelGro’s current surcharge table.
The MRT leaves from Changi Airport station. Changi’s two pages disagree on the exact first and last trains — from about 5:20 a.m. to around midnight — so check on the day.
Contactless Visa, Mastercard, NETS and Amex cards work on SimplyGo without registering.
At Marina South Pier, Royal Caribbean puts the walk to the terminal at about 600 m on one page and about ten minutes on another, and a looped shuttle runs on select cruise days.
Smarte Carte at Changi will send bags to a hotel for S$35 (about US$25) for the first bag and S$30 (about US$25) for each extra, but it doesn’t say it delivers to a terminal. Delivery is by 3 p.m., too late for a morning check-in, so it’s for the night before, not sail day.
Bounce lists luggage storage across Singapore from S$3.50 (about US$3) a day, including S$11 (about US$9) at Jewel Changi, and none confirmed near either terminal.
For the terminals and the lines, see our Singapore cruise guide; for the HarbourFront lot, Singapore cruise parking.
Cutting it fine: Princess’s four hours, and ours
Princess is the one line we read that prints a cut-off — land no later than 4 hours before the ship leaves. The second row is our own margin, not a rule.
- Princess's latest arrivalPrincess: embarking guests land no later than 4 hours before the ship leaves.—
- The MRT or a taxi, with time to spareOur rule of thumb, not a line's: land at least 5 hours before the ship leaves.—
Your boarding pass sets your check-in time. Royal Caribbean asks you to arrive in your app time slot and no later than 1.5 hours before sailing, and its general guidance is all aboard by 3:30 p.m. — check the day-of itinerary for your ship.
Disney has you choose a port arrival time about 30 days ahead. We’d land the day before, because a morning landing leaves nothing for a delayed bag.
Land the day before. Let the morning be easy.
We ranked twenty hotels for a Singapore cruise, from Sentosa to Little India. None runs a shuttle to the ship. Tell us the flight and the ship, and we’ll pick the night that fits your landing.
Flying home after the cruise
No line we read publishes a disembarkation time for Singapore.
Princess says to book the first flight no earlier than 6 hours after the ship arrives. The Singapore Cruise Centre says HarbourFront is 40 to 50 minutes from Changi by MRT, and Changi puts a ride to the city at about 30 minutes.
Enter your flight time and when you expect to be ashore, and the planner sets out the ride to Changi and the wait at the gate.
Partner links (transfers, rental cars, luggage storage) may earn Seabound Journeys a commission at no extra cost to you. They don't change the plan, which is built only from what each company publishes.
The night in between
One night in town takes the clock off sail morning — after a long flight you’ll want a bed, a short taxi to the ship and breakfast first.
None of our twenty runs a shuttle to the ship.
Two hotels at the airport scored below the twenty — Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, about 12.5 road miles from Marina Bay Cruise Centre, and YOTELAIR at Jewel, about 12.6. The Changi Transit Hotel is airside, so it’s for a layover, not the night before.
Six for the night before
Our top six, with the drive from Changi to each by our routing. Scores are out of 100 for the night before, from what each hotel prints about the ride, breakfast, distance to the ship and the evening.
No hotel publishes a ship shuttle, so even the top score is only 57. All twenty are on the hotels page.
Airport to hotel
What each of our twenty says about getting from Changi to its door. For a grander night, our eight splurge picks run from Raffles to Sentosa.
Hotels with a ride from here
- #10 Sofitel SentosaFrom S$180 (about US$140)++ a way · Hotel limousine
Airport ride and a ride to the ship
- None of the twenty does both from here.
What each of the twenty says about Changi sits in the ride table on the hotels page.
Changi questions, answered from the sources
Which airport do I fly into?
Changi Airport (SIN), in the east of the island. Our routing puts it about 12.7 miles (20.4 km) and 20 minutes from Marina Bay Cruise Centre with no traffic, and 15.6 miles (25.1 km), 25 minutes, from the Singapore Cruise Centre at HarbourFront.
Disney says 20 to 30 minutes to Marina Bay. Holland America says about 27 km and 40 minutes.
What will the taxi cost me?
Changi's own page puts a ride to the city at about 30 minutes and S$25 to S$45.
Using LTA's listed standard-taxi tariff and our 20.4 km route gives a distance-only estimate of about S$24–25 off-peak, including the S$6 Changi pickup surcharge. Waiting time, ERP tolls, booking and payment fees can increase it. The Marina Bay Cruise Centre pickup surcharge does not apply when arriving there.
Holland America's page says about S$32 (about US$25). Peak hours add 25% to the metered fare, and midnight to 5:59 a.m. adds 50%.
Is the MRT worth it with luggage?
It works, with changes.
Changi's page has you change at Tanah Merah for the East-West Line toward the city, or at Expo for the Downtown Line. The Singapore Cruise Centre says HarbourFront is 40 to 50 minutes from Changi by MRT.
For Marina Bay, a third-party Disney blog gives about 60 minutes to Marina South Pier, with a walk or shuttle at the end. The card fare is a few dollars; check LTA's fare calculator for your trip.
Do the cruise lines meet me at Changi?
Not with a public shuttle. Disney sells ground transportation from Changi and tags your luggage at pick-up.
Princess sells an airport-to-ship transfer with a representative who meets you. Royal Caribbean sells transfers for an extra fee.
None of the three prints a price for Singapore on the pages we read.
Which ride apps work at Changi?
Changi lists Grab, Gojek, Zig, Tada Mobility, Ryde and Geolah, with pick-up points at Terminals 1 to 4. Celebrity names Grab and says Uber and Lyft aren't available in Singapore.
We didn't read a page from Grab or Gojek, so we can't give a fare.
What’s the latest I can land on sail day?
Princess says embarking guests should land no later than 4 hours before the ship leaves. That's the latest, not a plan — we'd land the day before, or at least five hours ahead.
When can I book the flight home?
Princess says the earliest flight should leave 6 hours after the ship arrives. We didn't find an equivalent number from Disney, Royal Caribbean or Celebrity, so check your own line's documents.
How do I find out which terminal my ship uses?
Your cruise documents decide. Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Disney (the Disney Adventure) and Holland America name Marina Bay Cruise Centre on their pages, and Princess and Seabourn mention both terminals without saying which ship uses which.
The Singapore Cruise Centre's own schedule lists Star Voyager, Viking Venus, Oceania's Nautica, Greg Mortimer, Aegean Paradise and Doulos Hope.
Can Changi send my bags ahead?
To a hotel, yes.
Smarte Carte at Changi delivers: drop the bags by 10 a.m. and they arrive by 3 p.m. the same day, S$35 for the first bag under 30 kg and S$30 for each extra. Its page says hotel, not terminal, so don't count on it for the ship.
Delivery is by 3 p.m., too late for a morning check-in, so use it the night before, not on sail day.
Is it worth renting a car at Changi?
One third-party listing puts Hertz at Terminal 3, Avis and Europcar at Terminals 2 to 4, Budget at 3 and 4, and Sixt at Terminal 1 by Jewel. We didn't read an official Changi rental page, so check your voucher.
Discover Cars showed rentals at Changi from $185 a day on October 5, 2026, with the currency not stated on the page, so check it at checkout. The price moves daily.
Hong Kong and Tokyo have their own airport-to-ship pages: Hong Kong (hotels, splurge picks) and Tokyo (hotels, splurge picks). Asia Cruises, Decoded covers the circuit around them.
Want the flights and transfers handled?
Tell us where you fly from, your line and your sail date. An advisor confirms your terminal, then puts the flight, the hotel night and the ride together. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
