Five ways to buy the same train ride
You’ve picked the trains, or nearly. Now decide who books them, because that choice sets the price, the pace and who answers the phone when a connection fails.
- Zürich1 nightMeet the group and the tour manager over a welcome dinner.
- Grindelwald2 nightsIn on the Luzern–Interlaken Express; next day the Jungfrau Railway to the Jungfraujoch.
- Vevey1 nightAcross to Lake Geneva on the GoldenPass Express.
- Zermatt2 nightsUp the Matter Valley by train, then the Gornergrat mountain railway.
- Chur1 nightThe Glacier Express day, with lunch included.
- Lugano2 nightsThe Bernina Express to Tirano in Italy, then a Lake Lugano cruise.
- Lucerne1 nightThe Gotthard Panorama Express and a lake steamer; rail to Zürich Airport next morning.
From $3,999 per person, shown beside $4,499, with up to $500 off select 2027 dates booked by October 31, 2026. Includes the tour manager, 10 nights in 3- and 4-star hotels, Standard Class rail, breakfasts (not on arrival day), 1 lunch, 4 dinners, group luggage transfers and a Swiss Half Fare Card. Flights and insurance are extra. Itinerary from greatrail.com/us (tour SGT27).
Escorted, independent, or straight from the railway
The brochure photos look identical. What differs is who’s standing next to you at the station.
Every rail-tour company sells one of two things. Either someone travels with you, or someone has booked everything and stays on the end of a phone line.
Escorted means a tour manager meets you on day one and handles the tickets, the platforms and the group’s bags. Independent means the same tickets and hotels arrive as documents, and you find the platform.
A third model sits beside both. Rocky Mountaineer and Belmond sell their own trains, and the package is the train plus whatever hotel the journey needs, not a whole holiday.
Decide how much help you want on the platform. Then shortlist companies.
The companies, one by one
Tap through each one for its model, an example trip with its price and the booking rule that matters most. Prices are from each company’s own site unless we name a reseller.
Rail specialists
Railbookers (independent)
Rail-and-hotel packages you take on your own: trains between cities, hotels and a 24/7 care line, with seat reservations, transfers and sightseeing on some packages. It mixes 3-, 4- and 5-star hotels and books up to 24 months ahead.
- Example: 6-Nights Switzerland’s Lakes and Mountains (Geneva, Montreux, Interlaken 2, Chur 2) from $1,969, with GoldenPass, Glacier and Bernina seats and a Jungfraujoch day; a reseller listing for travel to October 2026
- Final payment 90 days out (120 for Rail & Sail and Belmond’s British sleepers); issued rail tickets can’t be changed or refunded
- No guide and no group; usually excluded: flights, most meals, tips
Amtrak Vacations (independent)
The Railbookers Group’s US brand, calling itself Amtrak’s national tour operator. It packages Amtrak routing and tickets with hotels, park tours and sleeper upgrades, round trip from your nearest station.
- First Class private rooms include meals, station-lounge access and a sleeping-car attendant
- 2027 offers: $150 per couple off named trips; 10% off the rail portion for travelers 65+ and military
- From-prices show only on live trip pages, for the cheapest date; ask us for yours
Great Rail Journeys (escorted or independent)
Vacations By Rail took its British parent’s name on July 13, 2026, keeping its Chicago team. Escorted tours travel with a tour manager throughout; independent tours don’t.
- Escorted: Grand Train Tour of Switzerland, 11 days from $3,999, Standard Class rail, 3- and 4-star hotels, 4 dinners
- Independent: California Zephyr Experience, 5 days from $895 (2026 itinerary), Chicago and San Francisco hotels plus two nights aboard
- Group size and US cancellation terms aren’t on the pages we read; we’ll get them for your date
Rocky Mountaineer (the railway sells the package)
Daylight trains through the Rockies. Even rail-only includes the hotel night in Kamloops, the transfers there and your luggage; rail-and-hotel and circle packages add the cities at each end.
- Rail-only covers 2 breakfasts, 2 lunches and onboard host tips; Vancouver and Banff hotels are extra
- New for 2027: Rockies Refined, 10 days in GoldLeaf with Fairmont hotels; price not yet published
- Last published terms (2023): 20% deposit, final payment 60 days, 100% lost inside 45 days
Belmond (luxury trains, some with hotels)
Belmond sells its trains direct and bundles a few with its own hotels. The Hiram Bingham to Machu Picchu came with a night at Belmond’s Rio Sagrado for US$1,047 per person on rates valid to March 2026.
- Orient-Express Paris to the Amalfi Coast: three nights, two of them at Caruso, from £8,600
- Most journeys: 15% deposit, balance 56 days out
- Royal Scotsman and Britannic Explorer: 25% deposit, balance 120 days out
Tour companies that put you on trains
Trafalgar Rail Journeys (escorted)
Rail Journeys is one of Trafalgar’s five travel styles for 2027. Contrasts of Switzerland rides the Glacier Express from St. Moritz to Zermatt and the GoldenPass route to Lucerne in 8 days.
- 2027: $5,150 (April 4) to $5,750 (April 25); 7 breakfasts, 1 lunch, 4 dinners
- Classic Japan, also Rail Journeys: 11 days from $7,450 (February 2027), average group 24
- Deposit from $200; final payment 90 days out; protection only within 14 days of the deposit
Collette, Globus and Cosmos (escorted, train inside the tour)
These coach-tour companies put a Rocky Mountaineer day or two inside an escorted Canada trip, and Globus and Cosmos add an Alaska cruise.
- Collette Canadian Rockies Featuring Rocky Mountaineer: 8 days from $8,199, June to August 2027 (reseller listing)
- Globus Great Resorts of the Canadian Rockies with Rocky Mountaineer and Alaska Cruise: 17 days from $9,733; Cosmos Western Canada by Rail with Alaska Cruise: 16 days from $6,334 (both 2027)
- Collette also sells an Alpine lakes and scenic trains tour; its page didn’t show days or prices when we checked
Intrepid (small group, local trains)
Intrepid rides the trains locals use, with a leader along. On sleepers, compartments usually hold four to six bunks, and you may share with travelers outside the group.
- Indian Getaway: 11 days from about $572, Basic style, two overnight sleepers of about 13 hours each in 2AC or 3AC
- Japan Highlights 9 days from $3,695; Express to the Orient, Paris to Istanbul, 15 days from $6,220 (years not stated)
- $400 non-refundable deposit; balance 56 days out
Rick Steves (a bus tour, not a rail tour)
Rick Steves’ Best of Switzerland moves the group by private bus, with boats and gondolas for the sights. The one train its itinerary names is yours to catch alone, Bern to Zürich airport on the last day.
- 12 days from $5,745 (2027); most departures $5,945; single supplement $720
- Guide and driver tips included; $400 deposit, final payment 60 days out
- Pick it for the guiding and small group, not for the rail
Models, groups, prices and terms in one table
If you only read one part of this page, read this table, then check the cancellation rule for the company you like.
| Company | Model | Group | Example trip, from | Deposit · final payment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Railbookers | Independent | Just you | Switzerland’s Lakes and Mountains, 6 nights, $1,969 (2026, reseller) | $250 · 90 days |
| Amtrak Vacations | Independent | Just you | Not published; ask for your date | $250 · 90 days |
| Great Rail Journeys | Escorted or independent | Not published | Grand Train Tour of Switzerland, 11 days, $3,999 (2027) | Ask us |
| Rocky Mountaineer | The railway’s package | Train + hosts | First Passage to the West, 2 days, CA$2,399 (2027) | 20% · 60 days (2023 terms) |
| Belmond | The railway’s package | Train | Hiram Bingham + Rio Sagrado night, US$1,047 (to Mar 2026) | 15% · 56 days (most trains) |
| Trafalgar Rail Journeys | Escorted | Average 45 (Swiss tour) | Contrasts of Switzerland, 8 days, $5,150 (Apr 2027) | From $200 · 90 days |
| Collette | Escorted | Small-group style avg 19 | Canadian Rockies with Rocky Mountaineer, 8 days, $8,199 (2027, reseller) | $349 · 90 days |
| Globus | Escorted | Varies by style | Great Resorts of the Canadian Rockies + Alaska cruise, 17 days, $9,733 (2027) | $250 · 90 days on multi-day trains |
| Intrepid | Small group | Up to 16 (India) | Indian Getaway, 11 days, about $572 | $400 · 56 days |
| Rick Steves | Escorted, by bus | 24–28 | Best of Switzerland, 12 days, $5,745 (2027) | $400 · 60 days |
| Book it yourself | DIY | Just you | Swiss Travel Pass, 15 days, 2nd class, $617 (2026) | Ticket rules vary by railway |
Prices are per person, sharing a room where there is one, before flights. Collette’s Classic tours don’t publish a group size; the average of 19 is its Explorations small-group style.
What a package buys that a ticket doesn’t
A train ticket gets you a seat. A package also gets you from the platform to the hotel, with your bags.
| Item | Escorted (Great Rail Journeys, Switzerland) | Independent (Railbookers) | Rocky Mountaineer rail-only | Booking it yourself |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Train tickets | All rail and coach | Between destinations | Both rail days | You buy them |
| Seat reservations | Handled | On many packages | Your seat | Extra on Glacier and Bernina |
| Hotels | 10 nights, 3–4 star | 3-, 4- or 5-star | Kamloops only | You book them |
| Station transfers | Group transfers | Some packages | In Kamloops | Taxi or on foot |
| Luggage between hotels | Group luggage transfers | You carry it | Handled | You carry it |
| Someone with you | Tour manager | 24/7 phone line | Onboard hosts | Nobody |
| Meals | Breakfasts, 1 lunch, 4 dinners | Usually breakfast | Breakfast and lunch aboard | All yours |
| Sightseeing | All guided excursions | Some packages | None | All yours |
| When a train is cancelled | Tour manager rebooks | 24/7 team re-accommodates you | Ask | Your problem |
Two rows decide most trips: luggage and disruption. Hauling a suitcase on and off every train is the cost DIY leaves out of the spreadsheet.
Read your package’s inclusion list line by line. “May include transfers” means some do and some don’t.
What a rail day costs, company by company
Divide the from-price by the days and the field spreads out fast: twentyfold, top to bottom.
Our arithmetic: each from-price divided by its days. Prices are 2027 except Intrepid (year not stated) and the Zephyr package (2026 itinerary). Collette’s figure is from a reseller listing.
Three Swiss trips on one chart tell the story. Great Rail Journeys runs about $364 a day with a tour manager, Rick Steves about $479 by bus, and Trafalgar about $644 on its April departure.
Per-day price hides what’s in it, so line up dinners, hotel stars and group size before you rank them. Short trips with a famous train inside them, like Collette’s eight Rockies days, carry the train’s fare over fewer days.
Run your own package-versus-DIY numbers
A fair comparison counts the hotel rooms, the seat fees and the dinners, not just the train fare.
Package or DIY
Price the same trip both ways
We filled in Great Rail Journeys’ 11-day Swiss tour and a 15-day second-class Swiss Travel Pass. Add the hotel rate you’d really pay, then the extras.
Swiss Travel Pass price from swiss-pass.ch’s 2026 US-dollar table; it covers the train tickets, not the paid seat reservations on the Glacier and Bernina Express, and most mountain railways are half price. The package price is the 2027 from-price.
On this trip, the hotel line decides the answer. With ten nights for two and a rate near $250, DIY hotels alone cost about $1,250 each before a single seat reservation.
Put in a rate you’ve actually seen for your dates, then fill in what the package includes that you’d otherwise buy. Run a second package through the same boxes before you call a winner.
Should a company book your trains?
Answer for the least confident traveler in your party. They set the level of help the trip needs.
Matcher
Rail-tour company or DIY?
Five quick questions. Tap one answer each; the three best fits show below.
Booking the trains yourself, without the surprises
DIY isn’t hard. It’s many small bookings, each with its own deadline and refund rule.
Book direct with the railway when its site sells to you in English. Buying from the source keeps you on one set of refund rules, the railway’s.
Resellers add a fee for a single checkout in English. Rail Europe charges a flat booking fee of up to $8.45 per cart on journeys worth $15 or more, non-refundable, and passholder seat reservations cost $2.35 per passenger, per route since February 2, 2026.
Trainline charges 59p to £2.79 on UK journeys booked in the UK and nothing in its app on the day of travel. For bookings from abroad it says the fee varies, without publishing the amounts, so check the checkout total.
Passes pay off on long, busy itineraries. A 2026 Swiss Travel Pass runs from $314 for three days to $617 for fifteen in second class, and a seven-day Japan Rail Pass is ¥50,000 bought online.
Seat release dates matter more than price. Glacier Express seats open 93 days out; set a reminder for the morning they do.
Before you book the trains yourself
When DIY is the better call
You’ve ridden European trains before, you pack light, and your route has one or two famous trains rather than ten. Then a company’s margin buys you little.
Deposits, final payment and what cancelling costs
Issued rail tickets can’t be refunded, so rail packages lock in early. Check this before you pay.
Railbookers and Amtrak Vacations take a $250 non-refundable deposit on most packages and the balance 90 days out. Cancel between 90 and 61 days and you lose half, with the other half returned as a credit good for 12 months; inside 60 days you lose it all.
Their protection plan must be bought when you book, and it turns a cancellation into a travel credit, or a cash refund on the higher tier, up to noon Eastern the business day before departure. Issued rail tickets can’t be changed or refunded under any plan.
Tour companies run their own scales. Collette keeps the deposit beyond 90 days and 40% from 90 to 16; Intrepid keeps the $400 as a credit beyond 56 days.
Trafalgar sells protection only within 14 days of the deposit, and Globus moves final payment to 90 days on tours with multi-day North American trains. Buy cover the week you book.
Cancellation timeline
Slide to the day you might cancel
Four published schedules side by side. Your booking’s own conditions are the ones that count.
Railbookers and Amtrak Vacations figures are for most packages without their protection plan. Collette charges 100% on the day of departure. Belmond’s British sleepers and Paris–Istanbul run stricter schedules.
Traveling alone by rail
If you travel alone, price the room first. The trains are the easy part.
A train seat costs the same for one as for anyone. The hotel room and the sleeper cabin are where solo prices climb.
Rick Steves prices its Swiss solo room at $720 for 12 days. Intrepid’s own-room option on Indian Getaway skips the two sleeper nights, where you share a compartment, and Rocky Mountaineer quotes single prices on request.
Railbookers, Amtrak Vacations and Great Rail Journeys don’t publish single rates on the pages we read. Ask for the solo total in writing; on an independent package you can also choose cheaper single rooms city by city.
Our solo land tours guide compares every operator’s single supplement. Read it before you assume a group tour costs more alone.
Two rail days, as the itineraries describe them
Same mode of travel, two very different days. Times aren’t published, so we use the itineraries’ own order.
Escorted: Glacier Express day, Great Rail Journeys
Breakfast in Zermatt
Day 7 of the Grand Train Tour of Switzerland. Your cases go ahead on the group luggage transfer.
Board the Glacier Express
The tour manager has the tickets and reservations; you have a panorama window.
Lunch is included
One of the tour’s few included lunches falls on this day.
Chur for the night
Dinner on your own. Next morning, the Bernina Express to Tirano.
Small group: a sleeper night, Intrepid India
Delhi to the station
On Indian Getaway the group boards an overnight sleeper to Varanasi, about 13 hours.
Find your berth
Second- or third-class AC sleeper, depending on the route; compartments hold four to six bunks.
Share with locals
Intrepid keeps the group together where it can, but you may share with other passengers.
Arrive in Varanasi
Two hotel nights follow; the second sleeper, Varanasi to Agra, comes on day 5.
Who owns the rail-tour companies
Ownership tells you how a company sells. Here’s who stands behind each name.
Railbookers and Amtrak Vacations are both run by Yankee Leisure Group Inc. of Boston, which does business as Railbookers Group. Amtrak owns the Amtrak Vacations name as a service mark and is responsible only for the train ride itself.
Great Rail Journeys was founded in York, England, in 1973. A buyout led by Vitruvian Partners was announced on May 6, 2025, and the US arm, Vacations By Rail, took the Great Rail Journeys name on July 13, 2026.
Rocky Mountaineer is family-owned, with Tristan Armstrong as CEO since 2024. Belmond has belonged to LVMH since April 2019.
Trafalgar belongs to The Travel Corporation, owned by Apollo since October 31, 2024. Collette is family-owned, and Intrepid counted about 555 staff shareholders in 2024.
When to hand the trains to a company
Use a rail-tour company if
- It’s your first rail trip abroad, or the least confident traveler would rather not find platforms
- Your route has many changes, mountain railways and seat reservations
- Someone in your party can’t lift a suitcase onto a train
- You want one number to call when a strike or a storm cancels a train
- The famous trains sell out and you’d rather a company held the seats
Book it yourself if
- You’ve ridden trains abroad and pack carry-on light
- Your trip is one or two cities and one famous train
- You want to change plans day by day
- You’ve found good hotel rates and want to keep them
- You’d rather walk than ride; see active tours
Our take
Pay for help where the trip is hard, not where it’s easy. A Swiss loop with seven named trains and six hotel changes, like Great Rail Journeys’ 11-day tour, is where an escorted tour or an independent package earns its margin.
For a single train, go to the source. Rocky Mountaineer and Belmond sell their own journeys, and a Glacier Express seat bought from the railway costs CHF 54 on top of the ticket.
Whichever you choose, read the cancellation line before the itinerary. Inside 60 days, a Railbookers package is worth nothing to cancel.
Booking it through Seabound
There’s no fee for our help; the rail or tour company pays our commission when you book. We compare companies for your dates, check the single price and hold the seats before the trains sell out. For a wider shortlist, try the Tour Fit matcher.
Where to go from here: the trains themselves
The tour companies on this page
Every train journey we’ve written up
Free · No obligation
Want us to price a rail trip both ways?
Tell us the trains and the dates. We’ll quote an escorted or independent package, price the same route booked direct, and lay the cancellation terms side by side.
What rail travelers ask us before they book
Is Amtrak Vacations run by Amtrak?
No. Amtrak Vacations is a Railbookers Group brand. Its booking terms name Yankee Leisure Group Inc. of Boston as the company doing business as Railbookers and Amtrak Vacations, and say Amtrak is responsible only for the rail transportation it provides. Amtrak owns the name as a registered service mark.
What happened to Vacations By Rail?
It became Great Rail Journeys in the US on July 13, 2026. The Chicago team and booking process stayed the same, and the US line-up grew to more than 230 escorted and independent itineraries at greatrail.com/us. Its parent, Great Rail Journeys of York, England, had a buyout led by Vitruvian Partners announced in May 2025.
Is it cheaper to book the trains yourself?
Often, if you count only tickets and hotels. Booking direct removes the company’s margin but adds booking fees, seat reservations, taxis between stations and hotels, and your time. Use the calculator on this page with your own hotel rate: on a Swiss trip the hotels, not the trains, decide which way it goes.
What does a Railbookers package include?
Every Railbookers itinerary includes rail between destinations, hotels and 24/7 customer care on the trip. Depending on the package it can add seat reservations, sightseeing, some meals and private or shared transfers. International flights, most meals, optional excursions and tips are usually extra. There’s no guide traveling with you.
Which rail tours come with a tour manager?
Great Rail Journeys’ escorted tours, Trafalgar’s Rail Journeys, Collette, Globus and Cosmos tours that include Rocky Mountaineer, and Intrepid’s rail trips all travel with a leader or tour manager. Railbookers, Amtrak Vacations and Great Rail Journeys’ independent tours don’t.
Does Rick Steves travel by train?
Not as the main way of moving the group. Rick Steves’ 12-day Best of Switzerland (from $5,745 in 2027) moves by private bus, with boats and gondolas for sightseeing; the only train its itinerary names is the one you take on your own from Bern to Zürich airport at the end.
What does Rail Europe charge to book European trains?
A flat booking fee of up to $8.45 per cart on journeys worth $15 or more, non-refundable, however many tickets are in the cart. Seat reservations for rail passholders cost $2.35 per passenger, per route, from February 2, 2026. The railway’s own refund rules still apply.
How far ahead should I book a rail vacation?
Railbookers and Amtrak Vacations sell up to 24 months ahead and want final payment 90 days out on most packages. If you book trains yourself, seat release dates decide it: Glacier Express seats open 93 days before travel.
Sources · 46 links · checked October 2026
- Railbookers: Terms and conditions (updated Dec 29, 2025)
- Railbookers: What does a rail vacation package include?
- Railbookers: Travel agent FAQ
- Railbookers: Your top questions answered, the Glacier Express
- Frosch (reseller): Railbookers 6-Nights Switzerland’s Lakes and Mountains
- Amtrak Vacations: About Amtrak Vacations
- Amtrak Vacations: What does it cost?
- Amtrak Vacations: Deals
- Amtrak Vacations: Most Scenic Journeys flyer
- TravelPulse Canada: Amtrak Vacations and Railbookers launch in Canada
- Vacations By Rail rebrands to Great Rail Journeys (press release, July 13, 2026)
- Great Rail Journeys: Acquired by Vitruvian Partners (May 6, 2025)
- Travel Agent Central: Great Rail Journeys acquired by Vitruvian Partners
- Wikipedia: Great Rail Journeys
- Great Rail Journeys (US): Grand Train Tour of Switzerland, an escorted experience
- Great Rail Journeys (US): California Zephyr Experience
- Great Rail Journeys (US): 2027 early access collection
- Great Rail Journeys (US): Venice Simplon-Orient-Express, Paris to Venice
- Rocky Mountain Holidays: First Passage to the West rail-only rates 2026–27
- Global Journeys: Rocky Mountaineer packages
- Rocky Mountaineer: 2023 terms and conditions
- Belmond: Consumer booking conditions (rest of world)
- Belmond: Peru flyer (Hiram Bingham package)
- Afar: Orient Express Paris to the Amalfi Coast
- Trafalgar: Contrasts of Switzerland
- Trafalgar: Classic Japan
- TravelPulse: Trafalgar unifies its brands for 2027
- Trafalgar: Travel Protection Plan
- Global Journeys (reseller): Collette 2027 tours
- Collette: Alpine Lakes and scenic trains
- Collette: US terms and conditions
- Globus: Great Resorts of the Canadian Rockies with Rocky Mountaineer and Alaska Cruise
- Globus: Terms and conditions (rev. Sept 8, 2026)
- Cosmos: Western Canada by Rail with Alaska Cruise
- Intrepid: Rail tours
- Intrepid: Indian Getaway
- Intrepid: US standard booking conditions
- Rick Steves: The Best of Switzerland tour
- Rick Steves: Tour conditions
- Rail Europe: Booking fee (updated June 17, 2026)
- Trainline: Fees
- Swiss Travel Pass prices, 2026 (swiss-pass.ch)
- Glacier Express: Prices and seat reservations
- Glacier Express: FAQ
- Japan Rail Pass: Types and prices
- G Adventures: US booking terms
